We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Un Dejeuner a Marrakech

Un Dejeuner a Marrakech
Ranked #26 of 769 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of the Medina, a short walk from the famous Djemaa El Fna Square, Un dejeuner a Marrakech is open everyday, all day for lunch and dinner. Service non stop till 10pm. Modern Moroccan and Continental cuisine, lights snacks, desserts, tea/coffee and fresh juices. Panoramic terrace.
1 review
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous restaurant with rooftop terrace- bring a jumper in winter months and enjoy views over marrakech by night. We had a three course dinner with a goats cheese salad as starter that would make a great light lunch. Mains were reasonably priced at around 70 or 80 DH- we went for the morocco options which still maintained a definite french twist.

Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    542
    120
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place - Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nice, quiet lunch today in a good atmospher here at Un Dejeuner a Marrakech. All four of us was very pleased with service and food. Good for our Scandiavian stomaches.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Lambrechts-Herk, Limburg, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, very friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was a great place to go. I'm really happy I found this place (thanks to tripadvisor). The food was delicious. The staff was really friendly. They even helped us find directions to the next place we wanted to go. I really recommend this place to everyone who is planning to go to Marrakech. And it's really cheap. Although it doesn't look cheap at all!
It was difficult to find. Taxi drivers don't know to much French or English and they only seem to know a couple of places in Marrakech. It's strange though. You should really get directions before going to this place because you won't get too much help from a taxi driver.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace, great deserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We ate here on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews. I had the 'Thai style' chicken, which was OK, but the sauce on it was not a Thai sauce, more like a strange sweet curry sauce that tasted like it was from a Vesta curry jar! My husband had the steak, which again was just OK as it was very chewy and tough. The deserts however, were outstanding! I had a lemon curd pie which was fantastic, and he had a pastry with cream, and then a chocolate mousse. We returned for the chocolate mousse several times as it was that good. The terrace was lovely, with shade as well as a sunny side to it and nice to escape the hustle an bustle of the city. The only major downside for us was that there was no alcohol served, and a glass of wine with our meal would have really been nice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abruzzorentals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Recommended with reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We paid five visits to this pleasing, modern, restaurant/bar during a week's stay in a Marrakesh riad a few minutes' walk away. The first attraction were the cakes and drinks. A "lemon curd meringue" tart was well presented and tasty and complemented by a raspberry milk shake which didn't stint on the fresh fruit flavour.
On the strength of that snack we returned for an evening meal in the first floor room (modern style, jazz as mood music). My chicken-based chef's special was excellent. It was well-balanced with a good sauce and well presented. Sadly meat in the steak special for which my wife opted was tough and she left much of it. We fancied a crepe for a dessert but were told they weren't available. The Moroccan pastries were okay but not really what we were after.
After that we were tempted back for snacks, The well garnished hamburger and the cheese tartlet were good and a salad huge and satisfying. The raspberry milkshakes continued up to standard and were our farewell drink on the roof terrace on the last day.
Service was friendly a cheerful with the proprietor convinced we must know the menu by heart by the time we left.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtraveller0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Un Dejeuner a Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Un Dejeuner a Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing