We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel made me love Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Ranked #116 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel made me love Marrakech”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 10 nights in the Sofitel Marrakech and I am more than pleased.

First of all the staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient, guest relation personnel are always attentive and check on the guest if they have any issue and how well they enjoy the stay

Location of the hotel is excellent as its 10 min walk from the medina and Jama El Fna square yes it's area is very modern and elegant

Facilities are great specially the two big swimming pools in the beautiful gardens

Breakfast is really good with big buffet with so many things to choose from

It was my first trip to Marrakech and part why I love the city now is this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABSI-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    418
    206
    108
    70
See reviews for
392
674
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a slight issue with our room when we first arrived, but the General Manager Hamed and his team did all that they could to resolve the issue which they accomplished and I can now see that Sofitel Marrakech is worthy of all of the great reviews that it gets.
There are some excellent staff from Fatima who serviced our room and made a real effort for my wife's birthday to the concierge who booked us into some fantastic restaurants from traditional Moroccan (Palais Solemain) to modern Buddah Bar type restaurants (Bo Zin & Lotus Club).
The team at Sofitel put on a welcome night on Monday night and it was a great way to meet the staff and other guests in a friendly, informal atmosphere. One of the managers Yassin sang a few songs and it is worth going just to hear that; he was excellent!!
The pool staff (particularly Jumal the life guard) were all very helpful and could not do enough to make your stay comfortable.
School boy French is definitely beneficial because many staff and locals do not have a great command of English. We had a fantastic horse and carriage ride who took us to all of the local sights and it was a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulyC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Smiley faces every where you go inside the hotel. This morning I had my breakfast in the garden next to restaurant. The sun was as warm as the hospitality I had from Abderrahim and Morad, waiters in the restaurant. After I had the breakfast Abderrahim suggested to prepare vervin tea fresh leaves from the garden. They made my day!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamadsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Look this is a really nice hotel, very well located, nicely appointed, a varied offering of different restaurants and bars, The pool area is particular good offering two separate pools and a mix of spaces that break up the area so you don't feel like a bunch of tourists trying to secure your own little bit of territory in a crowded world.

I have eaten here two nights and the food in the Orangey Restaurant like the service has been top notch,

I write this from the external bar of the So nightclub/restaurant having just pointed out on Facebook that my night cap is being nursed as some 'young un's are just going out.

Bedrooms. I am in a very tidy room with views South to the Atlas Mountains. Well appointed and boast the Sofitel 'my bed' with its under duvet which makes for a really comfortable sleep.

I have no problem recommending the hotel, it offers a real quality experience that is probably a lot better value than other brands with more of a North American heritage.

If you come here and you are Anglo Saxon in temperament and I include my American and Canadian cousins you just have to accept the pace of service and attention to detail is different, not wrong but different. So don't always expect staff to fall over to serve you. Test understanding of what you have asked for.... This is true for the whole of Marrakech and try and find a degree of patience - The West End of London or downtown Manhattan this is not. Embrace it and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadysmithJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Its a beautiful hotel but the staff is very amateuristic. I forgot my phone in the gym when I went back, not even 3 minutes later it was gone and the only person there was a crew member. He denied and even started being rude. And I also noticed that they treat Americans and Europeans way better than their own people. My friend is Moroccan and they were very rude to him! I was surprised and I actually felt shame. How idiot but anyway the hotel is cool and theres much to do in the area but dont expect a good treatment in this hotel..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from Imperial Palace.On arrival our rooms were not good with an unpleasant smell, complained immediately moved to rooms twice the size with private terrace. Staff are great very friendly service can be slow so be prepared. Othman on reception is a star and really helped us during our stay. Khalid on the conceriege desk is a lovely man with great recommendations for eating out. Some people complain about prices in the hotel I only found it expensive around the pool area. Would stay again but did not like Marrakech centre which was dirty luckily the hotel had all we needed

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David-RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Pros: Two nice outdoor pools, comfy bed, huge room, extensive breakfast, ideal location away from the "mayhem" of the markets but still within walkable distance, staff are great with kids (not that we had any with us), when I got ill a doctor was called to my room within 30mins
Cons: Drinks were stupidly expensive, no "adult only" pool area, not really much of a view (despite paying out for "mountain view"), shower pressure/temperature a little unpredictable

If you've always wanted to visit Marrakech, or the wider realms of the desert, then a lot of the centrally based hotels - while lovely from what I've seen - just can't match up to the Sofitel in terms of location or grandeur.
The room we had was the size of my London two bed flat. It was massive, more like two rooms than one. The bed was comfy, everything was clean, the balcony was lovely, and the only minor blip I can almost moan about - and this is at a push - is that the shower temperature occassionally drifted from hot to cold unexpectedly. Hardly something to call the police about.
The swimming pools, too, are both huge - far larger than what you'll find elsewhere nearby except, possibly, in the northern "golfers paradise" part of the town. For my money, though, that's just too far away. This Sofitel, on the other hand, is situated far enough away from the madness of the market square for it to feel chilled out and relaxed, but close enough to easily walk in and experience some of the other sights and culture. Or use it as a base to get collected by a tour guide and go explore the mountains or elsewhere.
It was after eating something dodgy, however (nothing to do with this hotel though, it was something from outside), that I got ill. The staff were excellent in calling a doctor to my room. He was here within 30mins, checked for apendicitis, confirmed my gastroentiritis, gave me a bunch of pills to put it right and dull the pain and all that cost a mere £40.
The only reason this property doesn't score five stars is down to the other prices. The rooms are expensive, but I accept that. I'm talking around £7 for a small bottle of beer which, considering this is Marrakech in Africa that we're talking about, is just grossly overpriced. The staff are a little slow in service too.
I like to lounge about on holiday and have a few bottles, but after the two of us had drunk about four each (that's only two pints) we had a bill that was around £55. More than it cost to put my health right as outlined above.
Very few bad words to say about this one though. If you want European comfort in Marrakech then the Sofitel, unlike many other places I've seen and heard about, is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmxbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#63 of 500 in Marrakech
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#87 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#188 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing