We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location in a New Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Assounfou Apart-Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Assounfou Apart-Hotel
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Angle Rue Imam Malek et Rue Ibn, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #424 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great location in a New Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

hotel located in a New town 2 min walk to November 16th plaza where shops, cafés, post office and Mohammed V avenue where bus L9 to/from airport stops. Hotel very out of date. Room had aircon but wasn't working well as keep shutting down it's self, so had to go downstairs where they switch on again. good thing wifi on each floor. Swimming pool with very cold water, and sun never came out. Staff didn't have any customer skills unfortunately .. My legs been bitten in the bed during the night. But still I thought the stay was ok. Do need cleaning - lots. Not even worth to get breakfast because it's just pathetic croissant and jam coffee. Better eat somewhere else. Very convenient place to stay. Walk in to Medina takes 15-20 min depends on your pace. Accross from hotel there is a covered market where can buy souvenirs, alcohol and water also food.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaimisMacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    49
    43
    23
    20
See reviews for
38
38
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Liked: We stayed at the Property with our 8 months old for 5 nights in April-May 2014. We absolutely loved our stay. Its 30-35 minutes slow walk from the Main Square in Marrakech (Jama al Fana) or 10 minutes ride (30 Dirhams) by Petite Taxi. Some people have written its 20 mts away which is not true. Staff speak French and Arabic like in most hotels in Marrakech. Two receptionists were able to communicate in English which was a big relief. We managed to get a cot for our baby which was given free. The hotel has a small swimming pool. Its made into two parts the upper part is from small children and lower part 5 feet deep. They do not warm the water so the water was cold even in May with outside temp 32 degrees but that did not stop us from using it. The rooms are clean and they change the sheets every day. Warm water was available. There's a small TV and kitchen area in the room. FOR MUSLIM GUESTS... There is a MOSQUE only a minute away from the hotel. We mostly ate outside. There is a cafe just across the road which is brilliant. We had our breakfasts there.

WIFI IS FREE AND WORKED GREAT FOR US

Disliked: Please do not expect a 5 Star Service at the price that we pay. People are generally very friendly and if you show respect, you get it like-wise. The receptionists were helpful, particularly the middle aged guy who spoke English, he was very caring and went out of his way to help us when we were going away. IF TV HAD SOME GOOD ENGLISH CHANNELS THAT WOULD BE GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahsan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Comfortable and friendly stay, although the photographs on the site were a little ambitious, not a British 4* hotel! The swimming pool was empty and we had to pay some Tourist Tax (about £10), which was unexpected. I went with my children (aged 18 and 20), we had a room with a double and a single bed, bathroom, lounge area, little kitchen area and balcony over looking the main square, amusing to watch the driving! All clean and comfortable. Everywhere walkable to - but so easy to get lost

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Pros:
- Good location with Plaza across the road.
- Fna within walking distance, although atleast 20 minutes. I prefer thewalk as have enough spare time and so many attractions to discover on the way.
- Reasonably clean but sheets not changed.
- Spacious double room with kitchen area.
- Good wifi in reception and on 3rd floor.
Cons:
- Staff are miserable and moody.
- Breakfast ALWAYS the same - no buffet.
- Food is terrible at the restaurant, Ketchup bottle exploded all over us ruining the clothes we wore.
- Outdoor pool freezing in a shadow, perhaps only usable in July and August at noon.
- Loud music played accross the road at night.
- Not many people at the hotel, many times we were the only ones having breakfast with the staff just starring at us. Having an atmosphere with other holiday makers about was the prime reason why we selected a hotel over a riad.
- No activities for kids.

Overall you get what you pay for, I would personally pay a little more next time to get better quality/experiance. Might be ok for a short stay - no longer than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Good wifi connection on 3rd floor, password required from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Do not be fooled by the nice pool photos, which is highly misleading. The staff are EXTREMELY rude to say the least. You ask what is on the menu for dinner, the staff speak to you like animals, the food opposite the hotel is nicer. The AC did not work, when asked to be seen to, staff did not come. They will give you a menu for the food but will then bring a fixed menu worth of disgusting food. The bathroom is guaranteed to be flooded. Have no idea why on earth there is a TV in the room which may as well be on the ceiling. Don't bother even smiling at the staff at reception nor in the canteen, you will get a miserable/grumpy look back! Only good thing was the location. Next time will be sure not to let a hotel like this hinder our experience. Told it was a 4 star, not even worth 2 stars! Would never bring family here. Not even worth the money

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HENNA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is basic.It's about a twenty minute walk from the medina (where you are likely to spend a lot of your time). It is reasonably clean, the bed was comfy but we had no balcony, the bathroom flooded everytime we had a shower. The breakfast is continental; pan au chocolat, french baguette with butter and apricot jam, very freshly squeezed orange juice and a coffee - I know we Brits usually expect a fry up but this was a nice change. The swimming pool is ickle and you wouldn't be able to swing a cat in it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingPanda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

In gueliz about twenty min walk to jma al fina. Near western shops like Zara and accessorize. Near McDonald's and KFC also like a 3min walk. Hotel restaurant is good shop next door also restaurant opposite.
Room service everyday, staff friendly. Excursions dear with hotel look elsewhere. Towels provided. View from balcony not great - construction site opposite but presume this will be temporary.
Room is spacious fridge freezer and cooker available, tv, shower and a/c.
Gueliz is not as cultural as other parts prostitution is obvious in evenings although this is more like ten min walk from hotel. Nice restaurants near by and show shops!! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weddadradman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#459 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#434 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#397 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#415 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#436 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#440 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assounfou Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assounfou Apart-Hotel

Property: Assounfou Apart-Hotel
Address: Angle Rue Imam Malek et Rue Ibn, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Assounfou Apart-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Assounfou Apart-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assounfou Apart Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing