We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Somone knows their e-mail?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Ranked #272 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Somone knows their e-mail?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Please someone can help me? I do not find any web page for this Riad, I would like to contact directly with the hotel.

Thanks for your help. I would like to stay in there by January 2013. It seems really nice but I need some more information.


Chus

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Jesus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    42
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
65
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed our first nights here and love the place. Didnot experience all the bad other did... We liked it there a lot. Even got a baby bed for our little one. The staff was very nice and helpful - evenserved breakfast at the roof terrace. Dinner was very delicious. Location very good and calm.

we can recommend it very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engelchen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent the last 3 nights of our 2 week trip to Morocco in the Dar Sara and both myself and my wife really enjoyed our stay there. The transformation from the dingy alley to the courtyard is truly amazing. It’s hard to believe this cool, calm relaxing place exists only minutes from the craziness of the medina. The rooms and communal areas were spotless and the staff is really helpful, going as far as to make meals that weren’t on the menu at our request, which were excellent.
As we had a late flight on the last day we decided to book a hammam and massage, which we both enjoyed and can recommend.
This review might sound a little over the top but our stay at the Dar Sara really was that good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

After reading some of the past reviews on Tripadvisor on my way to the airport I was nervous as to what we were about to walk into. But as soon as the doors were opened we were welcomed with a smile and warm hospitality.
The rooms were great, lacking slightly in noise privacy, but it is not a busy place so this didnt really effect us. The roof top was a perfect place to go relax both day and night.
The only things I could fault was the location... But once you know where you are it is nice walk into the center, I would advise to either get the airport pick up service or make sure you get a trustworthy person to show you to the door. We had our taxi driver call ahead and someone was sent to show us where to go.
Catch the #19 bus from the airport, will be much cheaper and drops u not far from Dar Sara. (I would still advise to take a taxi if it is your first time)
Dont miss your breakfast each morning. Perfect way to start your day.
Relax
Enjoy
Embrace :) Morocco is an amazing country I am so happy to have been able to experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was our final stop out of 8 Riads/Hotels in Morocco and whilst not the worst place we stayed in, it came close. This was supposed to be a little treat at the end, before heading home. The Riad is a lovelly old building with two fine courtyards open to the sky. It is a tranquil place (15 minutes walk from El Fina) with a pleasant roof top terrace. Having read the previous reviews once we arrived, I can agree with most of the negative ones and can only assume those that have rated 4 or 5 stars have low expectations. I don't want to write an exhaustive list of problems (I can confirm some of the previous ones though). One pair of sockets, one lamp and one of the lights in the dark bathroom didn't work. The electricity in a few rooms fused on our first night and we were given candles. The lights did come back on later. The management seems to be to blame. Whilst there were 3 of us staying in one room, when we arrived for breakfast it was a challenge to try and get breakfast for 3. Portion control seemed to be at work and bread and jam etc, were under tight control. We ended up raiding another table for another place setting and did the rounds trying to find more bread, jam etc. From previous reviews there still seems to be a lack of a vacuum cleaner and shaking the rugs into the central courtyards would not be a good idea. A lovely old Riad where the staff need a little more attention to detail (friendly? helpful? replace bulbs? clean?) and offer a service commensurate surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaptainZag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We started our Marrekech trip here and organised it through Marrekech riads in advance, it was very tranquil and beautiful in the middle of the bustling old city (Medina) its about a 15min walk to main square. We arrived late at night and were served fresh orange juice and morrocan style pastries - we assumed the orange juice had been freshly squeezed from the orange tree in the central courtyard. The rooms were dark but clean and fully air conditioned. Breakfast the next day was lovely, fresh juices, jams and roti breads. Next we had organised a cookery course through Marrekech riads and were taught how to cook a tagine by an old Morrocan lady - they even provided a translator - we helped where we could and finally got to eat our gorgeous cooking for lunch. Highly recommened and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This place is a disaster – or was for us! It is certainly not a hotel in which to end a long trip and leave with a positive experience with riads. The place is dark, dirty, depressing and totally without service and hospitality. We seriously considered moving out the day we arrived. In the end we decided to be flexible – and stay.

Some examples. Dirty carpet in room. Shower not cleaned. Safe that doesn’t work. Dark even for a riad. One tiny bar of soap. Almost impossible to get in and out of bed except by crawling to the foot of the bed. Sagging mattress. No one around to provide even minimal service – it is as if we were staying in a deserted house. Dirty covers left on the poolside lounge chairs after used by others. The central area fountain is dry and uninviting. Worst breakfast on the trip – meager. When we asked for more than two small pieces of cheese we were met with great annoyance. We can go on and on – but you get the idea. And when you compare this dismal place with the super experiences we had at other riads and hotels during our almost three weeks in Morocco – it makes this place seem even worse. PS. WE TOOK A SHOWER TO FIND OUT AFTER USING THEM THAT THE DIRTY TOWELS THAT WE USED THE DAY BEFORE AND LEFT ON THE FLOOR WERE PICKED UP, FOLDED AND PRESENTED AS CLEAN.

Room Tip: We were in one of the best rooms in the riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Us2_nick_gemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#72 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#126 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Zen House
Riad Zen House
#197 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#244 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#361 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#69 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara

Property: Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Address: 120 Derb Arset Awzel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#143 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Sara has two - one traditional with four flower-beds and a central fountain, the other with a small but inviting swimming pool. This riad can be reserved with the adjoining but smaller "Dar Sara Srira" which would then give you a third courtyard ! On its own, Riad Dar Sara has 9 bedrooms divided around 2 courtyards. The whole building, which has been simply & elegantly restored, is topped by a huge split-level terrace, a real invitation to "pause a while" with it's delightful "nomad" tent - the perfect place for a drink or breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sara Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing