We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disppointed”
Review of Bab Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bab Hotel
Ranked #303 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A little disppointed”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

The hotel room was large, modern and really nice, but in the evening the restaurant downstairs gets fairly busy and smoky. This smoke went all the way to the fourth floor into our room. We knew it would be waste of time changing rooms, so we put towels through the gaps of the door. The Tv is nice but noisy and when were watching a movie it crashed halfway through and we never got to finish it. We asked if we could have late checkout at 4pm and that was fine, but I felt that the maids were waiting for us to leave as we popped out for half an hour and they were in our room. We told them it wasn't necessary as we will be leaving in four hours. The breakfast was okay and it was strange to see roast potatoes for breakfast, but tasty. The food and drink is rather expensive, but the cocktails were tasty. Just couple a metres outside the hotel there is a few homeless people, which was bit of a contrast to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie&rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    94
    37
    21
    34
See reviews for
27
122
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

You don't have to leave the hotel to have an great time in Marrakech. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are really nice. It's a bit expensive, but totally worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincentraal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Everything is highly exceptional. It is more than an excellent experience we had during our stay. Usually people like free offers which are the thing that make me prefer to come back again and again. ... My wife & I appreciate the honeymooners compliments the hotel surprised us with. Superb, Marvelous, Exceptional and Wonderful times and extraordinary experience and memories in a relaxing home-like place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed 5 nights as a single traveler early October. As from the moment I entered the hotel a relaxed feeling came over me. Soft lounge music, elegant fragrance, perfect interior. Was happily surprised with the deluxe room on the first floor. Room is big with separate dressing and awesome bathroom, all spotless clean. Nice to have the balcony as well. It felt good to realize that I definite made the right decision to choose for this hotel. I am in the interior and rental business myself so I check out my hotels with a lot of attention. Hotel staff is very competently, helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was ok but a bit more variety would be nice although. This small minus won't prevent me to return, I found the perfect spot for my trips in the future. It was already my third visit to Marrakesh, have stayed in nice riads in the medina. Main purpose this time was shopping and after a tiring day I definite prefer the 5 minutes bus ride to Gueliz to walking through the medina. Another reason for choosing Gueliz is the wide offer in good restaurants and bars. As a single woman walking in Gueliz in the evening felt more safe and comfortable in than the medina, I never had any trouble in the medina but in Gueliz there are all the time people on the street which gives a safer feeling.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I stayed here in September after we were unable to find our Riad in the Medina (arrived at night). The hotel is located in the Nouvelle Ville (new city and outside the Medina walls), which is much easier to navigate and has secure parking located directly in front of hotel, which is highly convenient. The hotel is stylish with a modern bar, restaurant and rooftop bar. The hotel/restaurant/bar was rather empty while we were there but this was most likely due to the time of year. During higher seasons I'd imagine that the hotel would attract a high-end clientele. Overall the experience was a good one. The staff is very diligent and helpful, the rooms are sizeable and very modern.

However, the experience is comparable to staying at any W hotel in any major city. The main question to ask yourself is whether you want to stay in the Nouvelle Ville or in the Medina. For a more authentic experience of Marrakesh I recommend staying at one of the many top notch Riads w/in the Medina (recommend Riad Argan). The benefit of a Riad is twofold (i) you're staying directly in the heart of the old city and (ii) the level of attention/care at Riad will be much more personalized and will enhance your overall experience. Finally, the value at a Riad is better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Me and my partner stayed one night at Bab Hotel after a terrible experience at a previous hotel. We booked a standard room but was upgraded to a deluxe room free of charge without asking. Hotel is extremely clean, comfortable, smells amazing in all areas including bedroom and staff are exceptionally attentive and friendly. We would most definitely stay at this hotel again. The only downside would be that our bedroom was quite dark but apart from that it is difficult to find fault with this hotel.

Room Tip: Our delux room was quite dark so if you like a lot of light, perhaps ask to view a few rooms first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goa_ele_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My friend and I stayed here in March. We had a bit of difficulty getting there - the taxi touts at the airport are awful! Try to arrange a pick up or get the bus into the city and ask the driver. He dropped us off about 50m from the hotel :) However, on arrival we were very pleased. The hotel is very cool and stylish and seems to be the local hot-spot - lots of people in the hotel bar when we arrived. The room was nice, although as you could see through from the room into the bathroom it was a bit weird when sharing with yiour friend! Good points - free movies in the room, great decor, free drink on arrival!! Bad points - rude receptionist, pool is so small it's not worth bothering with. Overall though, it was a blessed relief to be outside the Medina in the relative quiet of the Guilez area and the hotel was very cool and stylish.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth78London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Sea Le Printemps
Blue Sea Le Printemps
#351 of 500 in Marrakech
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#140 of 500 in Marrakech
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#216 of 500 in Marrakech
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Renaissance
Hotel La Renaissance
#359 of 500 in Marrakech
368 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#195 of 500 in Marrakech
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Hotel

Property: Bab Hotel
Address: Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi | Angle BD Mansour Eddahbi, Rue Mohammed El Baqal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bab Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of one of the most endearing Marrakesh neighborhood, the BAB HOTEL decidedly urban and design offers a black and white world and an innovative concept, where the richness of Moroccan culture blends contemporary design. First urban boutique hotel in the Red City, ideally placed to ensure a pleasant stay, you'll love the stylish and relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a good night's sleep in a design hotel with 45 unique rooms. All rooms have a terrace. On the ground floor, the lounge bar and the restaurant open to non-residents (excellent creative cuisine) offers large spaces - patio / pool, library, fireplace space - while Sky Bar allows you to enjoy the starry nights of Marrakech. BO SPA is a space dedicated to the well being and beauty of the body and mind. BAB Hotel provides for its business customers an equipped meeting room (up to 40 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing