We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“normal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ecomusee Berbere

Ecomusee Berbere
Ranked #16 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
728 reviews
472 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“normal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

i think nothing especial in this place , i saw the houses before & i think hand in India more
beautiful.
it is part of my trip to ourika

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaherAlbaghliJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    79
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
camberley
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fastinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

a real taste of the original berbers costumes, jewelry and weapons so interesting and beautifully preserved

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorraine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great way to experience Amazigh culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a great time with Khalid. Book your trip through the photography museum in Marrakech. They'll set you up with someone who will help you get grand taxi to meet Khalid in Ourika. From there, you've got options.There are waterfalls, gardens, and of course the museum.

Khalid really steals the show. He speaks a ton of languages and is a great, funny guy. You eat lunch at his house (a really nice place) with his family, and you get to see them work - his dad and brother are both ceramic artists.

This was one of our favorite activities during our 6 weeks in Morocco!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bg0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A wonderful insight into Berber culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A fantastic experience. Khalid provides a brilliant insight into a way of life and a community that has a great deal of wisdom and natural richness. A day of surprise (who knew that the Berber language was in part German in origin), great food (plums and apricots straight from the tree ), good humour and hospitality. Thank you, Khalid for the welcome to your village, the smiles of your family anf friends, and one of the best days of my life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianfinchtgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Genuine Berber Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The tour provided by Khalid at the Berber museum was the highlight of our stay in Marrakech. Go to the photography museum and sign up for the Ourika Valley tour. For 240 DH per person (about $30), the museum will arrange for a shared "grand taxi" to the Ourika Valley, where you will be met by Khalid, who will take you through his home village, visiting a pottery shop, meeting children, vieiwing the museum and eating lunch at his family home. Khalid will customize the tour for each group, visiting neighboring villages, the orchards and farms in the valley, a walk to the river, and even a stop for a camel ride. The guide is very engaging and will let you know what it is like to live as a Berber. Thought riding in the shared taxi is a bit daunting, it is part of the experience, and the photography museum makes the arrangements simple, negotiating for the ride with the driver. Plan on a whole day, from about 9 to 5 for the whole trip. It's worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foothill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecomusee Berbere also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ecomusee Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing