We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Riad Berbere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Riad Berbere
Ranked #84 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Angmering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed in a few riads but this one has something others don't.... Ingrid!!!

The riad is clean and well run, food is delicious and the atmosphere is very friendly.

I went with a girlfriend for a few days off and had the best time! Ingrid made the differnece with loads of local knowledge. When we arrived we had a check list of things we wanted to do and with Ingrid's help we achieved all of the things on our list.

We intend to return en mass as lots of my friends would love this experience!!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had the terrace room which is beautiful, we were moved for our last night to the balcony room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inexcusiblebehaviour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
97
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Ingrid the manager and her valuable team were amazing hosts. Nothing was too much for any of them. . The riad was fantastically located, with beautiful birds as company, the riad simple but elegantly decorated. The suites were spacious and inviting. Breakfast was vast and nicely served either on the terraces of your choice. Riad Berbere cook was very good and the dinner was in abduancd and worth the €17.
Overall the standard was very good, ill definitely visit again
Put a sign on the door

The suite bedroom above the kitchen can be noisy with the staff working etc. if you take the transfers, the price does include tipping the porter that brings you to the riad. This is not mentioned.
No credit cards or debit cards cannot be taken in the riad. This would be beneficial as I did not feel comfortable carrying large amounts of cash, if you booked via booking.com
If you are reliable on wifi, wifi works better on the ground level, however in the rooms wifi is terrible with intermittent coverage.

Room Tip: Away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heydread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The riad has a great location, a lovely atmosphere, is comfortable and clean and is beautifully decorated and definitely has the potential to be great...where it could improve is in the service...breakfast was mediocre compared to others we had in Morocco...soaps, shampoos, etc were not replenished even though we were running out...towels were not replaced for a few days....also every sound in the courtyard could be heard in the rooms...overall however we were satisfied...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various Bases, Antarctica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Preface: We like staying at different places and experiencing different accommodations, so don’t let the fact that we stay only one night in some awesome Riads cloud the review.

Safety: Coming from an Emergency Medical Services backgound, it is my impression that most Riads (by definiton) are fire traps. There is usually only one staircase and one way in/out, so keep this in mind when you bed down for the night! Consider and explore rooftop escape and teach your kids about it. Arrange for a meeting place such as a closeby Mosque...easy to find due to the tower.

Speaking of Mosques: I have no tolerance for complaints that seem to surface in too many Riad-reviews about „getting woken up by the call to prayer; it was very loud; we couldn’t sleep...“ You’re a guest in an Islamic country – if you don’t like that, why did you go there??

Riad Berbere

Came here from Dar El Qadi – the other Riad owned by the same proprietors. 2 adults + 2 sub-teens; stayed in the upstairs „Grande Suite“ above the kitchen area, which was perfect for that purpose. Room looks just like the pictures, is nice and large, and separable from the „kid-sleep-area“ by doors. We were immediately welcomed by Ingrid, the very outgoing and friendly manager. Received a tour of the place including rooftop terrace. This one was slightly lower than in the case of Mur Akush or Dar El Qadi and so did not afford the vast panoramic views of those, but was nevertheless comfortable and refreshing and, due to its partial recess, very quiet.

Very bright, open courtyard with a little pool. Inviting to put your feet in – we didn’t see anyone doing that so we assumed it may just be decorative. Adjacent to the patio a large library with seating areas and wealth of travel books in most European languages.

Ingrid guided us on our first walk from there to the souks and assured that we could find our way back by pointing out the various „waypoints“ (barber shop, power pole, purple sign, market etc etc). She also explained the layout of the souks and gave us more navigational assistance, which went a long way to alleviate my family’s feeling of being overwhelmed by the whole place. Everyone seemed to enjoy their touring much more after that.

Upon a dining recommendation by Ingrid as well as other, well-traveled German guests, we took a night walk through the Souks to Jemaa El Fna and beyond for dinner. No problems finding the way home.

For the kids, the highlight were the collection of three very clean and friendly adopted cats roaming the premises. Ingrid assured me that the cats could easily be sequestered should this be necessary for concerned or allergic guests. There are also a couple of turtles guarding the pond.

For any type of traveler, I have only the best to say about this establishment and would without hesitation recommend it!

Room Tip: As seems common, higher-level rooms afford more privacy. If you have family/kids, definitely book th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeopardSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After "roughing it" in the desert and high Atlas, Le Riad Berbere was our splurge in Marrakech and we very much enjoyed it. Breakfast on the terrace, relaxing in the courtyard, the cats and turtle, the smell of roses everywhere. We just wish they had a sign on their door because, after actually managing to find their street in the medina, we walked right by the unmarked door and finally had to pay a child to walk us 10 feet and tell us we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A great oasis among the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It was clean, relaxing, the staff were very nice and accomodating, and it was reasonably priced. The manager was affable and helpful - the food was very good.

Location was also very good - once you walk out the door you walk a short way to join the souks on the way to the big square which is the center of everything. The square is maybe 15 minutes walk but you are walking through the souks so it is an entertaining walk!

**I'd skip any trip between mid may-Aug. We visited beginning of May and it was already 100F!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The place is lovely, quite and clean. Ingrid, the manager, as well as the rest of the staff make this place worthy of 5 stars.
1) get the transportation offered, they are reliable & very kind.
2) eat here! Food is amazing!
3) get your massage on! The massage therapist is very good!
We will be staying here again.
10-15 minutes walk to the square & souk. If you get lost, call Ingrid or ask the locals to help (they'll want a few ? for their time, they'll walk you there). Beds are comfy, ammenities i'd expect and the staff is flexible. Love, love, love.

Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelguru78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#18 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riad Berbere
Hotel Riad Berbere
#479 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#34 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Ennafoura
Riad Ennafoura
#391 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Akal
Dar Akal
#21 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Tchaikana
Dar Tchaikana
#108 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Berbere

Property: Le Riad Berbere
Address: 23, derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nasser | quartier Kaat Ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Riad Berbere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful riad in the old medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Riad Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing