We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“away from the crowd”
Review of Dar Cherifa

Dar Cherifa
Ranked #13 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the very heart of the souks, this building is a hidden secret, only found by the discerning and curious visitor, where history is recorded in the delicate tracery of the stucco and skilfully carved wood. In the year 2000 , Marrakech Riads, a leading player in the restoration of the riads of Marrakech, brought Dar Cherifa back to life, and simultaneously unveiled a hidden treasure of the medina, the refined decor of this building recalling that of the Medersa Ben Youssef, jewel of the Saadian era (16th century) and one of the finest monuments of Marrakech. Renovated with the greatest care and attention to detail, with the participation of renowned craftsmen so as to maintain its authenticity and splendour, Dar Cherifa welcomes all visitors eager to meet new and interesting people. It is a real cultural venue, hosting regular exhibitions, workshops, concerts and events. This inimitable space draws one into a meditative state of mind and heart. Everyone fortunate enough to visit this building says that they breathe an atmosphere of peace and serenity the minute they cross the threshold. The mention of Moroccan culture immediately implies Moroccan cuisine, and what more beguiling setting than this pure and refined interior for sampling a cuisine abounding in cultural exchange; a subtle blend of sweet and sour, the inheritance of Berber, Jewish and Arab-Andalucian influences. Enjoy!
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“away from the crowd”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

recommended in several guides and worth seeking out. Was not sure it was open at lunchtime in fact but door opened and we went in. Delightful place for lunch - only decision was whether to eat on the ground floor or on the terrace.

Food was very good and service unrushed which suited us after a busy morning in the souks.

Would readily have gone back for a meal in the evening and will do so when we go back to Marrakech.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks a lot for your visit to Dar Cherifa and we hope to receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    288
    68
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant that is quite well hidden”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had our first taste of Moroccan cuisine at this restaurant on a recent trip. The building is very beautiful although it has an open courtyard that might not be so great if it was raining, although we didn't see any during our trip in November. The service was fairly slow, but not that different from a lot of other places. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The overall experience was much more relaxing than some other restaurants closer to djemaa el-fna. This restaurant is quite close to Riad Magellan and there are some signs as you get closer to it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir visité Dar Cherifa et essayé notre restaurant. Dar Cherifa est également un café littéraire et galerie. C'est une maison ancienne qui date du 16ème siècle et qui a été restaurée en 2000 par la société Marrakech Riads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the midst of the Souk”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went here on recommendation and it is without doubt a magnificent building. We had a light lunch which was without doubt very good but the service is very slow. We had been recommended to visit the terrace which sadly was not open as a result of rain earlier that day but what we did see was impressive and we would certainly try an re-visit on another trip

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks a lot for your visit to Dar Cherifa and for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cafe/art gallery/riad”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

One of the oldest riads in Marrakech - very beautiful building with a lovely roof terrace. Downstairs, as well as being a cafe, it is also an art gallery, information centre. Really cool place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MazdaGirlBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comment about Dar Cherifa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the puddley”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

There's no getting away for the fact that this is a lovely building that absolutely blocks out all sound for the surrounding medina. It is tranquility personified in a place, and for those wearied by the endless bustle, crazy motorcyclists and hard-selling vendors, it's a heaven sent stop.

It does come with caveats, however.

The Good : it does a great line in snack foods, both savoury and sweet, and none of them are particularly expensive. They are tasty too, which is why a couple of us "accidentally" found ourselves with five separate dessert after talking through the list and this being translated into an order. No one complained, oddly! Oh, and I'll just say "order the orange cake".

The Bad : we've eaten there twice and while the service was slow but tolerable the first time, the waiting staff were actively avoidant on the second trip. After twenty minutes where we saw not a single person, I had to go and fetch my bill for the door to the kitchens. A little irritating.

The Puddley : watch out for the petal-strewn marble basin at the centre of the courtyard. A less observant person might not realise it was filled with water and end up walking through it, getting my, I meant THEIR, feet wet as a result. Not that I'd do that of course.

It's a nice spot, but it needs to have a level of service that is raised a couple of notches before it can be unreservedly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks you for you visit to Dar Cherifa and for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Cherifa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Cherifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing