We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Riad Dar Selen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Selen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Selen
Ranked #668 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riad Dar Selen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed at Riad dar Selen for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff are very helpful and kind and made us all feel at home. If I get the opportunity to go to Marrakech again, I definitely know where I will be staying.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    25
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
41
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed at the Riad dar Salen 9 night as a solo traveller.
The riad itself is situated in a quiet area near the to The Bab Ailen gate : about 15 minutes to the Place Djema el fna and the souks .

As i was a women alone , The Owner Veronique provided me all the tips and advices she could about how to enjoy my stay in Marrakech , helping me out with a weekly daily program .
She came along with me to the souks in order to show me where to go and how to find my way in the maze of the medina, spend another afternoon with me in a traditionnal hammam and booked some trip for me to the ourika valley with a cab she used to worked with .( really nice day !)

As i was on a special diet , they did the best to respect what i needed for and i really enjoyed Jamila's food ! The breakfast was huge and tasty

Rooms are clean and well kept decorated in a sober and traditionnal Maroccan way ,bedding was great! roof top with the jacuzzi is an enjoyable place to have a sunbath or just relax .

to summarize : for whom who are looking for a beautiful place to stay in Marrakech , i do highly recommend this riad ., staff is friendly, place is quiet and relaxing , food gorgeous , prices honest and very good value for money .

Thanks again to the whole team and see you again in a few weeks ! Inch'allah !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auroreostral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at Riad Dar Selen for 4 nights over New Years Eve and had a fantastic time. We travelled to morroco wit my partner and my parents. When we arrived our lovely host Veronique provided ask with all the tools, tips and essentials for navigating our way around the Medina and Marrakesh. She went out of her way to organise and book several & advise several restaurants. One thing to note the beds were amazingly comfortable and even my parents had great "sleep ins". We felt very comfortable throughout the stay and the area is a 15 min walk away from the main square; after the initial impact of this city we felt more then safe and comfortable in walking to and from the main square day & night. All staff were sociable accommodating and had a good sense of humour.
Helpful, friendly and good taste.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We had quite a large group that stayed in two riads [the other one was just round the corner], Riad Dar Selen was able to make dinner for the entire group and that was really gorgeous - they also organised for local musicans to come and play for us whilst we had dinner - this was alot of fun, lots of singing and dancing, very entertaining! This place is full of character, its all really beautifully decorated, each room has its own little touch - its simply stunning. The staff couldn't do enough to help us, they even met us at the car park which is just at the entrance to the medina, and they helped with all the bags, I would highly recommend you staying here its simply delightful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saints_Sinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

For whom is considering to travel to Marrakesh, Marroc. Looking for a lovely place to stay? I recommend the beautiful and well located traditional decorated Riad Dar Selen as the place to be! Veronique & Abdellatif are sweet people, running the Riad. They will give you a feeling like 'coming home' in an unique atmosphe...re. Veronique knows every streetcorner and interesting location in Marrakesh and is a very valuable source of information. She'll make sure you'll go home with warm memories about this amazing city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelVanKanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marseille
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

A lovely place, with lovely people!
We needed some good and quite holidays with my friend, and we had them! Well if you are in the same mood, that's the place to go. A bit off the tracks from the busy crowed, you will be considered as a special guest, from the whole team! A special arrival, where Véronique will start to take care of you, and during the whole stay, by giving all the usefull tricks and tips to get around the city (the must do, day trips, security, advices and so on) all the details you need to feel home and comfy! A special thanks to Abdellatif & Jamila for the super breakfast on the terrace!

The room was very cosy, elegant and modern, cleaned every day (daily changed towels), safety box etc....

The terrace was just lovely, with a incredible landscape over the mountains and the palm grove.... in spite of the temperature, we managed to have a nap on the deckchair, next to the hot tub.

Hope to come back sometimes!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyjess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Photos must have been professionally taken when the hotel first opened as the terrace is quite mouldy, with loungers and seats you would not want to lay or sit on.

The owner does not treat this as professional accommodation; we had to frequently exchange notes as she was never around in the five days we stayed. Just checking out and paying was an effort as she did not want to be at the Riad during the three different times we gave her. She kept insisting we needed to be there to pay during the times convenient to her. Considering all of this I would hardly consider this a 24 hour reception.

We also found out the day before we were leaving (via one of her notes), she wanted the full five days paid in cash. When we refused to carry around that much money, she then wanted half paid in cash. When we refused again, she wanted to charge 5% surcharge for a credit card transaction which is not mentioned on the booking anywhere.

Additionally we had problems with the light in our room and had to have the bulb changed daily. Also you must ask for clean towels if you want them.

On the only plus side the young guy who takes care of the guests and serves breakfast is really lovely, sweet and very helpful. We wish him all the best and hope one day he can find a job at a real Riad.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jprknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Shalimar
Riad Shalimar
#648 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#153 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#146 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#100 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Selen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Selen

Property: Riad Dar Selen
Address: 8 Derb El Hammam | Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #668 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Selen 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design and comfortable riad in the medina, atlas and palmtrees view with 5 rooms and a jacuzzi: zen attitude. All services available: just ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Selen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing