We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Un Dejeuner a Marrakech

Un Dejeuner a Marrakech
Ranked #26 of 768 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of the Medina, a short walk from the famous Djemaa El Fna Square, Un dejeuner a Marrakech is open everyday, all day for lunch and dinner. Service non stop till 10pm. Modern Moroccan and Continental cuisine, lights snacks, desserts, tea/coffee and fresh juices. Panoramic terrace.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great meals in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved the roof deck setting and it was easy to drop in for a reliably good - if not expensive - meal and snack. They do a really good job creating delicious meals. Highly recommended as an alternative to the sub-par meals at restaurants bordering the main square! Loved the mozzarella and tomato starter and the provencale sandwich - just wish my family had not eaten half of my order!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank smckd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    541
    120
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat here because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't dissappointed. The staff were very friedly and we were seated on the terrasse, which was very nice in the late afternoon. The food however was excellent. We had the warm goats cheese salad and moroccan samosas to start, which were delicious. We shared both as the salad was huge and could've fed someone as a main. Then we had the beef tangine, which was amazing. The beef was extremely tender and the veg and sauce complimented it perfectly. Cannot fault the food or the service and would definitely eat here again. My only warning would be that although it says cocktails in the description, they are only fruit cocktails as this is a traditional restaurant that doesn't serve alcohol. But hey, I'd rather have first class food with a sprite than mediocre food with a glass of wine!

Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“So good we went twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Really good food, not at all traditional but very tasty none the less. Try the carrot soup (hot or cold) its made with almond milk and has a hint of star anise, just amazing. The only down side is heat we went on a particularly hot day for dinner and it was just too hot to eat on the roof, with the walk up hot stairs and no breeze on the roof we had to decamp to the ground floor with its fans.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espinho, Portugal
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely week in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just a quick walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa through the souks, this was the best restaurant we found in Marrakech.
We tried all the chef specials and they are all a great choice.
The terrace on the roof-top gives you a extraordinary view over the city. Wonderful sunset from the terrace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Rooftop respite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Short direct walk from Djeema El Fna, its rooftop terrace makes a welcomely breezy, well-shaded respite from the medina. We got 'mocktails'- a virgin mojito and an elixir (kiwi, orange, pineapple)- both delicious, and a beef tangine and a thai curry chicken, not traditional, but wonderfully prepared and presented. (The waiter brought a small tapas of different tapinades on toasted pita before the entree, gratis- nice touch.)

Helpful?
Thank knight_w_o_armor
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Un Dejeuner a Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Un Dejeuner a Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing