We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent ,well located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Ranked #122 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent ,well located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You are welcomed with soft drinks,mint tea in the foyer when you check in and this sort of consideration continues throughout your stay.The rooms are very comfortable and efficient.Generous on the toiletries if you like to make off with the Hermes shampoos!

The breakfasts are first class and service very good.The pool areas are a feature.Two very large swimming pools,one heated to 30 degrees, like a lukewarm bath,the other unheated comes into its own when it gets really hot I guess.The pools are set in lovely gardens with sculptures,giant chess sets etc all works very well.The indoor spa area is very useful if it rains having an excellent steam,sauna and small indoor pool.

The hotel is well situated for a walk to the medina,albeit you'll pestered by vigilante guides from the moment you start your trek!That's Marrakech!Lots of restaurants within walking distance.It can be a bit noisy at night but just a bit,nightclubs/restaurants emptying around 1 o clockish.We've
Stayed at the Mamounia Hotel and the Sofitel compares very favourably and of course it isn't as
expensive.All in all a good four star hotel with friendly ,helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetleperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    349
    172
    93
    50
See reviews for
320
565
54
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wonderful pool where we were swimming in the rain. Great Service. Rooms had even ironing machines. Nice balcony and a good view from it. Everyone enjoyed the spa. Very nice breakfast and lunch. On the whole it is an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fazpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
290 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is actually the same hotel as the Sofitel Lounge and Spa. You are able to use all the facilities of each and there is seemless integration of the bill.
Still a great place, the rooms were a little on the smallish side. Rooms facing the nightclub side are noisiest, however things wrap up about 1 am.
Breakfast buffet is top of the line!
Pool bar/restaurant is very good. Pool is clean and neat.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side. The pool side is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthbound-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Location and the pool are excellent but the rest is mediocre.
Most of the rooms are very noisy (close from main road)
Decoration of the room is really bad (compare to other hotels), it is just a standard sofitel with a light morrocan touch.
Only 1 entrance to the hotel, access to the room is complicated and very long.
Bad smeel in the corridors. Maintenance of the garden is bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel provided fantastic accommodation and a New Year party to remember. However when we arrived just after lunchtime on 31st Dec and tried to run a bath there wasn't any hot water. In fact there wasn't any water coming out of the hot tap at all. We reported this to the front desk but nobody came to investigate and after about an hour some hot water did start to dribble through. Not what you would expect from a five star hotel. We had hot water for the rest of our stay and I would say that this was the only disappointing feature of our stay there. The food is first class especially the buffet breakfast and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The New Years eve party was really well organised and considering they were catering for a couple of hundred people, the service and quality of our five course meal was exceptional. We had a junior suite with a view over the pool and gardens. However it was the distant view of the Atlas Mountains, especially first thing in the morning, that took our breath away. The hotel is conveniently located only 15 minutes walk away from the Medina but you do have to watch yourself crossing the roads. Stick close to locals crossing the road and go when they go! If you fancy doing something different next New Year then check out this hotel and its party, but be prepared to wait for the bath to fill!

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool /garden view are the best as you get a view of the Atlas Mountains for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel and the city of Marrakech in Morocco is nothing less than excellent and everyone should make the effort to enjoy a few days at this resort and in this city. The facilities location and value of the Sofitel is exceptional . Breakfast is so good you hardly need lunch . Having said that we had breakfast, lunch and dinner and at all of the hotels different restaurants and without exception all were as good as each other . Most rooms overlook several pools as well as the Atlas Mountains. The hotel arranges fantastic trips both within the city to the Atlas Mountains the Sahara and more . Nothing is to much trouble . I travel a lot and would have to give this hotel truely five or six stars as the staff and management know what it takes to make the discerning traveller happy . Well done to the General Manager and his staff Tip Get the hotel to arrange a transfer from the airport both ways . Its almost the same price but in a Benz and you avoid the hassel at the airport . I found it less than $5 US difference . Finally, don't take Australian dollars to Morocco as they won't change them anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogerperthaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhmedBenkirane, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial on your visit to Marrakech. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Marrakech.

Sincerely,

M.Ahmed BENKIRANE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#50 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#137 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#191 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing