We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Ranked #108 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week from 8/8/13. Very good room, service and pools and a very good location for easy access to town. Breakfast was a real treat with just about anything you could wish for. The only slight let down was checkout which was awful. One man manning the desk with a long queue to deal with, totally unacceptable for this class of hotel. However, overall a lovely relaxing stay and would certainly return.

Room Tip: A good Carrefour supermarket is a ten minute walk past the Novotel hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rashukeir2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

-the staff from the doork men, to housekeeping, restaurant staff servers chefs were all wonderfull. They are polite, courteous, always helpful. Some can speak English, mostly French. You can manage.

The hotel itself is located well close to the Medina. It looks a bit outdated. The suites are smaller then other Sofitel hotels.

There were issues with ants in our room, to AC not properly cooling. Maintenance was quick to resolve the issues.

Overall as much as I appreciated the service, it is not one of those properties that has an Wow affect. There is issue with a foul smell so they use a scent all over the place.. If you have allergies good luck.

I think most hotels in the area are similar, if your use to US standards you may be dissappointed, For Europians this might be acceptable or even exceed expectations.

The food is of good quality, but is generally bland in Morocco and this was no exception. They need more international options and not just French or Moroccon. The food choices are very limited in Morocco, after a while you get tired of the same old.

Overall, it is well located, safe place, and most of all a great staff who are always ready to help.

If you decide to stay here, chances are you will walk to the square in the evening, caution must be exercised. It's only about 2 km, but there are people who will stalk you, then start talking nice to you, will claim to be a staff at the Sofitel and are off duty. Will advise you for a place to eat etc.., they are just crooks, not Sofitel employees, avoid them at all cost.

The Square is another beast. I sure you could read about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Cannot say I was head over heels at the idea of staying in the Sofitel. After all Marrakech is supposedly filled with smaller places with much more, well, let's say "soul". However, after experiencing the nightmare of staying at the Es Saadi, a wreck of a hotel and a rip-off a couple yards away, I stayed at the Sofitel for a couple nights.
It is grand, with an excellence service, beautiful pool, staff that care, ideal settings.
Again, not over excited by chain hotels, but coming every now and then in Marrakesh, I would probably try another Ryiad or stay again at the Sofitel: it is an excellent standard, and you get what you came here for without any hassle. Would also recommend the one in Essaouira

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GwenFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Many thanks to the staff of Sofitel Marrakech. We have had an amazing time in one of the most enchanting cities of the world. Although all staff is friendly and helpfuI, I would like to mention a few of the hotel staff in particular, Farah, Fatimzahra, Said and Quarfi. This hotel can be proud about these wonderful people. They make a stay in this hotel a very pleasant and relaxing experience.
This hotel is in a relaxing area of the city of Marrakesh while it's very easy and simple to get to the hectic and old centre of the city. A 10 minute walk takes you centuries back in history.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Thank u to the Sofitel, we have had an amazing time. Because it was our honeymoon, the hotel even upgraded us to a beautiful suite and let us have late check out. The hotel staff are wonderful, particularly amina on reception, she has been a delight, if you come here use the spa, the staff and the facilities are wonderful. Thanking all the staff for making our honeymoon perfect. We shall return!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

we enjoyed this hotel it is in a lovely part of the newer part of marrakech.
the pool area is great, and the service around the pool is also good.
we eat at the pool restaurant this was also good.
the staff are very good, and it is so easy to get around marrakech from this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheeleraIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Overall a good five star hotel but the service is incredibly slow with sometimes up to an hour before your drink was served, mind you at the price they charge that could be a good thing, seemed to be a little quicker if you were French.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool and away from the nightclub. Can be a long walk inside the hotel bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#61 of 502 in Marrakech
1,494 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#76 of 502 in Marrakech
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#187 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $165 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing