We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mint Tea!!”
Review of Dar Belkabir

Dar Belkabir
Ranked #172 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Mint Tea!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited here on several occasions for some mint tea and pastries prior to heading back to the Riad. Tea in my opinion is the best I've had in Marrakech. Decor is welcoming and relaxing. The couches are very comfy and staff are polite and friendly. Not had hot food as yet but for a tea stop I'd definitely recommend!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank de18oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best mint tea in Marrakech!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The decor is lovely, traditional Moroccan. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. We had mint tea and selection of Moroccon pastries which were fab. Great value and we visited a few times. Well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbiemcn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went here for dinner on the last night of our holiday but were disappointed. They didn't have either of the starters that we asked for so we went straight into the mains. My partner's chicken tagine was mostly bones and gristle but the small bits of meat were tasty and my beef tanjia was lovely but the portion was tiny, meaning we both left still feeling hungry. The service was ok but not particularly attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharChar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great decor, let down by the food”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The restaurant has very authentic decor, with large sofas and small chairs and tables. I really had high expectations for the food. Unfortunately, I was dissapointed with the food. I had the chicken tagine, which was really overcooked. There was very little meat, more bones to be honest, including knuckles! What little meat there was was dry and stringy. The bread was good though, and I needed it, as there wasn't much inthe tangine to eat. My partner had a better experience with a lamb dish. I made the waitress aware of my dissapointment, but she just shrugged it off. The only good thing is it was reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerUK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food ok but could be cleaner”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Morrocan vegetable soup was ok. The Tajine and Cous-Cous was good and tasty. The "mixed grill" was black on one side and almost raw on the other side. Chips were overfried.
The service was efficient and friendly. The whole place would benefit from some cleaning as it was quite dirty on the floor and furniture.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teld187438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Belkabir also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Belkabir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing