We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We checked out in advance due to bad location!”
Review of Riad Arocha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Arocha
Ranked #961 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We arrived by bus from Agadir. From the bus station the taxi driver dropped us off in front of Kaa El Mechra entrance, the northern part of the Medina. A teenage boy came forward and said he could guide us but he couldn't find it so we walked in circles and the boy had to ask others. Eventually we ended up at the front door to Riad Arocha. We gave him a generous tip of 100 dirham’s and then he and his two followers started to argue wanting another 200 dirham’s. We had to wait for the door to be opened and the boys didn't give up. We were let in and sat down, the lady in charge came in and asked how much we paid them and then she let the boy in and we had to face him again, by now we were exhausted. Why let him in?
Only French was spoken and when asking for directions a map was shown to us on where Jemaa el Fna was pointed out, it was only a 15 minute walk away “tout droit, tout droit”.
It was not and we were completely lost, After an hour we came to the square, we ate and only talked about how to get back. We decided to get out of the Medina and follow the wall until we came to the Kaa El Mechra entrance; from there we were completely lost again. We knocked on another Riad and asked for help which arrived after 20 minutes, another maze like walk back to Arocha followed. In the morning we meet other guests also having difficulties to find their way. After breakfast we joined forces and started walking, again we were confused in which way to go, we split and when we reached the square we took a hop-on-hop-off tour bus and got off at Guéliz, had lunch and then we turned our heads and went into another hotel and booked a room. Took a taxi back to Arocha, got our stuff and checked out.
The staff was unhappy about us leaving but we made our best to explain why. The Riad is nice and we were looking forward to this stay but it did not feel pleasant to have to worry so much about finding your way in and out. We knew we had to pay in full for our booked two nights stay and buy an extra night at another hotel but it was worth it! The description given by booking.com is not correct. The location is not in the heart of the medina, it’s not close to Jemaa el-Fna, and there is no panoramic view from the roof terrace.
I’m in the travel trade and with this experience I wouldn’t recommend to stay inside the medina. Better to stay outside and visit the medina and the square with an authorized guide.
Our visit to Marrakech left us baffled, too much hustle, no shopping at all!!! "Our escape from the Medina"on New Years Eve is something we can laugh at but we would have preferred to have an overall better stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lena189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 46 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

To be honest: my first impression of this riad was not good. Our Morroccan driver had to spend a long time on his mobile before he could get someone to explain where the riad is actually located. The woman who checked us did not understand English and no one in the place could show me where the riad was located on a map. My one attempt to ask one of the staff take me to a junction that *was* marked on the Medina map turned into a 25-minute maze-like walk that failed to achieve its goal. I have to give the guy credit - he tried really hard to help us. It's just that he didn't know what we really wanted, and we couldn't tell him... our French sucks.
When we returned to the riad, frustrated, the two French women who manage the hotel were back on deck. They spoke English very and were able to help us with our questions and book a table at a nice restaurant for dinner. They also gave us the telephone number of a good taxi driver who was willing to take his cab all the way to the riad's fornt door. Not many drivers are willing to do this because it is really hard to find and they're worried they won't be able to turn around in the alleys.
The room we stayed in was beautiful - one of the best I've seen in Morrocco, and the courtyards are tastefully decorated too. I just wish the building wasn't so well hidden in the northern part of the Medina. I normally have a pretty good sense of direction, but this was too much for me to deal with. If you stay here be prepared to rely a lot on taxis. Otherwise you're better off staying somewhere further south.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnZeeEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Karine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Clemence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam M, Gérant at Riad Arocha, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAJIA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeneH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank sigrid h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#144 of 502 in Marrakech
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 502 in Marrakech
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#245 of 502 in Marrakech
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#451 of 502 in Marrakech
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Arocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Arocha

Address: 28 derb R'hamna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $58 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Arocha 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Riad Arocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Arocha Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing