We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Le Riad Berbere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Riad Berbere
Ranked #85 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Ingrid the manager and her valuable team were amazing hosts. Nothing was too much for any of them. . The riad was fantastically located, with beautiful birds as company, the riad simple but elegantly decorated. The suites were spacious and inviting. Breakfast was vast and nicely served either on the terraces of your choice. Riad Berbere cook was very good and the dinner was in abduancd and worth the €17.
Overall the standard was very good, ill definitely visit again
Put a sign on the door

The suite bedroom above the kitchen can be noisy with the staff working etc. if you take the transfers, the price does include tipping the porter that brings you to the riad. This is not mentioned.
No credit cards or debit cards cannot be taken in the riad. This would be beneficial as I did not feel comfortable carrying large amounts of cash, if you booked via booking.com
If you are reliable on wifi, wifi works better on the ground level, however in the rooms wifi is terrible with intermittent coverage.

Room Tip: Away from the kitchen
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heydread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Le Riad Berbere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 255 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The riad has a great location, a lovely atmosphere, is comfortable and clean and is beautifully decorated and definitely has the potential to be great...where it could improve is in the service...breakfast was mediocre compared to others we had in Morocco...soaps, shampoos, etc were not replenished even though we were running out...towels were not replaced for a few days....also every sound in the courtyard could be heard in the rooms...overall however we were satisfied...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Preface: We like staying at different places and experiencing different accommodations, so don’t let the fact that we stay only one night in some awesome Riads cloud the review.

Safety: Coming from an Emergency Medical Services backgound, it is my impression that most Riads (by definiton) are fire traps. There is usually only one staircase and one way in/out, so keep this in mind when you bed down for the night! Consider and explore rooftop escape and teach your kids about it. Arrange for a meeting place such as a closeby Mosque...easy to find due to the tower.

Speaking of Mosques: I have no tolerance for complaints that seem to surface in too many Riad-reviews about „getting woken up by the call to prayer; it was very loud; we couldn’t sleep...“ You’re a guest in an Islamic country – if you don’t like that, why did you go there??

Riad Berbere

Came here from Dar El Qadi – the other Riad owned by the same proprietors. 2 adults + 2 sub-teens; stayed in the upstairs „Grande Suite“ above the kitchen area, which was perfect for that purpose. Room looks just like the pictures, is nice and large, and separable from the „kid-sleep-area“ by doors. We were immediately welcomed by Ingrid, the very outgoing and friendly manager. Received a tour of the place including rooftop terrace. This one was slightly lower than in the case of Mur Akush or Dar El Qadi and so did not afford the vast panoramic views of those, but was nevertheless comfortable and refreshing and, due to its partial recess, very quiet.

Very bright, open courtyard with a little pool. Inviting to put your feet in – we didn’t see anyone doing that so we assumed it may just be decorative. Adjacent to the patio a large library with seating areas and wealth of travel books in most European languages.

Ingrid guided us on our first walk from there to the souks and assured that we could find our way back by pointing out the various „waypoints“ (barber shop, power pole, purple sign, market etc etc). She also explained the layout of the souks and gave us more navigational assistance, which went a long way to alleviate my family’s feeling of being overwhelmed by the whole place. Everyone seemed to enjoy their touring much more after that.

Upon a dining recommendation by Ingrid as well as other, well-traveled German guests, we took a night walk through the Souks to Jemaa El Fna and beyond for dinner. No problems finding the way home.

For the kids, the highlight were the collection of three very clean and friendly adopted cats roaming the premises. Ingrid assured me that the cats could easily be sequestered should this be necessary for concerned or allergic guests. There are also a couple of turtles guarding the pond.

For any type of traveler, I have only the best to say about this establishment and would without hesitation recommend it!

Room Tip: As seems common, higher-level rooms afford more privacy. If you have family/kids, definitely book th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeopardSeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

After "roughing it" in the desert and high Atlas, Le Riad Berbere was our splurge in Marrakech and we very much enjoyed it. Breakfast on the terrace, relaxing in the courtyard, the cats and turtle, the smell of roses everywhere. We just wish they had a sign on their door because, after actually managing to find their street in the medina, we walked right by the unmarked door and finally had to pay a child to walk us 10 feet and tell us we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A great oasis among the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It was clean, relaxing, the staff were very nice and accomodating, and it was reasonably priced. The manager was affable and helpful - the food was very good.

Location was also very good - once you walk out the door you walk a short way to join the souks on the way to the big square which is the center of everything. The square is maybe 15 minutes walk but you are walking through the souks so it is an entertaining walk!

**I'd skip any trip between mid may-Aug. We visited beginning of May and it was already 100F!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The place is lovely, quite and clean. Ingrid, the manager, as well as the rest of the staff make this place worthy of 5 stars.
1) get the transportation offered, they are reliable & very kind.
2) eat here! Food is amazing!
3) get your massage on! The massage therapist is very good!
We will be staying here again.
10-15 minutes walk to the square & souk. If you get lost, call Ingrid or ask the locals to help (they'll want a few ? for their time, they'll walk you there). Beds are comfy, ammenities i'd expect and the staff is flexible. Love, love, love.

1  Thank worldtravelguru78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

It was an excellent choice.
The riad was so peaceful and relaxing to end bustling days of Marrakech. The room was very clean and decoration was sophisticated and understated.
Service was top-end as well. Every staff was kind, but especially the manager, Ingrid, was very impressive. She was reliable and helpful, and tried to meet the customer's need even before they feel the need.
The breakfast at terrace was beautiful and better than most hotels. Dinner was good, too.
I will definately stay here if I visit Marrakech again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torimj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Riad Berbere
Hotel Riad Berbere
#391 of 1,160 in Marrakech
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#29 of 1,160 in Marrakech
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Tizwa
Riad Tizwa
#160 of 502 in Marrakech
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Aman
Riad Dar Aman
#312 of 1,160 in Marrakech
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#18 of 1,160 in Marrakech
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ennafoura
Riad Ennafoura
#467 of 1,160 in Marrakech
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Berbere

Address: 23, derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nasser | quartier Kaat Ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $99 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Riad Berbere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful riad in the old medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Riad Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing