We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever”
Review of Dar Mo'da

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Mo'da
Ranked #1 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This Riad has a special charm. Although it is in the middle of the Medina very close to Jemma Fna (less than 10 minutes) you'll be isolated from all the noise. If you are looking for a few days of relax, this is the place.

The service is excellent and they do their utmost to make you feel as if you were at home!!

You'll must enjoy the sunsets from the rooftop terrace and the tea with mint they prepare, Best one in Marrakech! Promise!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FlaviaCodinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 456 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

My Father and i enjoyed an incredible 4 nights in this Riad. It was perfectly located in the Medina and wonderfully decorated! we had a very pleasant stay. Will Hopefully be returning with the rest of the family later. Elena and Sanjiy were wonderful hosts with great recommendations of places for us to see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelk94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The location of Da Mo’da was perfect. It’s on the edge of the souks at the top of one of the main thoroughfares, just outside the hustle and bustle of the main souk area itself.

It’s less than 10 minutes’ walk to Place jemma el fna (the main square) and a simple route so no need to worry about getting lost! It’s also just 5 minutes away from Dar el Bacha Palace where you can pick up a petit taxi is you are visiting sights further afield. We took a taxi over to the stunning Jardin du Majorelle but walked everywhere else (Ben Yousef Medersa, Marrakesh museum, El Badi Palace).

The riad itself is an absolute haven and decorated elegantly throughout. The ground floor has the reception, common areas and the hammam. The comfy chairs around the poool were great for relaxing with a hot mint tea and homemade petit fours after a morning out and about.

The next floor up has the four suites, all of which were beautiful - we stayed in the Green suite which was absolutely lovely with an amazing four poster bed. One more floor up and there’s a gorgeous and spacious rooftop area with a plunge pool and areas to both sit and eat and lounge around - this is where breakfast and dinners are served. The breakfast up on the terrace was lovely – fresh fruit, yoghurt, the jams were homemade and we had different homemade treats each day, including little filo pastries and crepes. As if that wasn’t enough there’s another seating area perched above the roof terrace with a 360 degree view of the medina!

With all the walking we did, we both decided to indulge in a massage – I would highly recommend this as the masseur was excellent.

In addition to the great location and the riad itself, I think the most outstanding thing about Dar Mo’da are the staff themselves. Elena (the riad’s manager) and Sanjai were easily the most hospitable hosts I have ever met. Elena has an incredible knowledge of the local area, sights, restaurants etc and will give you lots of advice if you tell her what you are looking for. The rest of the team also provide excellent service – we couldn’t have asked for more.

Room Tip: All four suites are stunning, the black and white have private terraces and the black one has an inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Dar Mo'Da and it was an unforgettable experience. Stunning riad in the best part of the Medina. They have the most stunning roof terrace with pool overlooking the souks. Elena and Sanjiy are the best hosts we have ever experienced in all our travels. The rest of the team is also very polite and keen to provide good service. They suggested the best places to eat and best places to shop (with no hassle) although the best food we had though during our trip was in Dar Mo'Da on the roof terrace overlooking the souks. We asked for Morrocan food and we got 3 amazing courses with excellent local wine. We had Harira soup and Morrocan salads for a starter, chicken and fennel tagine for main course and an amazing apple cinnamon crepe for dessert. Truly unforgettable. We are quite picky with our food so we were very impressed with the dinner and the breakfasts at Dar Mo'Da. Oh, and the amazing mint tea and homemade biscuits are delicious!

They also have a really nice hammam but we didn't get a chance to try it. We did go for the massages and would highly recommend it.

Don't have any doubts about this riad. It is nothing less than perfect!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank csinnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

As many previous reviewers have so eloquently put it - this place is not only stunningly beautiful but also exquisitely tasteful and impeccably looked after. I loved every thoughtful detail that makes this riad a true jewel in the midst of Marrakech. However, what really inspired me to leave a review is the fact that I have never felt more welcomed or at home at any other accomodation - anywhere. From the moment you set your foot into the calm inside of the riad to the moment you leave again you are overwhelmed by the genuine friendliness of Elena, Sanjay and the other members of staff. There is a sense of privacy and a personal touch to the riad that is very rare in the world of luxury accomodations - often times too large or impersonal. The fact that all delicious food is homemade and you won't find closed doors add to this sensation. I am deeply thankful for this amazing experience and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: All of the fours suites are absolutely stunning, however I would highly recommend the white or black...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benedikt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Exactly next door to Cafe Arabe, in the nicest part of the medina, easy to reach and find, as soon as one gets through its huge door, one is immersed in a world of beauty and tranquility. Elena, the Italian manager, with a long-standing history in Marrakech and knowledge of the city, manages the riad with passion and flair. There are 4 beautiful suites and one terrace room. All suites are amazingly beautiful, and the whole place is furnished with great attention to detail and wonderful pieces. The riad is immaculately clean and a faint fragrance of roses permeates the air. The terrace has a beautiful small pool and lounge chairs to sit around and the view from the top terrace (a few steps further up), takes one's breath away: 360 degrees of Marrakech to enjoy -best terrace view I have seen!
Breakfast (and dinner should one want it) is plentiful and served in a beautiful room. The main patio has a delightful pool which is lit with candles in the evening and around which one can lounge and enjoy the mint tea and mini-pastries that are offered by Elena or the personnel. It is obviously that the mantra in this riad is to have the guest enjoy every moment, and they succeed with flying coloours.
I stayed in the Green Suite. Oh the joy! Big space, with a wonderful enormous bed, with great linen, a separate dressing room area, and a bowl of fruit and water which was renewed daily. There is even an evening bed turn-down service.
I absolutely loved staying at this exquisite riad and will stay there again. After visiting Marrakech many times and trying various riads, I think I have finally found two that I want to make the places to stay when in that magical city. One is Mo'Da -the other is Snan 13 (review to follow).
Sanjay is a delightful Spanish young man with great people skills who assists Elena and is always at hand; he is charming and helpful -it was a real pleasure to see that he would go to all lengths to make one's stay more pleasurable and an interesting person to chat with.
The rest of the personnel was hardly seen, but obviously kept the place to a very high standard, due to Elena's ability to manage this riad with efficiency but also eye for detail. Elena knows Marrakech inside out and has great recommendations for restaurants and other places to visit.
I recommend Mo'Da wholeheartedly. It is one of the most beautiful riads in the whole of Marrakech. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have no doubt this is the most beautiful and welcoming riad around Marrakech. Is very cozy with an amazing views from the terrace. Its two amazing swimming pools make you forget about the heat. This riad makes you feel like the old pashas of Marrakech. The service is excellent, Sanjay and Elena make your stay very pleasant and confortable, and suggest you beautiful places to visit and restaurants to eat that only the local people from Marrakech could recomend you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex12277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 499 in Marrakech
1,779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
1,307 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#18 of 499 in Marrakech
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#2 of 1,172 in Marrakech
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,172 in Marrakech
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,172 in Marrakech
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Mo'da? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mo'da

Address: 182 rue el Moussine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $227 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Mo'da 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Mo’da with its four exclusive suites is a blend of the magic of the orient and the comforts of the west, making you feel right at home in the fascinating heart of Marrakech. Located just a few minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna Square in the historical quarter of Mouassine, in the heart of the Medina, Dar Mo’da is a traditional morrocan riad which has been restored with a delicate combination of local and italian decors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Dar Mo'da reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing