We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy lunch”
Review of Dar Cherifa

Dar Cherifa
Ranked #13 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated in the very heart of the souks, this building is a hidden secret, only found by the discerning and curious visitor, where history is recorded in the delicate tracery of the stucco and skilfully carved wood. In the year 2000 , Marrakech Riads, a leading player in the restoration of the riads of Marrakech, brought Dar Cherifa back to life, and simultaneously unveiled a hidden treasure of the medina, the refined decor of this building recalling that of the Medersa Ben Youssef, jewel of the Saadian era (16th century) and one of the finest monuments of Marrakech. Renovated with the greatest care and attention to detail, with the participation of renowned craftsmen so as to maintain its authenticity and splendour, Dar Cherifa welcomes all visitors eager to meet new and interesting people. It is a real cultural venue, hosting regular exhibitions, workshops, concerts and events. This inimitable space draws one into a meditative state of mind and heart. Everyone fortunate enough to visit this building says that they breathe an atmosphere of peace and serenity the minute they cross the threshold. The mention of Moroccan culture immediately implies Moroccan cuisine, and what more beguiling setting than this pure and refined interior for sampling a cuisine abounding in cultural exchange; a subtle blend of sweet and sour, the inheritance of Berber, Jewish and Arab-Andalucian influences. Enjoy!
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A classy lunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Having had tea here on a previous visit, we returned for lunch which was beautifully presented and very delicious. Service was excellent, and the lady in charge was very charming and pleasant. The tables in the downstairs patio are widely spaced, and one can relax in very comfortable armchairs and admire the stunning architectural details going back to the 16th century. There was an exhibition of modern photographs, and we only wish we could have come back for the concert the next evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions vivement pour votre visite chez nous ainsi que pour votre commentaire et espérons vous revoir une prochaine fois et vous accueillir dans les meilleurs conditions possibles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    288
    68
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went to Dar Cherifa after it was recommended in the Lonely Planet guidebook and we were not disappointed. It's a little tricky to find and as with lots of the restaurants/riads in Marrakech, you think that you are simply heading towards a dead end derb. Don't give up. We asked a few locals for directions and are so glad that we did. Ring the bell next to the big wooden door and someone will come and open it. The terrace is a lovely, relaxing place to stop and have a mint tea after a morning shopping in the souks. The courtyard is also a cool and relaxing space in which you can unwind and enjoy some peace and quiet. The staff are very friendly too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jejo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions de votre visite ainsi que votre commentaire satisfaisant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a memorable riad in marrakech”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It's a great place to visit for your afternoon tea break. We were exploring the medina all day and shopped myself out, rarity but it did happen in marrakech!
Dar Charifa is one of the recommended places in the Lonely Planet medina walking tour and it was a good suggestion indeed.
Don't be discouraged by the wooden door and wait a while after you knock. They are open for lunch and tea, not for dinner.
The riad is beautifully restored. Soothing music, great scents and nice furnitures. The high ceiling with the rooftop is perfect for cloud watching during an afternoon break. And they have wifi access as well.
We sat there a bit while enjoying our saffron tea and dessert. Service is great though only one server speaks english. Not the best we've had but you come here for the atmosphere and can be quite romantic. We saw some people eating late lunch as well so that is also an option.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agustinkwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks a lot for you visit to Dar Cherifa and we hope to receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“away from the crowd”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

recommended in several guides and worth seeking out. Was not sure it was open at lunchtime in fact but door opened and we went in. Delightful place for lunch - only decision was whether to eat on the ground floor or on the terrace.

Food was very good and service unrushed which suited us after a busy morning in the souks.

Would readily have gone back for a meal in the evening and will do so when we go back to Marrakech.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks a lot for your visit to Dar Cherifa and we hope to receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant that is quite well hidden”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had our first taste of Moroccan cuisine at this restaurant on a recent trip. The building is very beautiful although it has an open courtyard that might not be so great if it was raining, although we didn't see any during our trip in November. The service was fairly slow, but not that different from a lot of other places. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The overall experience was much more relaxing than some other restaurants closer to djemaa el-fna. This restaurant is quite close to Riad Magellan and there are some signs as you get closer to it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir visité Dar Cherifa et essayé notre restaurant. Dar Cherifa est également un café littéraire et galerie. C'est une maison ancienne qui date du 16ème siècle et qui a été restaurée en 2000 par la société Marrakech Riads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Cherifa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Cherifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing