We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I would avoid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Arocha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Arocha
Ranked #909 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I would avoid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Initial impression was fab. very atmospheric and traditional. Rooms tastefully decorated. However, we had problems from the outset with the staff. We were 4 people, 2 of us vegetarian. We indicated on booking Vegetarian Breakfast. This was translated that we wanted additional 'Vegetarian Soup'!!!!! FOR BREAKFAST!!! ARE YOU KIDDING!!! This would have been funny had they not tried to charge us the equivilant of £7.00 per bowl of soup!! We also had problems with messages not being passed to us from our ongoing accomodation. Our transport arrived only to be told that we had already left. We were the only people staying and at this time we were having breakfast!!! Also 30 mins walk into Square. This is an hour's round trip each time you leave the Riad. Overall, although it was a pretty place, it was not worth the hassle. They do not speak English, and although my French is quite good, they indicated that they did not understand me!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our room (the black room) was really lovely. It was very unique, characterful and very clean. It is about 10 minutes walk to the square, but it is not easy to navigate. If you are worried about getting lost might not be the place for you, but getting lost is all part of being in Marrakech! You can organise collection from the airport which is well worth while and not overpriced. The central courtyard is beautiful, breakfast is served there which is also really nice. Really nice place to stay if you want the riad experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k993257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We only stayed here for one night but it seemed nice. The breakfast wasn't really very good but it was only a small riad so we didn't really expect much. A little way from djemma el fna so if you aren't willing to walk during the heat of the day, I'd suggest staying somewhere a bit closer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Excellent stay in this riad situated well between peace and animation of the medina.
No problem to find thanks to the shuttle which waited for us at the airport.
Good welcome of the staff always ready for helping.
Good advices of the managers for safe and nice tours for discovering the city and other places.
As we book for a week, managers offered the dinner for the first night : it was so good… we decided to stay almost every night.
Room was clean and beautiful (room Diamant noir).
We ended our trip with the hammam/massage: GREAT!!
Others customers we met seemed satisfied by the place and services too.
We’ll return with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upperlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Wouldn't recommend staying here. The location is too far from the central Medina, Maps & travel books won't help locate this alley & no obvious signs where you need them. Everywhere is a huge maze. Frustratingly ended up paying local Men/ Boys who where like snakes! As they don't all know the way, they then ask another person, he comes along too & before you know it you are paying 3 people for directions. Constantly try & rip you off by trying to demand 20+ Euros when they get to the door of the Riad. If they don't get what they want they then stand on the doorstep arguing & being abusive. We never paid them that much, only local currency £4 maximum.

Not one of the better Riads we have stayed in, lots of nice Furniture ect but the floors where always dirty, the fountain in central breakfast area was unmaintained and stagnent & the Sunbeds & Chairs on the Terrace where filthy!

I can only describe this Riad owner as being 'Penny Pinching'. In the morning with breakfast they served us 'half a glass of orange juice' with pancake & jam. When we went out we came back to find the Air Conditioning Off in the Bedroom! No lock on Room......you must take your own. The plunge Pool wasn't free, it was classed as being part of the steam room, although it was actually a jacuzzi! For the privelidge the charge was around £15. We ordered a Coffee in the evening, went upstairs & they came running after us for payment. By the way anyone thinking of just turning up to book this Riad, don't ....she won't price match the Internet.

This end of the Medina is more like the industrial side with nowhere to eat close by. Young boys hanging out in the narrow streets intimidating, annoying and being abusive, especially in the evening.
For a quieter Riad not too far from central Medina try Riad Bamileke...not too expensive, very clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pebbles2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Marrakech, with its interesting culture, remarkable monuments, great food and buzzing atmosphere, was a wonderful experience for us. Riad Arocha and its friendly staff made us feel at home and were helpful and cordial when we needed advice on things to do in town, including nightlife, and help us with our stay. The Riad was homely and furnished in beautiful Moroccan style. Most of all, it was relaxing and peaceful, all one needs after a day at the Medina!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skymone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We arrived by bus from Agadir. From the bus station the taxi driver dropped us off in front of Kaa El Mechra entrance, the northern part of the Medina. A teenage boy came forward and said he could guide us but he couldn't find it so we walked in circles and the boy had to ask others. Eventually we ended up at the front door to Riad Arocha. We gave him a generous tip of 100 dirham’s and then he and his two followers started to argue wanting another 200 dirham’s. We had to wait for the door to be opened and the boys didn't give up. We were let in and sat down, the lady in charge came in and asked how much we paid them and then she let the boy in and we had to face him again, by now we were exhausted. Why let him in?
Only French was spoken and when asking for directions a map was shown to us on where Jemaa el Fna was pointed out, it was only a 15 minute walk away “tout droit, tout droit”.
It was not and we were completely lost, After an hour we came to the square, we ate and only talked about how to get back. We decided to get out of the Medina and follow the wall until we came to the Kaa El Mechra entrance; from there we were completely lost again. We knocked on another Riad and asked for help which arrived after 20 minutes, another maze like walk back to Arocha followed. In the morning we meet other guests also having difficulties to find their way. After breakfast we joined forces and started walking, again we were confused in which way to go, we split and when we reached the square we took a hop-on-hop-off tour bus and got off at Guéliz, had lunch and then we turned our heads and went into another hotel and booked a room. Took a taxi back to Arocha, got our stuff and checked out.
The staff was unhappy about us leaving but we made our best to explain why. The Riad is nice and we were looking forward to this stay but it did not feel pleasant to have to worry so much about finding your way in and out. We knew we had to pay in full for our booked two nights stay and buy an extra night at another hotel but it was worth it! The description given by booking.com is not correct. The location is not in the heart of the medina, it’s not close to Jemaa el-Fna, and there is no panoramic view from the roof terrace.
I’m in the travel trade and with this experience I wouldn’t recommend to stay inside the medina. Better to stay outside and visit the medina and the square with an authorized guide.
Our visit to Marrakech left us baffled, too much hustle, no shopping at all!!! "Our escape from the Medina"on New Years Eve is something we can laugh at but we would have preferred to have an overall better stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#146 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#150 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#101 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#54 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Arocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Arocha

Property: Riad Arocha
Address: 28 derb R'hamna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #909 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Arocha 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Arocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Arocha Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing