We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely start to Marrakech” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Un Dejeuner a Marrakech

Un Dejeuner a Marrakech
Ranked #29 of 788 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of the Medina, a short walk from the famous Djemaa El Fna Square, Un dejeuner a Marrakech is open everyday, all day for lunch and dinner. Service non stop till 10pm. Modern Moroccan and Continental cuisine, lights snacks, desserts, tea/coffee and fresh juices. Panoramic terrace.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely start to Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We came on the recommendation of our Riad as we'd arrived lated and just wanted something light for supper. We weren't sure what to expect. This place caters to tourists & prices to match (I feel as nothing to compare). The menu was not huge but nice selection of items. We both had beef tajine - the portions were small (just 3 small pieces of beef, 3 tablespoonful of mashed potato & a spoonful of carrots). All very tasty if a little on the sweet side. The DH had a chocolate mousse with praline which was delicious and a good portion. The mint tea was very refreshing (tip - order without sugar as it's normally served sweet). The service was good & efficient. The waiters didnt really engage in conversation but as we were tired from travelling we werent that talkative either. Overall, we enjoyed it. Would we come back? Yes probably but only if we werent too hungry!

Helpful?
Thank E-traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    555
    126
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We sat on the roof top terrace enjoying views of the Medina. Comfortable low couch seating, not much space between tables but that wasn't a problem. We have great burgers and french fries and some Moroccan 'spring roll' type starters. Casual style of service. Pleasant staff. Affordable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EricaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice little place with a very friendly Moroccan owner. Serves both Moroccan and more "western" dishes. The hamburger and Thai chicken were delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredinTanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We received the advice to eat here from our travellers book.
We had a table on the roof terrace, overlooking the medina. The food was extraordinary! I had the delicious cesar salad and the seared beef. I could eat that every day! Almost perfect! The beef carpaccio was a bit too thick for my taste, but still good.
The desserts are also wirth a try!
I would definitely come back here at my next Marrakech weekend!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NinaKrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fusion of Moroccan and French cuisines in the fine dining mode”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I saw this place at the end of a long walk towards the main square in Marrakech and looked inviting, so went in. Had lunch on the terrace.

The place is spotless , well maintaines and tastefully decorated. And the toliet was probably the cleanest that I saw in all of Marrakech.

Service was reasonable, not very enthusiastic.

The menu had an English version for tourists

The food reflected French and Moroccan influences.
Starters were ok, very well presented .
The main course tasted very good and was well presented, but portion sizes were verysmall in keeping with the French/fine dining style..

Prices are a bit on the higher side.
Overall, a good, clean place to escape from the madness of the Medina and to have a quiet lunch/dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zorba74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Un Dejeuner a Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Un Dejeuner a Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing