We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice enough, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Un Dejeuner a Marrakech

Un Dejeuner a Marrakech
Ranked #27 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of the Medina, a short walk from the famous Djemaa El Fna Square, Un dejeuner a Marrakech is open everyday, all day for lunch and dinner. Service non stop till 10pm. Modern Moroccan and Continental cuisine, lights snacks, desserts, tea/coffee and fresh juices. Panoramic terrace.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It has a pretty roof terrace, sure. But the food is no great shakes - especially if you're a vegetarian. I went for lunch and for dinner. For lunch I had a 'provencale roasted vegetable and goats cheese sandwich' which was actually made from toasted white sliced bread - so dry and brittle that the veg and goats cheese didn't compensate. For dinner, there were two choices: a salad or 'Moroccan samosas and salad'. I chose the latter, and this turned out to be four spindly, over-fried spring rolls and four pieces of lettuce with some brown dressing squirted on. The fresh juice cocktail was nice enough, but all in all I can't see what everyone else is raving about. Admittedly, meat eaters have a wider range of tagines and other things, but it's pretty poor not to offer a vegetable tagine - and I did ask.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve66h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    536
    119
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food for a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Food was beautiful, service was a little slow but there was a big party of adults and children so could understand why. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Traditional morrocan tagine it wasn't, but we sampled the two Morrocan mains the beef and the chicken both were amazing flavour wise. Portion size suited us perfectly and wasn't surprised by the bill either. Very good would recommend for something a little different.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rooftop gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We came across this when searching restaurants on Tripadvisor and popped in for a quick break from the hustle and bustle of the souks. The rooftop setting was absolutely stunning and the atmosphere perfect for relaxing in between shopping. We only had drinks there and probably would not eat there as the menu was quite western and didn't have the authentic Moroccan dishes we were exploring while in Marrakech. However, as food was not our purpose we absolutely loved this little gem and would definitely recommend dropping in for a bit of a break and a drink!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mags Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel while exploring the city of Marrakech, and it was one of the best moves we made all trip! The staff were very attentive, and it was nice that they offered both Moroccan and French food. The food was fantastic and everyone left very satisfied. Can't wait to come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty, reliable, clean, fair prices, beautiful rooftop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

One of us is very picky about the hygene in the local restaurants. Therefore we chose this restaurant based on previous trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. It is the best restaurant we visitted in Marrakech so far. The staff is really friendly, the atmosphere is fantastic ( rooftop with view over the city), everything is clean and tidy, and the food is absolutely amazing. However, the meals are not very big. In order to be completely satisfied, you should order at least a starter, and a main dish. The price for both courses should be aroud 15?, which is more than fair compared to the service and quality that is provided. We ended up coming a second time.

Helpful?
Thank Navid_StudentTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Un Dejeuner a Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Un Dejeuner a Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing