We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place for a drink on the terrace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Cherifa

Dar Cherifa
Ranked #5 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in the very heart of the souks, this building is a hidden secret, only found by the discerning and curious visitor, where history is recorded in the delicate tracery of the stucco and skilfully carved wood. In the year 2000 , Marrakech Riads, a leading player in the restoration of the riads of Marrakech, brought Dar Cherifa back to life, and simultaneously unveiled a hidden treasure of the medina, the refined decor of this building recalling that of the Medersa Ben Youssef, jewel of the Saadian era (16th century) and one of the finest monuments of Marrakech. Renovated with the greatest care and attention to detail, with the participation of renowned craftsmen so as to maintain its authenticity and splendour, Dar Cherifa welcomes all visitors eager to meet new and interesting people. It is a real cultural venue, hosting regular exhibitions, workshops, concerts and events. This inimitable space draws one into a meditative state of mind and heart. Everyone fortunate enough to visit this building says that they breathe an atmosphere of peace and serenity the minute they cross the threshold. The mention of Moroccan culture immediately implies Moroccan cuisine, and what more beguiling setting than this pure and refined interior for sampling a cuisine abounding in cultural exchange; a subtle blend of sweet and sour, the inheritance of Berber, Jewish and Arab-Andalucian influences. Enjoy!
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink on the terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We needed to sit down for awhile! We arrived at the terrace just in time for the call to prayer next door. We had some tea, enjoyed the view, and watched the medina turn to dusk. This was kind of hard to find in the darkening alleys. After tea, we enjoyed checking out the Dar downstairs. This is a beautiful place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    209
    44
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you need directions to this place then lonely planets guide to Marrakech got us down the many avenues in good time.

When we got there the door was locked but a little girl showed us a buzzer near the door on the right. We were welcomed into this beautiful Riad with simple white sofas with sandy coloured walls and pillars with HUGE ceilings. It was very quiet and peaceful as we were the only people there. We got a mint tea and we could hear the calling for prayer. The atmosphere was perfect. You must visit this place if you are confident to go and find it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ajrb202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Restful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This restored riad offers a quiet spot away from the hustle and bustle so don't be put off by the route to get to it! It's at the end of an alleyway. The art on show was nothing compared to the architecture, tiles and woodwork of the riad itself. We enjoyed saffron tea on the terrace. The food and service were average; the surroundings were excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneoBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad experience in Dar Cherifa Cafe”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Few hours have passed since we had a very bad experience in the Dar Cherifa Cafe. We went there today 7/06/2012 at about 19:00 (I give this details so as the manager will find who was the man looking after the place that time). We ordered one big bottle of water, one tea and one orange juice. The man who served us asked for 100 MAD. We paid. Few minutes later we realized the extremely big amount we paid. I asked the waiter for bill details (menu, receipt) and to speak with his boss. No response. He started to speak in French and Arabic which are totally misunderstanding to me. We decided not to have an argument with him since we were the only clients of the place. Finally, when we reached the exit door we realized that the latch was looked from inside…
This is our bad story with that place. I hope that the manager will take care and protect his business.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Christos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

a peacefull retreat from the melee ..try the almond milk

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank roseratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Cherifa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Cherifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing