We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar Massai
Nearby Hotels
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$345
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$90
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$180
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad 72(Marrakech)
$152
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$592
$515
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
240
39
7
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
39
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarecall to prayeran oasisred cityan ideal locationdinner one nightwalking distancehighly recommend this riadmint teariad dartagineyoussefftaxiterraceairportmedinamap
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 289 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

couple late 30's, stayed there for 2 nights

Arrived from the airport (10 min)
they met us on the main road in the medina so we wouldn't get lost.
hotel is very nice with a beautiful little central area well decorated with a pool to put your feet in.
We stayed on the ground floor bedroom which has ample space, very good bed and bathroom.
they are no windows on the outside so very nice and quiet (well apart from prayers of course)
Breakfast was really nice and different everyday depending on what they cooked. you can have it downstairs of on their roof terrace which is very comfy.

Easy to naViguate around the medina, but ask a map from the riad to make sure you don't get lost trying to find the hotel in the maze that is the medina.

We went around the medina in one day really, you could get a guide if required, probably the best way to make the most of the medina.
just careful with the tours the hotel offers. they are good but make sure you understand where they take you. we were offered the cascades, though we were going to ouzoud but it was the other ones. It was a good day nevertheless !

Evening we eat at the riad (very good food) and in the main square
there is also a hammam nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaozinhoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautifully restored Riad, the rooms, pool, food and attention to detail made this a fantastic place to stay. (Make sure you look at the restoration photo diary)

As mentioned in a previous review one of the hotel managers made us feel quite uncomfortable. He also unfortunately gave us the hard sell (he has an Argon oil business with his friend) over what was supposed to be a deliberate attempt at a stress free dinner. Otherwise all staff were extremely friendly and very helpful.

Be aware that there is a 4% charge if using a credit card.

I would stay here again and recommend this beautiful Riad.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordBergamot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Absolutely beautiful Riad, the decoration is really lovely and all the different areas of the Riad are very comfortable and guests are very welcome to relax! The price is really great value and we were upgraded to slightly better room, although to be honest they are all so individual and beautifully decorated in their style we would have been happy in any of them!

The location is right in the centre of the old Medina, and is very easy walking distance to the main square where all the food markets are and also the souks and other places of interest.You also get a good sense of real culture and local life! Although it is located in the heart of the town the Riad itself is very quiet and peaceful, it really is a little hidden oasis!

We booked a taxi through the hotel on arrival and were dropped off at the end of the road where were were picked up by Youssef the manager and taken to the Riad. Although could find a taxi yourself for a tiny bit cheaper, it does save the hassle especially as unfamiliar with bartering and the area on arrival in Marrakech! Youssef was very helpful and gave us some good advice throughout our stay and helped us to find out ay to the main road initially (which I would recommend to save getting lost)! He did also recommend a hammam which was around the corner and actually this spa was very well priced in comparison to others and was absolutely superb, it was a little smaller than Bain de Marrakesh which we also tried, but we found the treatments were better and the staff really take care of you so would highly recommend! Le bain de Marrakesh is good though if you want to laze around a bit as there is an outside pool area where you are welcome to relax before and after.

Also we booked a trip to waterfalls and went with another couple from the hotel, it was a great day and the taxi was very modern and spacious. We did stop mid way to visit a beautiful place in the hills with a shop but we were not expected to buy anything and we were not pressurised at all. The tour itself actually was slightly over priced as we were provided a tour guide which was fantastic but we then found out the cost of this was in addition to the tour (effectively just transport costs). However, the tour guide was very helpful and did look after us very well, but just be aware that the price of the tour alone doesn't include this and you will probably look to another €20 extra.

The rooms are all very nicely decorated each with their individual style and have air con if needed. The brakfast was lovely and the other staff are so sweet. We were provided with a lovely welcome tea and biscuits upon arrival and Youssef also helped us buy some tea locally before we left. Annaick the owner is really nice too, and made us feel very welcome at all times.

Would definitely recommend staying here for a true Moroccan experience, although if you are looking for a more relaxing lazy holiday I would suggest staying in a bigger hotel out of town. All the staff were absolutely lovely, and for a Riad in the centre I can't imagine there to be better!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily86uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dar Massai for a week and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were wonderful - starting from getting picked up at the airport with a delicious dinner organised at the riad to being sent off like one of the family when we left. The owner was very helpful organising tours and giving recommendations and the rest of the staff was always on hand to cook up a snack or brew a moroccan tea (at any time of the night!). The rooms and riad are very clean and stylishly designed. We stayed at the bottom floor room and had no problems with privacy or noise. Will definitely stay again on our next visit to the red city!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HasanE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My daughter and myself have just returned from a six night stay at Riad Dar Massai and we are still chilled out from our visit which was the main purpose of the trip. From the moment we were met at the airport we felt spoilt and pampered and were made to feel completely 'at home' by all staff members. On arrival at Dar Massai we kicked off our shoes and relaxed taking each day as it came. The pool was very welcoming after a day out and also after sunbathing on the roof terrace. If you want a real flavour of the spices of Morrocco have a lunch or dinner at Dar Massai which we did when we felt too lazy to go out and these were the best meals we had in the six days. Just give enough notice and they will see what they can rustle up for you. If you appreciate traditional Moroccan architecture and craftsmanship as well as beautiful decor and furnishings sourced from the owner's travels, then you will love Dar Massai. This was my daughter's first visit to Marrakech and my second and my expectations for the Riad were high and it did not disappoint. The location of the Riad is 20 minutes from the airport and once the taxi drops you off its just an easy five minutes walk to the riad. We got our bearings after our first day out and were easily able to find our way back without the use of taxis from our various shopping trips to the souks and Jemaa El Fna. We felt safe in this location because we were respectful of the customs of the people around us and covered up when necessary. During our exchange of emails confirming our booking with the owner we were informed of their preference of Euros to settle the bill so this was not a surprise or a problem (we booked with Expedia). We booked a trip through the Riad to the Atlas mountains to trek and see the waterfalls and this was an amazing day out with our own personal guide. You will find a warm welcome at Dar Massai and its the perfect location for a relaxing break or a shopping trip and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanwomanKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews