We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Precious museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecomusee Berbere

Ecomusee Berbere
Ranked #16 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Precious museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very creatively and informatively conceived. Unique and interesting museum. Must see. Excellent short film in the first room.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    79
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great experience- an authentic insight into the community life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Even better then expected. Booked it through the Museum of Photography (it wasn't easy to choose between the different tour options offered by the city) it provided an authentic insight into the life of the community. Did about 3 hours walk through the valley, ate at Khalid's family home (our guide) home, visit the beautifully curated Berbere Museum and a local ceramic factory. Khalid has a natural talent with people, we became friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank valentina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A useful primer on Berber life as was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Visiting en route to the Ourika Valley, we were bowled over by this excellent little museum in the village of Tafza--once a chieftain's home on the flanks of the Atlas. The owner's nephew was an engaging guide to daily life in this clan, instructing us in the iconography and colours used in the woven rugs, the working of a Berber door lock and a drill, and the various other tools and artworks they so ingeniously created. We left with a real sense of the culture, not least because of his lively and informed approach. The only sadness is the poverty you see in the village. I have no idea how involved the people are in the Ecomuseum, but I can only hope that the interest and revenue it produces somehow feeds back into their lives.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nisha09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Colorful kaleidoscope and so much more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a market which was bursting at the seams when we visited it one afternoon. I was taken aback by how colorful it was the shops with the various goods in it, the people with their beautiful, quirky clothes (a different style sense). The goods were reasonably priced and you can bargain as well. There was this very interesting pet shop and I was kind of tempted to buy a parrot but good thing I didn’t because God knows how I would have carried the parrot back home. Even the haggling part was fun as well.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenden A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This tour,organised by the Photography museum is an absolute must. A wonderful day long introduction to Berber culture led by Khalid, an enthusiastic,knowlegable,kind
and very articulate guide. Khalid is a natural host and a gifted teacher. DO NOT MISS

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank berwicklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecomusee Berbere also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ecomusee Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing