We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palais DARKOUM is great place to have a drink”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Ranked #115 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were invited by a friend to celebrate his fortieth birthday,we were made to feel very welcome
and were exceptionally well looked after throughout our visit by the charming AZIZA and JAMAL
nothing is too much trouble for them.They are kindness personified and could not be more helpful.
Many thanks for both can not wait to back see you.
Go to Palais DARKOUM it's a must

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank youghaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked this as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday. When we arrived we were told the room wasn't ready & they would phone us when it was. 3 hours later we returned to the desk to enquire where our room was. There was paper shuffling & the promised upgrade never materialised. Never mind. We queried about our half board & where we could eat & were told which restaurant we could eat in. On checking out, the extremely rude cashier told us they had no record of us having booked half board, despite me showing him proof from Thomas Cook. Completely humiliated in front of a queue of people! No tea or coffee making facility in the room. Mini bar never restocked although they managed to charge a fortune for stuff that was never in there in the first place. If you can speak French, you're fine, otherwise you will be completely ignored. Very disappointed. Should only be a 3 star hotel, if that.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank wick1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel. But we went there for lunch and pools since our riad hotel did ot have a proper pool. A pool bed including lunch was 600 dirham, which is rather expensive. Especially if you are a family of four... :-). But it turned out it was worth the money. The lunch buffet was of international quality, with lots of starters, main courses and desserts in a nice setting. The pool area was also very good with two large pools, one heated and one not heated, and a big pool area with bars and palm trees. Helpful and kind staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HrJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent a number of days here for a conference and some time with family. Benefits from being a global chain but with a big taste of Morocco. High attention to detail in decor & ensuring that you feel that you are in Morocco. Live fires around the pool at night, candles, incense etc.
Service is fair but not excellent but I did not see any better service in Morocco.
However the food is absolutely excellent. The buffet breakfast is unbelievably good with so much choice from smoothies to your recipe, pastries to rival any French patisserie, omelettes, authentic Moroccan pancake etc and a cute kids corner with mini pastries.
On site night club, pools, spa business facilities are good - break out snacks were irresistible but not healthy but who cares for a few days! Service let downs are things like slow group, check-in, understaffed at peak time for meals and running out of drinks at breaks but overall very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area as at the other side you are overlooking a small motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at sofitel before but this time was disappointed by the dirty swimming pool. It's a 5* hotel and the water was so dirty (heated pool in the back). There is no excuse as there are two outdoor pools and they can be cleaned at different times.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank sam71000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are leaving tomorrow from a week's stay at this lovely hotel. The service is excellent, the facilities are gorgeous and the food is delicious. Our 4 year old daughter spent a few days at the Kids' Suite and was treated like a princess. They had a cooking lesson, made jewellery, went swimming and even had manicures in the spa. She absolutely loved it. Staff outside of the Kids' Suite also made a fuss of her and us and special mentions go to Karima and Amal in the kitchen, Abderahim, Rachida, Fatim Zehra and Anas the waiter in the Orangerie restaurant who's service was impeccable. There were some huge corporate groups here towards the end of the week which made the buffet breakfast and lunch a bit of an elbow battle but we were always accommodated by the right staff. We've had a fantastic break and I'm looking forward to coming back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank AbsFabs2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great pool area, but poor service. The hotel is very beautiful, with several options of intertainment. The spa is fantastic! Good restaurants, good food.
Exrtremely comfortable suite, very spacious, Hermes amenities. The shower was not good at all.
Good location.
Overall is a great hotel, but the service could improve a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franbrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#62 of 500 in Marrakech
1,551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#192 of 500 in Marrakech
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#66 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#96 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#186 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $173 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing