We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Riad Berbere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Riad Berbere
Ranked #81 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After "roughing it" in the desert and high Atlas, Le Riad Berbere was our splurge in Marrakech and we very much enjoyed it. Breakfast on the terrace, relaxing in the courtyard, the cats and turtle, the smell of roses everywhere. We just wish they had a sign on their door because, after actually managing to find their street in the medina, we walked right by the unmarked door and finally had to pay a child to walk us 10 feet and tell us we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
99
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garmisch, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A great oasis among the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It was clean, relaxing, the staff were very nice and accomodating, and it was reasonably priced. The manager was affable and helpful - the food was very good.

Location was also very good - once you walk out the door you walk a short way to join the souks on the way to the big square which is the center of everything. The square is maybe 15 minutes walk but you are walking through the souks so it is an entertaining walk!

**I'd skip any trip between mid may-Aug. We visited beginning of May and it was already 100F!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The place is lovely, quite and clean. Ingrid, the manager, as well as the rest of the staff make this place worthy of 5 stars.
1) get the transportation offered, they are reliable & very kind.
2) eat here! Food is amazing!
3) get your massage on! The massage therapist is very good!
We will be staying here again.
10-15 minutes walk to the square & souk. If you get lost, call Ingrid or ask the locals to help (they'll want a few ? for their time, they'll walk you there). Beds are comfy, ammenities i'd expect and the staff is flexible. Love, love, love.

Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelguru78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

It was an excellent choice.
The riad was so peaceful and relaxing to end bustling days of Marrakech. The room was very clean and decoration was sophisticated and understated.
Service was top-end as well. Every staff was kind, but especially the manager, Ingrid, was very impressive. She was reliable and helpful, and tried to meet the customer's need even before they feel the need.
The breakfast at terrace was beautiful and better than most hotels. Dinner was good, too.
I will definately stay here if I visit Marrakech again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torimj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for four nights during our honeymoon and absolutely loved the Riad Berbere! It is an oasis of calm and quiet in the middle of bustling Marrakech. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, with dried flowers and baskets of lavender creating a lovely scent. There is a beautiful courtyard with banana trees, a roof terrace with great views and a lounge with comfortable seats and fireplaces. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious! Ingrid is a wonderful, warm and helpful host and was always ready to support us when we needed directions, transport, bookings or general advice on exploring Marrakech. Without her we would have been completely lost! It is essential to arrange transport to the Riad in advance as it is very well hidden in the medina (also a car cannot reach the Riad, so the luggage will at some point be transferred onto a hand-drawn trolley). The service is excellent and we also warmly recommend the food served in the evenings. It was just delicious. We would very happily stay here again and will keep very good memories of our holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but we loved the balcony room. Really romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

we four girls stayed here for three night.
The Riad is with great location, very clean, nicely decorated.
The manager Ingrid is very helpfule and informative. She showed us the way to the Squareand walked us back the Riad!
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waikii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived in Marrakech after 37 hours of travel from Australia, tired, jet-lagged and hungry. We had arranged for a pick-up at the airport and it was a good move. We would never have found the place under our own steam. We were greeted by the manager, Ingrid who was charming and helpful and is the mainstay of this riad.

The riad is built around a courtyard filled with banana, olive and orange plants. The whole place was a feast for sore eyes. We had anticipated our hunger on arrival and had agreed with Ingrid's suggestion that we eat at the riad. The meal, cooked by one of the riad staff was excellent. We ate at the riad on 2 of our 4 nights in Marrakech, and the meals there were by far the best we experienced in Marrakech.

The room we had booked was the basic level room and it looked great. High ceilings, very clean and it opened onto the courtyard. However in practical terms there were a few issues. It was a long room and quite narrow. The huge bed took up one end completely and to get into it we had to climb over the bed and tuck ourselves in. There was no space to walk around the bed at all. There was limited cupboard/hanging space and there were no chairs. There was a low upholstered bench to sit on but this wasn't comfortable for us at all. There were ordinary chairs and a table on the patio outside the room , but the weather when we were there was just a bit nippy for outdoor relaxation. Given the architecture of riads one couldn't complain too much.

After two nights were we offered a free upgrade to a couple of rooms on higher floors. We didn't take the offer up because the bathroom was a set of stairs away from the sleeping area. However the gesture was appreciated.

Breakfasts varied each morning, and some mornings were definitely better than others. Coffee, tea, various types of bread, spreads, fruit and eggs (on request) were more than adequate. When the weather was warm it was delivered to the rooftop terrace and this was very pleasant.When it was cool or wet we ate breakfast in the lounge/dining room - a room in which the ceiling had been beautifully restored. Unfortunately, the seats provided in this room were once again very low, and quite uncomfortable. On the 2 nights we ate there a table was brought down from the rooftop terrace for us, and other guests looked on with envy. A rethink of the seating in that area might be a good move.

The riad provided a free afternoon tea on most afternoons and Ingrid assisted us whenever we needed help, going so far as to walk with us into the souks on our first morning there to make sure we could find our way back. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can deal with 15 stairs from bed to bath, the upstairs rooms are definitely more attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#112 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#31 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Riad Berbere
Hotel Riad Berbere
#490 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#30 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#6 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#9 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Berbere

Property: Le Riad Berbere
Address: 23, derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nasser | quartier Kaat Ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Riad Berbere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful riad in the old medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Riad Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing