We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, don't stay anywhere else!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Ranked #28 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! The actual building is great, fantastic Moroccan decorations and a really chilled out roof terrace. All the staff are friendly and make u feel really at home. They are very helpful and knowledgable too. Ali in particular is a great host!! Brilliant location, cheap beers and shisha, great atmosphere and perfect for meeting other people! Seriously....don't stay anywhere else!! Thanks to everyone at marrakech rouge for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 576 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent a cumulative total of 4 nights at Marrakech Rouge in August 2012 (not the best time to visit Marrakech, in retrospect!) The hosts are extremely welcoming and friendly, hosts of the city as well as the hostel itself. As well as a number of recommendations of local attractions, the hostel also put on group outings to sites slightly further afield. The group trip to the nearby waterfalls was excellently organised and ran.

The communal set-up and the sister hostel a few doors down create a great social hub for story-telling, shisha-smoking and tea-drinking and above all a great place to meet other travellers. We had no issues with security or cleanliness. A few niggling issues with water pressure and dodgy air-conditioning caveat the review, but I would fully recommend the hostel for adventure-seekers on a shoestring budget.

Room Tip: Having experience both ground floor and the outdoor terrace, I would recommend the former for a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_cooper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

For great atmosphere, a sure place to meet other travellers and for a price unrivalled in the rest of the country this is the hostel to come to. Added perks such as free mint tea and shisha whenever you want it all add to the flavour.

You're told to treat this place like your home, within hours it feels like it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owenhind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This has been the best experience I have ever had while staying at a hostel. Malik and Mohamed are both amazing and stop at nothing to make their guests comfortable and happy. Malik went out of his way and made sure to accommodate us when we wanted to switch rooms late at night, made sure that we felt comfortable walking around the medinas and even went out to buy us stuff to take back home when we were unsure where to find them. An overall humbling experience. Sweet people who aim to please their customers always. If you are looking for good service and to be treated like family, make sure you stay at the riad.

-Mileidy-

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mileidyapaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, and great atmosphere. We booked the day of coming, no problem, and also had to change our booking the day of by phone, also no problem.

The hostel is a shock of colors, and has lots of places to just hang out. Great location in the medina too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Atmosphere and character of the place was fantastic. Rooms are basic but good value for money.
Rooftop beds were extremely cheap and nice to have the option to sleep outside on warmer nights.
Tea and shishas made fresh by staff at any time of day or night add to the social atmosphere of the riad.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TFtravelfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Submitted by Meg E, 13/11/12
After reading all the great reviews I was sure we had opted for a good hostel for our 2 nights stay.
Location is great and the staff too were very helpful, and sorted out our problems when they arose, so that was great.
However I feel that the problems we had should never have arisen in the first place, and need to be addressed.
In the first room we stayed, the sheets were very noticeably dirty on all the beds - dirty grit and hairs in all of the beds. These were changed promptly, however was not the best start for our stay, as we worried what else hadn't be cleaned. Our room was located on the roof terrace. I had read this was a social space and concerned about getting a good nights sleep (as we had travelled a lot that day and needed a good sleep) I asked our host whether it would be noisy and night time and was ASSURED that at this time of year no-one goes up there as its too cold and there would be NO NOISE.
So after a few reservations we were happy with our room. However, it was the WORST nights sleep i have had in a very long time, and i have stayed in many hostels on my travels. We had booked a private room to ensure privacy and a good nights sleep, yet we were kept awake until gone 1am by guests on the roof terrace, despite being assured by the host that it would be quiet. I did get up and ask the other guests if they could keep the noise down, but it didnt help much as the great big hole above the door provides no sound proofing. And ther was a lot of coming and going noise as well as chattering. The light from the terrace also shines directly into the room and there being no window or even a curtain over the door meant that the light also shone straight in. I tried turning it off a couple of times, but it kept getting switched on by guests on the terrace. We also had someone trying to get into our room in the middle of the night, which was a scary experience. Not the hostels fault, but didnt make us feel very safe.

After the fiasco of the noise of the first night, we asked immediately in the morning to switch rooms. Again we had to have the sheets changed, as again, they clearly hadnt been changed. This room was better, except for the fact the key was missing to the door so we were given a padlock - fine for when we were out, but at night we had no way of locking the door, which after the previous night of someone trying to get in, made us feel very wary.
My friend also came down with bed bugs, which we couldnt speak to the staff at the time as we were not aware she had them as the sores did not develop until a few hours after we had left.

As i said, location, staff...all great, just let down by cleanliness re bed linen and a really terrible nights sleep, despite the assurance of the host. Which was very disappointing. I would have preferred him to say honestly that there may be noise up there, rather than make false promises, as i genuinely believed that he knew that there would be no noise up there, and had we known we would have asked for another room in the first place.
I suggest blocking in the great big hole above the door of the room on the roof...it would make for a much more peaceful and uninterrupted nights sleep for future guests.

Room Tip: avoid the roof terrace, unless you don't actually want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
0.5 mi away
Red Castle Hostel - Backpacker
Red Castle Hostel - Backpacker
#17 of 311 in Marrakech
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
#43 of 311 in Marrakech
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#33 of 311 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream Kasbah
Dream Kasbah
#39 of 311 in Marrakech
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaktus Hostel
Kaktus Hostel
#56 of 311 in Marrakech
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid | Derb Zenka Dika, No. 40, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $13 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARRAKECH ROUGE – LEADING THE CAMPAIGN AGAINST GREY…2 minutes from Place D’Jeema el Fna, Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge would like to assault the senses of those arriving from grey skies with a family run backpackers hostel so colourful it will make your eyes tingle; so kind and friendly it will refresh your spirit in a place where the coffee is so spicy, sweet (and free) that your taste-buds will buzz with excitement (and the caffeine!), and the possibilities will feel endless…Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge welcomes you to come and stay with us; leave your comfort zone and your facebook account at home, be happy and inspired, learn about Morocco from our incredible staff, meet others, and the enjoy the wonderful atmosphere; all the components that make a hostel a HOSTEL and not a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing