We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Ranked #111 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Positives: Location is good, just outside city walls and room had balcony overlooking main mosque. Rooms are spacious and have Moroccan touches. Appreciated welcoming Moroccan pastries and strawberries provided. Service was friendly. Breakfast is good with Moroccan and european food. Pools are nice with attentive towel service.

Negatives: Street outside hotel is NOISY with conversations and cars on Saturday night (no such problem on Sunday and Monday night). The noise continued until 6 AM and made it impossible to sleep. The room windows badly need double if not triple glazing. As well it was a loonnng walk from lobby to my room. And I didn't like that the toilet was in one room and the sink in a separate room around the corner - this seems a French or Accor thing, a Novatel room in Paris had the unergonomic design.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed Rooms and Moroccan touches.
We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We apologise for the noise.
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.
Sincerely.

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is OK - no more no less - given a 5* rating. Service were in general slow and poor. Slow check-in: The receptionist asked for our passports, left us for 10-15 minutes (no welcome-drink provided), came back then asked us to fill in forms (including name, passport number etc - nothing filled in beforehand). Then gave us the key and left - without telling us where or how to get to our room!
Cleaning of room were variable throughout the stay. First day we left at 9am only to return at 5pm to an uncleaned room. Housekeeping then came at 5.30 as we were showering and getting ready to go out for dinner. They asked 3 times the next 30minutes ,only to the same message from me: Come back after 6.30. I assume the cleaning lady did not understand english, so I called housekeeping and asked them to come back after 6.30. Provided drinking water were not resupplied this first day. Minibar not refilled. Shampoo was not resupplied. No price list of minibar. Later 3 bottles of water were suppled, only to no supply again. The room was OK, stained furniture in the room (bed linen were clean).
Stained chairs in the L'Orangerie restaurant.
Had breakfast at the hotel breakfast restaurant one of the mornings ($25/person) - were seated by the head waiter who then quickly left. We were seated at a conference room of some sort next to the restaurant and with very bright lighting. No ambiance for breakfast for us. Table with stained tablecloth. No cutlery provided by the staff (had to pick it our self from a nearby table), no staff came to take order for coffee - had to look for staff and ask twice to get regular black coffee! And the breakfast buffet is cleared on-time: Make sure not to be late! Food was just okey - no value for money !
Then some pro: The staff are friendly and always greets you with a 'bonjour' or 'bonsoir' when you pass them. The concierge were helpful and friendly (though a mistake made us to arrive at a restaurant booked by the concierge 90minutes before it open - however, the concierge swiftly called a nearby restaurant as a replacement). Also pro: Nice garden and pool area.
All in all: Not the service you could expect, rooms so-so.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommyuteiverden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.
We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial. We do take all comments seriously and really appreciate in details all the feedback we can get. We really apologise for the misunderstanding with problems you had encountered.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.
Sincerely.

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

our stay was very pleasant - right from check in the staff was excellent and courteous. we were traveling with family and had requested two connecting rooms - they were not available so they upgraded us to a suite. very well appointed - like a small apartment overlooking the pool. only drawback was that we lost one bathroom and the plumbing in this suite needs to be urgently updated as every time we showered the water came out of the tub and shower area into the foyer.
the lobby is very well laid out but very busy, staff very attentive and helpfull. breakfast average and very expensive but just outside the hotel an excellent place for a good, cheap and hearty breakfast. very kid friendly and the pool area highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dhapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial. It was nice to hear that my staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.
We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Perfect location! Our room (429) had a perfect view of the pool and the Atlas mountain.
The bed was very comfortable.
The heated pool was great considering the cool temperature we experienced during our stay in Marrakech.
Kudos to the staff - from the Reception to the Concierge recommending some good restaurants, the folks at the Restaurant (Jardin des Senteurs - Rachida, Sihom) and even the housekeeping lady. Everybody was so nice to us. They made us feel at home.

A few minor glitches:
The lighting of the room was really poor.
Internet access was terrible and sometimes it didn't work at all
A water leak at the wall of the WC - although we never reported it - was annoying
Expensive food & beverages e.g. A bottle of water at the restaurant at $12 was a total rip-off - same thing for a beer at $12. Breakfast at $30 is expensive if you only have an omelet, some juice and a cup of coffee. Sunday brunch at 500 DH (>$60)was ok for me for expensive for many.
I wish the hotel would have an Excursion desk. They concierge quoted 200 Euros for a day excursion to Essaouira for 2 while we did the same excursion for 50 Euros via Sahara Tours with a guide. A city tour at 700 DH (almost $90) was a scam since the objective of the guide was to take you to expensive places to buy carpets and other stuffs. He didn't even take us to the places we were supposed to visit.
Our Junior Suite was just a mere Superior room not a junior suite per se. That was a disappointment.

Room Tip: A suite with a pool/ Atlas view above the 1st floor is an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.

Sincerely,

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel at the beginning and the end of a bicycle trip around Morocco and had two very different experiences. While the Palais Imperials and Lounge & Spa share a facility and management by all appearances, our overall experience was far, far superior at the Imperial.

We found the reception cold and somewhat surly throughout our stay at the L&S. Check-in took an eternity (particularly painful for those arriving from overseas) and lacked warmth, which was pretty much true of every encounter we had or witnessed at the front desk. In fact, we had to make four calls -- finally seeking assistance from the Accord folks who had to patch us through -- just to get someone pick up the phone there to book transportation from the airport prior to our arrival. We had reserved a room with two beds for the kids and got a double, and they made no apparent effort to accomodate a request to change. We were sent off to find our rooms on are own upon arriving, and the service failed to improve after that.

We had just the opposite experience, however, at the Imperial, where the staff without exception welcoming, friendly and eager to make sure guests felt appreciated. We were escorted to our room by a guest service specialist, greeted by name every time we walked through the lobby and saw the same specialist who checked in with us a few times during our stay. Everything in the hotel smells fresh and floral - there are beautiful bouquets throughout and lovely furnishings.

The Spa is pretty and calm. Indoor dip pool there is for adults only and the small gym is just that - small and quite aromatic, not in a good way. Another area of the S&L has a foos-ball table and pool table, which is fun, but the noise from folks playing can be heard in the rooms above.

The pool area (shared by both hotels) is simply fabulous - vast and gorgeous with ample comfortable seating and pool beds (including the world's most comfortable hammocks), two bars, chair service (slow but friendly) and cute touches like a cotton candy/gelato stand and small swinging cribs for infants. The food was decent at the poolside restaurant and people watching marvelous. The entire area is covered with flowering vines and gorgeous landscaping, and feels very special.

Breakfast is great at the restaurant buffet, but the lunch less so. Service is very spotty. At no meal was the service particularly efficient or friendly, and pretty much the same can be said for the terrace off the main lobby where we were twice ignored entirely and once waited more than 20 minutes for a simple drink. We had one meal at the Orangerie which was good but for the sticker shock when it turned out that our two Kir Royales were charged at US$ each!

The rooms are lovely with comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, Hermes bath products and nice robes/towels. Our suite in the L&S was so poorly lit you couldn't see a book to read after the sun set, but the suites on the Imperial side are wonderful on every count. The views are fab of the Atlas mountains and pool area.

Westerners should not worry about what to pack for a stay here as it is anything goes at the pool, restaurants and lobby area. Most guests dressed quite fashionably and few felt to compelled toward the modesty in dress that would be more appropriate in a Riad within the medina or in areas frequented by locals.

There are several restaurants and clubs an easy stroll from the Sofitel if you aren't up for the chaos of the walled city and the souks, although that is a must-see at some point during your trip. It is more fun and less intimidating with a guide as it is truly chaotic and VERY easy to get lost. Taxi to the airport was a fixed rate of 150 dirhams.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43reds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We are pleased to read that the misunderstanding was resolved and hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to Sofitel Marrakech. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have been to Marrakech quite a few times in the last few years and have always stayed in riads. Now don't get me wrong, riads can offer some of the best servcie available but can take on a bit of a 'house party' atmosphere where you can feel obliged to socialise.

This is not what we wanted on this particular occasion. After a stressful few months we wanted to chill in a relaxing environment not too far from the action and not feel obliged to 'join in'.

Having had drinks in the Sofitel on a few occasions before and having stayed in sister hotels before we were confident our needs would be met, and they most certainly were.

Upon arrival, we were advised our room was not ready, no real surprise at it was only 11.30am, so we had a long leisurely lunch and checked in at about 2.30pm. We had been upgraded to a suite with pool and Atlas views.....very pleasant. The room was very comfortable with all of the amenities you would expect.

We always stay on a room only basis so i cannot comment on the food save for the pool bar which, whilst a little on the expensive site, it was not over the top and was very pleasant.

The hotel is within 15 minutes stroll of the square, where all of the action is and 10 minutes from the new town.

In all, i would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Happy to answer any questions.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience at we are delighted to read that you appreciated the service, and the accommodations!

We hope to see you again soon at the Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in a Riad in the Medina a couple of months earlier, I decided that as I was returning with my partner, son and daughter it would be better to stay in a large hotel so that the girls could chill around tbe pool whilst my son and I went mountain biking! We had a two bedroom suite and it was very nice!
The check in was a bit of a faff as they spend a bit too long trying to make it special, whereas I would rather they just gave me the key and let me get on with it!!
The breakfast whilst fairly costly was excellent!! They did not charge for the kids even though my 15 yr old son is a monster who ate twice as much as us!!
The guys around the pool worked really hard and kept everyone happy (even the French...)
Only grumble was the staff on the ground floor terrace at night , who despite outnumbering the guests still managed to take around 30 mins to conjure up a basic cocktail!!
Would happily recommend this hotel though, close to all the action, yet very relaxed!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, Directeur d'hôtel at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial. It was nice to hear that my staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make sure that every gust feels special. Thank you so much for staying with us.
We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#59 of 500 in Marrakech
1,621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#170 of 500 in Marrakech
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#65 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#96 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#185 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $180 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing