We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar Massai
Ranked #149 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family stayed in two rooms in the Dar Massai, and were impressed by every element. We were greeted warmly with mint tea and biscuits, and offered every hospitality during our stay. The riad is located within walking distance to all the main sights of Marrakech; close to the action but without the noise. The accommodations were very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and each morning's breakfast was thoughtfully prepared, delicious and generous. Youssef provided helpful advice, and assisted us with planning excursions and other transport as needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dar Massai and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 282 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Riad Dar Massai was the best place we could have chosen for our first visit to Marrakesh. It is beautiful decorated, right in the middle of the medina and walking distance to the main attractions. The owner and all the employees were very friendly and gave us the best recommendations. Our room was very unique. Having breakfast on the roof top terrace was amazing. We will be certainly staying in the same riad if we go back to Marrakesh, and we have recommend it to all our friends and family. It was simply perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our family, of 4 adults, stayed at Dar Massai in May and everything exceeded our expectations. Our rooms were spacious, attractive and comfortable. The staff was always friendly, warm and helpful. The pool area and other shared spaces ensured that we did not have to stay in our rooms but could meet other guests and enjoy the outdoors. The breakfasts and dinner that we had in the hotel were delicious. Dar Massai is in a very good location as it is very quiet yet within easy walking distance to the major sites. I have to add that Youssef, the manager, helped us all along the way. He was very prompt at responding to all our email inquiries, arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport in Casablanca and met us at the taxi personally to help us carry our luggage to the riad. He also helped us plan our stay in Marrakech and made extra phone calls to confirm other reservations. When it happened that my mom accidently left her watch in the safe, he did everything necessary to ship it to her back in the US. I would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureloverSanLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We Loved staying in RIAD MASSAI !!
The apartment is so beautiful and comfortable, with every luxury you could ever want!
The place is very clean, the bed is very comfortable, and swimming pool is amazing ! The terrace is beautiful. And the location is fantastic !
It was an absolute treat to stay in this space.
RIAD MASSAI is also situated in a very convenient location: in 10 minutes walk you can reach The Jafna Square. Also the taxi can go very near to Riad Massai.
I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone and everyone goes to Marrakesh
Did I mention how great the people from Riad Mssai are? They were very easy to communicate with and helpful and friendly !

Room Tip: ask to dar massai to pick up you at the airport, it's easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hi everibody,
i stayed in Ryad Dar Massai in December and i had amazing days there. The ambience is very very nice, i loved the maroccan style, and alway is really clean. The staff is very nice too, so kind and so passionate to advice and help their customers. My experience was so good. I really advice you to try it!

Room Tip: I slept in the asiatic room, really nice, but also the others where stayd my friends were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was a great stay at the Riad Dar Massai, we were warmly welcomed at the beginning. The breakfast in the morning was always very rich and tasty, the meals they prepared for us in the evening were excellent and low priiced. The rooms, the interior and especially the roof terrace were great. The personell was always very helpful, very friendly and very obliging. All in all we had an perfect stay in this Riad! Thank you very much!

Room Tip: The rooms are all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernhardR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in this lovely Riad for only two nights (now I wish they were two months).
This place is wonderful, quiet in the middle of the Marrakech crazy life Medina, clean in the middle of the market dirt and a perfect place for visiting every Marrakech attraction within walking distance.
The place is a litlle difficult to find by yourself because there are no routes indicated in Tom Tom or Navigon, but you can always call Yousef and he'll pick you up from the mosque nearby.
The staff was wonderful and friendly and the owner, Annaïck, was attentive, careful and welcoming.
The food, oh my god what a breakfast!
I WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK TO DAR MASSAI (and this is not just a promise to myself).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eseitaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#257 of 500 in Marrakech
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#165 of 500 in Marrakech
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#204 of 500 in Marrakech
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riad Haraka
Riad Haraka
#106 of 500 in Marrakech
127 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#74 of 500 in Marrakech
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#66 of 500 in Marrakech
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $54 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing