We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ordinary Riad in the medina” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Ranked #276 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ordinary Riad in the medina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The rooms were clean and quiet with good AC but small and plain compared to other riads that we stayed in. Breakfast was typical for the country.The central square was about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swelgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    42
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
65
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I really appreciated the somewhat spare decor here--a beautiful place to rest after being out all day looking at beautifully (over)decorated trinkets and buildings. The restoration sensibility is great (don't make anything too flashy), and my room was very comfortable.

I noticed in the review just behind mine that they complained about being put in the adjoining "servants" house. I was here one night (it's called Dar Sara Srira), and I actually preferred it, as the rooms are much more private--they're all one flight up, with their own private terrace area, rather than opening right onto the public courtyard. My room the next night in Dar Sara proper was a tiny bit bigger, but I had to keep all the windows shut for privacy, and this was a bit unfortunate. (But there are also upstairs rooms at Dar Sara, and these are nice as well.)

The pool at Dar Sara is small but great to look at, though it's just off the dining room and I didn't want to be taking a dip while people were eating. But that didn't seem to stop other folks. For my money, I was much happier over in Dar Sara Srira and Dar Baraka (I did a lot of hopping around!), because I wasn't paying for the pool I didn't use.

Also, I found the breakfast quite nice--probably the best of all the hotels I stayed at on my two-and-a-half-week trip. Every day there was a different fresh juice, and the various Moroccan breads were all very nicely prepared.

It's true that the staff are not springing up to greet you and help with things--most of the time, they're completely out of sight, so you feel like the house is all yours. And English is not top on the fluency list. But I was always able to find someone when I had a question.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This riad has beautiful, almost honeymoon caliber rooms, but that's really the only positive. When we arrived, there was no check in process and no one seemed to know we were coming. We paid for a room in the Riad Dar Sara, but we were placed in the much lower quality "servants" house behind it. I complained to the manager who tried to unsuccessfully convince me there was no difference. Customer care is non existent from the management. But the ladies who clean the rooms are amazingly wonderful. Too bad they don't manage the place. The food was basic bread and juice, and grnerally underwhelming. The breakfast was just enough to sustain you, but its bland. I would not recommend this Riad if you seek a vacation experience. It was just a decent place to sleep, nothing more.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel60615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

15 min walk from the main square. the staff are friendly and have good english. We had 2 rooms one of them had stagnant smell due to poor ventilation. The rooms aslo are poorly lit due to style of decoration and are small have to climb from the foot end of the bed. Breakfast is standard. If booking a taxi through riad would recommend to get them to email you the quote as had to pay double the quote as were checking out early and the receptionist could not contact the person we had spoken with when booking from uk. Would recommend but do bargain on rates.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brimeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The service was great, the location is convenient, with better signage showing the location than the one for Dar Zitouna. The last section of the alley leading there was very dark and narrow, I would recommend a flashlight for the evening outings. It is a smoking location and when people smoke in the courtyard keeping the windows open is not an option for the rooms around it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Conveniently located in the Medina, once you learn the alley way; 10 minute walk to the Djema el Fna. Helpful and kind staff;beautiful courtyard with trees and birds; breakfast mainly bread and jam; tea always available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry7899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piaseczno, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Marrakech is a fantastic city, it is also a symbol of Morocco. The streets of the old city of Marrakech have been too narrow to allow cars, and tourists seaeching for the "real" Morocco have turned the medieval structures of Marrakech into good business. The number of tourists that come to Marrakech all the year have still not managed to change its character. Actually their high number contributes in a positive way to preserve one of the greatest monuments of Morocco. And the people of Marakech love their city even more. =)

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ewelewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#71 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#128 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#240 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Zen House
Riad Zen House
#193 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Naima
Dar Naima
#205 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#68 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara

Property: Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Address: 120 Derb Arset Awzel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#143 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Sara has two - one traditional with four flower-beds and a central fountain, the other with a small but inviting swimming pool. This riad can be reserved with the adjoining but smaller "Dar Sara Srira" which would then give you a third courtyard ! On its own, Riad Dar Sara has 9 bedrooms divided around 2 courtyards. The whole building, which has been simply & elegantly restored, is topped by a huge split-level terrace, a real invitation to "pause a while" with it's delightful "nomad" tent - the perfect place for a drink or breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Sara Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing