We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top-class home-from-home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Mo'da

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Mo'da
Ranked #2 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A top-class home-from-home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

What marks Dar Mo'da out from so many 'posh' riads in Marrakech is that it manages to provide luxury in a way that feels completely natural and relaxed. The rooms and public spaces are well thought through, stylish and comfortable and with great attention to detail - and Elena is a fantastic host...friendly, knowledgeable, entertaining and cultured in equal measure. There's no pomposity, no showing off, no standing on ceremony - just a hard-working, well-run team focusing on what matters - your relaxation and enjoyment of this wonderful city. The location is second to none, and the views are fabulous. What more could you need?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
152
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent 1 night at Dar Mo Da and wished we had more time. The decor is fantastic, an oasis of peace and calm in Marrakesh. Its brillinatly clean and has without doubt the best roof terrace ( not to mention the highest) in Marrakesh. We were lucky enough to bgiven the roof terrace rooms and waking up to those views over the mountains was spectacular.
Its next to Cafe Arabe so easy to et a drink and a bite to eat and bang on some of the best shops we founs in the souks over our trip there. Will be back next time for sure.
Elena was an absolute star, incredibly helpful and accomodating. Nothing was too much and looked after my girlfriend and i perfectly. Thanks to you Elena and the rest of the staff for making our last day and night in marrakesh the bes of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erba, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Want to loose yourself for a long weekend...dar mo'da is the place to be. Leave the stress behind and let the charm of an unique place take over. As soon as you step in, the amazing courtyard embrace you with it's peacefully white furnitures and a lovely Moroccan tea and home made pastries. The kindness of the local people waiting to help you while you relax is nothing compared with the charm and professional yet friendly manner of the Riad hostess Madame Elena. Ask to spend your time here in the relaxing green suite or, for more of an intriguing time, let the "fifty shades" of the black suite take over your mind and your body. The bathtub is to die for... Incredible sunset on the top floor terrace with 360 degree view over the Atlas mountain and the whole Medina! A place you most certainly want to come back to...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wondermiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

At the end of a busy trip in Europe Dar Moda was exactly the retreat we were looking for to relax and explore Marrakech. Elana and her team made our family (2 adults and 2 teenagers) feel "at home" in the beautifully rennovated Riad in the heart of the Medina. Attention to detail not only with the rooms but also their service was exceptional. Elena was an amazing hostess and provided much advice and help in planning and booking a 4 day 3 night trip across the Atlas Mountains to the desert and back again with a local guide/driver. An experience of the Morrocan culture, history, hospitality and scenery that we will never forget.

We parents stayed in the red room which had a perfect "office" space for us to attend to emails etc and the teenagers stayed up on the Terrace in their own suite with twin beds. The pools looked very inviting but being Winter the water was a little chilly to tepmt us to jump in! Daytime weather was perfect - blue skies and low to mid 20's -ideal for wandering around the medina and city.

We looked forward to breakfast every day and also at two evening meals in the Riad which were better than the "smart" restaurant we went to one night. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we really appreciated sitting down over tea with Elena to share with her the stories of our day out and about.

I highly recommend Dar Moda!!!
Jacki S, Adelaide, Australia

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackismith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I spent 3 days over this beautiful Riad, traditionally dressed but with a taste of style design. Located in the fascinating Medina of Marrakech is a gem to discover.
After a small corridor at the entrance you gain the center of the riad where a charming swimming pool offer a romantic a view.
The two saloon offer a confortable relax and the nice dining room complete the first floor.
On the 2nd floor there 4 rooms, one better then the other and all are dressed with style and charme.
On the roof there is the other swimming pool, a beautiful patio and the last surprise, an higher terrace, the highest on the medina, from where you can relax and take one of the most beautiful view of the sunset over the city.
As for the service everything is perfect, you feel really at home and your followed in every needs.
Elena is a perfect guest, ask her everything about the hidden secrets of the medina, where to shop (she also wrote a book about) at best.
Three beautiful and pleasant days, I will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the green suite... Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloMant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I can only confirm all the good writings about welcoming Elena and her staff and the beautiful Riad.
Elena´s first words were: " Please feel at home" And it was easy to do so:
After being served a lovely "Thè a la menthe" we were guided into lovely, luxurious, newly renovated rooms with immaculate bathrooms filled with all amenities, perfectly styled with a moroccan flair but not overloaded.
Our girls stayed in the room on the roof terrace and just loved it....lots of light and the roof terrace on your doorstep!
Though winter and cold nights we couldn´t resist a quick refreshing dip in the pool in the morning.We enjoyed breakfast outside in the winter sun with stunning views over Marrakech to the mountains. The terrace is beautifully furnished , ideal to relax, read , and plan the day.
But when it comes to day planning, I suggest to ask Elena. It seems she knows exactly what kind of traveller you are and has all the perfect ideas and suggestions on hand. Elena is filled with heartiness, always there when you need her and always concerned about your well-being....just like a real italian Mama.
We can only recommend this fantastic riad !

Stolberg Family, December 2012

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexStolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Direttore at Dar Mo'da, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
thank you so much for your comments, it has been such a real pleasure for us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our long week-end in Marrakech in November, and especially our choice of residence.

At Dar Mo’da we were warmly welcomed by the hostess, Elena, shown to our room – the Black suite - and later on served a traditional Moroccan dinner in the elegant dining room.

The Black suite, with its own private terrace and very stylish interior – canopy bed, fireplace and black marble bathroom (strewn with rose petals), was perfect for us. And breakfast on the roof terrace was a treat – Dar Mo’da has the highest roof terrace in the souk, so the 360 view is spectacular.

With good guidance from Elena we were also able to experience the old city and see the most important sights, as well as get very good advice on shopping for Moroccan specialties.

But after a day of browsing in the very colourful, crowded, narrow and noisy streets it was just bliss to be back at our riad – quiet, cool, elegant, soft colours – relaxing at the roof top pool.

We are recommending Elena’s Dar Mo’da to all our friends as the place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M, Direttore at Dar Mo'da, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to have reached our goal: make you feel home. the whole staff is waiting for you and your friends to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
9.2 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
10.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
9.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
9.2 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#6 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Mo'da? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Mo'da

Property: Dar Mo'da
Address: 182 rue el Moussine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Mo'da 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Mo’da with its four exclusive suites is a blend of the magic of the orient and the comforts of the west, making you feel right at home in the fascinating heart of Marrakech. Located just a few minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna Square in the historical quarter of Mouassine, in the heart of the Medina, Dar Mo’da is a traditional morrocan riad which has been restored with a delicate combination of local and italian decors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Mo'da reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing