We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient Location, clean & tidy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Aliya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aliya
Ranked #334 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Convenient Location, clean & tidy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Riad for 4 days. This is a very convenient location in Kasbah part of the medina, a 12-15 mins walk to the famous Djema el fnaa square. Tucked inside the bylanes of the medina you might find it scary and difficult to find if you are a first time visitor. But dont get put off by it and you get used to it once you are there. Great breakfast in the Riad (loved the crepes) and owner and staff at the Riad are very kind and helpful. The area is very safe even late in the night. Check the price of the riad in local dirhams instead of other currencies like euro, dollars or pounds just to be sure. There are shops close to this Riad on the main street where prices are much lower than those in the main sqaure. As with Morocco, you will notice that anyone showing you or taking you to a restaurant, massage parlour, shop or travel agency have their commision cut out so try going direct to such places and always ask for discounts. Bargaining heavily is the key to getting the right price. If you dont know french, leaning the basics will prove handy. Avoid the food in djemaa el fnaa food stalls as its not hygenic there but you would want to try once for all the hype about the square. Buy leather products and ceramics in Fes rather than Marrakesh for better quality and price. Visit to the ourika valley is a must. Best Tajine (cooked on coal) in ourika valley. Exchange your currency in morocco rather than in your home country..you will always get a better rate and there are plenty of money exchanges.

Room Tip: always phone the riad before you arrive and they will be keen to entertain any request. better to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulcroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Me and my 12 year old daughter stayed here for 4 days end March 2012. This Riad is located in the Kasbah area, 8 min walk from the hectic 'big square' center of the Medina. We were happy not to be in the midst of all the craziness, yet having access. The Riad was a calm, safe and luxurious get-away in a historic area. Relaxing. Great and helpful staff. Hanan runs this place like a home - and she was extremely kind and helpful. She made our stay in the Medina very enjoyable.
Airconditioning was broken the first night, when mentioned, we were immediately upgraded to a suite at no additional cost, and with a working air conditioner. My daughter loved the breakfast, which was primarily an assortment of breads, fresh juice and mint tea. The rooms (we stayed in 2 of them) are very nice, clean, comfortable. A modern take on traditional Moroccan culture. It was easy to find our way around the Medina to the Riad. We highly recommend this Riad for anyone looking for a relaxing place to wind down from a hectic and sensory-filled Medina experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieAmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We used Riad Aliya as a base while in and around Marrakesh, staying two nights in two different rooms in 1 week. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The place was clean and tidy. Even in the middle of winter the roof terrace was great.We are hoping to stay again before we fly out.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 rooms which were both very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I thought the look and cleanliness of the hotel was fantastic. The rooms are adequatley sized and tidied everyday. The dining area around the little pool is lovely with much effort made -when we ate there on the first night the table looked beautiful with flowers and rose petals.

It was also a quiet, peaceful haven as it is hidden in the backstreets. The location is not bad, it is not where you find it on google maps it is off Rue de Kasbah. It takes about 10-15mins to walk to the square el-Fna. I would strongly advise anyone to take the transfer offered because it is very hard to find otherwise - we were walking around for about 45minutes until someone by chance rescued us and lead us to the door. There is no sign even outside so you will not know you are there even if you do miraculously make it!

The hotel staff were so friendly and smiley and very laid back (but not with security) - I know those infamous pink pyjamas have come up a few times in reviews! The lady who speaks English was keen to point out sights to us and had a book of excursions although we did not go on any. Breakfast is very sugary mint tea, OJ, jam and a selection of breads so not very varied but filling and we were certainly satisfied. We were offered dinner the first night which was as nice as anything else I ate in Marrakech although I felt maybe a bit expensive? Possibly just me being stingy.

If you are looking to stay in a comfortable, clean, quiet riya and happy to pass your own time this riya is perfect. It was excellent value and I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alittledaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

This Riad is beautiful, calm and has very luxurius rooms, and represents excellent value for money. It's situated in the oldest part of Marrakech (the Kasbah quarter). We MUCH preferred the situationg of this Riad and its surroundings to those others dotted right next to Jemaa El Fna. The owners of Aliya are very welcoming and friendly; Hanan runs the show and offered us excellent advice on things to see and do. She was a total character and we loved her attitude and down-to-earth nature! The place is just an oasis of calm; totally fresh and clean. We were upgraded at no extra cost, simply because a bigger room was available (we didn't ask), now THAT is what I call wonderful hospitality. The lady who prepared the breakfasts and cleaned up was just adorable, she was so friendly and reserved; the riad left us with a positive and lasting impression and we will definately come back to stay again.
Do yourself a favour and STAY HERE for a luxurious experience!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuceAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed in this lovely Riad 11 days in May 2011. Very nice rooms, clean and tastefully furnished - just as indicated on the pictures. Located in the heart of the Medina, 5 min by foot to the Saadian tombs and the Kasbah Mosque, 15 min to Djemaa El Fna (location on Google maps is incorrect). Would come back here anytime.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemmaex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We found this Riad on TA and looked at the reviews nearly all of which gave glowing reports. Here are my thoughts, tip and conclusions.
1. The Riad is in the cente of the kasbar area where chaos and mayhen rule, the streets are frantic, however this gives you a true feel of Marrakech. The Riad is buried far enough, but not too far, into the alleys to be a place of peace and quiet. Its clean and tidy.
2. The Riad is laid back and the staff are freindly, however dont expect swiched on service + I think, maybe wrongly, that Helena [ think that was her name ] it a tad lazy. She never gets out of her PJs or her dressing gown + on the day of our depature and a trip up the Orika Valley we needed breakfast at 08:00 and this seemed a terrible chore.
3. The trip above was good, however we are in our late 40s and geting up the waterfalls could be a struggle if you are older or not quite fit.
4. Tanneries; got lost in the Souks and some guy guided us to the Tanneries then wanted cash, which is fine, but then he wanted more and more. In the end I forced him to take £5 and told him to clear off.
5. Ate a few times in the square at stall No 1 it was fine.
6. Riad will sort the taxi pick up and drop off to airport, 165MD each way
7. The 24 hr ticket tour bus takes you everywhere you need to go.
8. Try to get off the plane first. since the bomb they check every detail on passports. It took us 75 mins to get onto the other side of passport control.
9.Did we feel safe: Yes very, despite few westerners in sight there was no hassle [except for Tannery Man] from the Morroccans, they seem a freindly sort, however if you show any interest in their shops or stalls...... they pounce.
10. Take a rain Jacket....its been wet out there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markos50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#72 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Daria
Riad Daria
#239 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arabian Riad Marrakech
Arabian Riad Marrakech
#469 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#29 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Chez l'Africain
Riad Chez l'Africain
#270 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aliya

Property: Riad Aliya
Address: 10, derb Akerkour | Quartier Ksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aliya 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad ALIYA, est une Maison situé dans le quartier KSOUR, au coeur de la médina (vieille ville) de MARRAKECH, à proximité de l'aéroport (5minutes), proche du palais royal et de la célèbre et mythique place JEMA EL FNAA et de ses traditionnels souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Aliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aliya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing