We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to all the good reviews.”
Review of Eveil Des Sens

Eveil Des Sens
Ranked #24 of 861 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lived up to all the good reviews.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Had lunch here today as we ventured into the new town.
Greeting was warm and welcoming. We sat outside but in the shade and enjoyed a very good value for money meal.
70 drms bought us three courses of freshly prepared, tasty food.
Quiet and relaxed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joeyandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    146
    34
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
399 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Not convinced”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Seemed like a nice restaurant, so we gave it a try.
Courteous reception, I must say.
On the terrace, there was a draft, so we moved inside. Unfortunately after a while again, a draft came in the restaurant through the door, which was constantly blown open by a little wind. Really, this must be a structural problem, but they seem not to want to mend it. My left ear started to ache.
After complaining, they posted a girl to keep the door closed, but off course she had to help serving too and the problem continued.
Now, about the served plates, some were very good like the pastilla of chicken (but beware, it is huge, wait to order more until you finished it) and the rib eye steak. My tajine of cows tail and plums was at best mediocre, with plums not even rehidrated. Mixed grill was too dry. The gratin of sole and shrimps was an absolutely tasteless disaster, overcooked, sticky and guey, and even more, that was not sole, but ordinary pangasius. At least be honest with what you offer.
Without dessert or coffee, we left disappointed.
Later on we read that it is rated nr.16 in the top list of Tripadvisor. Well, we do not understand this, it is totally overrated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bachir B, Propriétaire at Eveil Des Sens, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your message and your contribution to the restaurant Eveil Des Sens on Tripadvisor
We are sorry not to have made ​​such a good service as expected.
We could show you thousands of excuses, but ultimately your comment encourages us to improve our restaurant.
However, I can assure you that we are very honest about the products that are on the plates and correspond to what it said it in our menu, the fish you ordered is the sole and nothing else.
Sorry again for the bad experience and accept our sincere apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent value for money”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We dined at this restaurant twice during our stay: first for lunch and we came back for dinner a few days later. The restaurant is located in the smart new town a short walk away from the riads of the old town.

The menu has both the Moroccan traditional dishes and Italian favourites. The portions are generous, the food is delicious and care is taken as to the appearance and service.

I can particularly recommend the fillet steak with pepper sauce which comes with wonderfully intricate vegetables on the side.

The price was extremely reasonable with most dishes costing around 80-100 Dirham, which was quite unusual for the new town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruceboughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and great food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were introduced to Eviel Des Sens by Youssef on Avenue Mohammed V. He is really nice and helpful and showed us the menu, and speaks a little English as well as French, Spanish and Arabic. The restaurant is just off Mohammed V on Rue Ibn Atya which is the main street for the whole of Marrakech. Great variety of choice, tagines, Pizzas, Italian, French. The is something for everyone. All done to a very high standard and very good value. Pizzas are from 40 Dirhams, which is about £3, Tagines start at 45 Dirhams and there is a 3 course set menu for 70 Dirhams which has a choice of 6 starters, 7 mains and 4 deserts (If you can manage one!) I can recommend Doigts de Fatima which are like Chinese pancake rolls, Brochette de Dinde which is Turkey and finish with the chocolate mousse. Perfect, and all for around a fiver! The service is excellent and some of the staff speak English, all very stylish too, this is not a greasy spoon even if the prices are good. You can eat outside if you want or the main restaurant is air conditioned. 11 stars out of 10.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“Best food tried in Marrakesh”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

From start to finish the service at Eveil des Sens was excellent and the manager Mr. Badr gave us a very warm welcome. There was lots of attention to flavour. The menu was very good value for money and offered a variety of Moroccan as well as international dishes. I will go back there everytime I have a free evening.
If you are looking for a little treasure in the center of Marrakech, this is the place to go!!
In one sentence: YOU MUST EAT THERE.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anaselouafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eveil Des Sens also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Eveil Des Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing