We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely setting on the roof terrace but the food is questionable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Un Dejeuner a Marrakech

Un Dejeuner a Marrakech
2-4 Angle rue Kennaria et Douar Graoua | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-78387
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of the Medina, a short walk from the famous Djemaa El Fna Square, Un dejeuner a Marrakech is open everyday, all day for lunch and dinner. Service non stop till 10pm. Modern Moroccan and Continental cuisine, lights snacks, desserts, tea/coffee and fresh juices. Panoramic terrace.
surrey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A lovely setting on the roof terrace but the food is questionable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Go here for a (non alcoholic) cocktail or drink, but would advise against eating here unless you like deep-fried food. I would question the chef's capabilities from our experience. (Tummy problems). But the salads were good. Not inexpensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coolcrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    532
    119
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Boring cafe-like food and service to match”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Decided to visit after reading the nice reviews on TA. How anyone can vote this place in top ten in Marrakesh is beyond me.
What you pay for here is a semi chick euroversion of marocco. Could really be a cafe anywhere, if not for the ok rooftop.
Our waiter was slow, yes it was ramadan, but also very disinterested. We did not get any knife, forks and napkins. After waiting i ended up getting it myself. The food was uninspiring and didnt really do it for us. Will not go again and can not recommend other to go here. There are so many other, better choices in Marrakesh, I suggest trying those

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rawlpluks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It has a pretty roof terrace, sure. But the food is no great shakes - especially if you're a vegetarian. I went for lunch and for dinner. For lunch I had a 'provencale roasted vegetable and goats cheese sandwich' which was actually made from toasted white sliced bread - so dry and brittle that the veg and goats cheese didn't compensate. For dinner, there were two choices: a salad or 'Moroccan samosas and salad'. I chose the latter, and this turned out to be four spindly, over-fried spring rolls and four pieces of lettuce with some brown dressing squirted on. The fresh juice cocktail was nice enough, but all in all I can't see what everyone else is raving about. Admittedly, meat eaters have a wider range of tagines and other things, but it's pretty poor not to offer a vegetable tagine - and I did ask.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve66h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food for a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Food was beautiful, service was a little slow but there was a big party of adults and children so could understand why. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Traditional morrocan tagine it wasn't, but we sampled the two Morrocan mains the beef and the chicken both were amazing flavour wise. Portion size suited us perfectly and wasn't surprised by the bill either. Very good would recommend for something a little different.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rooftop gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We came across this when searching restaurants on Tripadvisor and popped in for a quick break from the hustle and bustle of the souks. The rooftop setting was absolutely stunning and the atmosphere perfect for relaxing in between shopping. We only had drinks there and probably would not eat there as the menu was quite western and didn't have the authentic Moroccan dishes we were exploring while in Marrakech. However, as food was not our purpose we absolutely loved this little gem and would definitely recommend dropping in for a bit of a break and a drink!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mags Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Un Dejeuner a Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Un Dejeuner a Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing