We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing hideaway in Marrakech”
Review of Le Riad Berbere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Riad Berbere
Ranked #88 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for four nights during our honeymoon and absolutely loved the Riad Berbere! It is an oasis of calm and quiet in the middle of bustling Marrakech. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, with dried flowers and baskets of lavender creating a lovely scent. There is a beautiful courtyard with banana trees, a roof terrace with great views and a lounge with comfortable seats and fireplaces. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious! Ingrid is a wonderful, warm and helpful host and was always ready to support us when we needed directions, transport, bookings or general advice on exploring Marrakech. Without her we would have been completely lost! It is essential to arrange transport to the Riad in advance as it is very well hidden in the medina (also a car cannot reach the Riad, so the luggage will at some point be transferred onto a hand-drawn trolley). The service is excellent and we also warmly recommend the food served in the evenings. It was just delicious. We would very happily stay here again and will keep very good memories of our holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but we loved the balcony room. Really romantic!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Le Riad Berbere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 256 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

we four girls stayed here for three night.
The Riad is with great location, very clean, nicely decorated.
The manager Ingrid is very helpfule and informative. She showed us the way to the Squareand walked us back the Riad!
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waikii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived in Marrakech after 37 hours of travel from Australia, tired, jet-lagged and hungry. We had arranged for a pick-up at the airport and it was a good move. We would never have found the place under our own steam. We were greeted by the manager, Ingrid who was charming and helpful and is the mainstay of this riad.

The riad is built around a courtyard filled with banana, olive and orange plants. The whole place was a feast for sore eyes. We had anticipated our hunger on arrival and had agreed with Ingrid's suggestion that we eat at the riad. The meal, cooked by one of the riad staff was excellent. We ate at the riad on 2 of our 4 nights in Marrakech, and the meals there were by far the best we experienced in Marrakech.

The room we had booked was the basic level room and it looked great. High ceilings, very clean and it opened onto the courtyard. However in practical terms there were a few issues. It was a long room and quite narrow. The huge bed took up one end completely and to get into it we had to climb over the bed and tuck ourselves in. There was no space to walk around the bed at all. There was limited cupboard/hanging space and there were no chairs. There was a low upholstered bench to sit on but this wasn't comfortable for us at all. There were ordinary chairs and a table on the patio outside the room , but the weather when we were there was just a bit nippy for outdoor relaxation. Given the architecture of riads one couldn't complain too much.

After two nights were we offered a free upgrade to a couple of rooms on higher floors. We didn't take the offer up because the bathroom was a set of stairs away from the sleeping area. However the gesture was appreciated.

Breakfasts varied each morning, and some mornings were definitely better than others. Coffee, tea, various types of bread, spreads, fruit and eggs (on request) were more than adequate. When the weather was warm it was delivered to the rooftop terrace and this was very pleasant.When it was cool or wet we ate breakfast in the lounge/dining room - a room in which the ceiling had been beautifully restored. Unfortunately, the seats provided in this room were once again very low, and quite uncomfortable. On the 2 nights we ate there a table was brought down from the rooftop terrace for us, and other guests looked on with envy. A rethink of the seating in that area might be a good move.

The riad provided a free afternoon tea on most afternoons and Ingrid assisted us whenever we needed help, going so far as to walk with us into the souks on our first morning there to make sure we could find our way back. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can deal with 15 stairs from bed to bath, the upstairs rooms are definitely more attractive.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Incredibly quiet and spotlessly clean in the middle of the medina. Very Nice rooms and nice common areas. Great breakfast. The manager has been very supportive (and you need it to find your route and park in the medina).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed four nights with my boyfriend at the fabulous Riad Berbere and can truly recommend this gem. It took me quite a while to browse through all the different Riads in Marrakech online until I made my choice and I was highly satisfied with my choice in the end.
Ingrid, the manager, is amazing. She organized an airport transfer that took us to the Riad and back although we had a very early flight. She gave us a very warm welcome with tea in the beautiful patio. After we had a look at our wonderful suite she guided us all the way to the nightmarket which was super helpful, especially when you are in Marrakech for the first time.
The Riad itself is an oasis of peace and is the perfect place to relax after a busy day on the streets. I would recommend to book one of the upstairs rooms (terrace, balcony or suite). The suite has a small private patio which is connected with the office and kitchen which might be noisy for people who wake up easily. We did not mind at all. The only thing that was missing was a hair dryer which was no problem because the moroccan sun did the job.
Breakfast on the terrace feels like eating in heaven and the breakfast itself varied every day. It was delicious and served by the very friendly ladies that do the house keeping. It's served from 8:30 the whole day which is perfect for people who like to sleep longer.
We once had dinner at the Riad which was delicious as well.
The Riad is located a little north of the touristy area and we felt very save there.
If I ever come back to Marrakech I will stay at Riad Berbere again - it's simply cosy, clean, quiet and beautiful.

Room Tip: The terrace room seems to be the best choice if you want a bright room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corrinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place is really great. I had a garden-level room, which was very clean and comfortable, while keeping with the architectural style and decor of these old Riads. The main living area is fantastic. Very well appointed and cozy, with a roaring fire that was a pleasure to sit by. The breakfast is ok by European standards, but if you're like me and like your eggs in the morning, you'll go hungry. They do serve different types of breads and crepes, yogurt, fruit - and they're all very good.

Marrakesh is simply insane - a mix of people and things, colors and scents, motorcycles, touts, peddlers, animals, filth - and this was the perfect spot to explore it. I could only take so much of the Medina at a time, so it was great to have this place to go back and retreat throughout the day. In fact, in all honesty, my experience in Marrakesh would have been pretty bad if I had not had this place to escape when I needed to be left alone (if you've been to any of the Medinas in Morocco, you know what I mean...).

I was lucky to have been among great European guests who made my stay a true pleasure. The staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtcnyc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in four Riads in Marrakesh and this was definitely our favorite.

Firstly the team are amazing and Ingrid the Riad Manager is highly customer focused. She met us and guided us into the Riad, walked us to a restaurant for dinner and organized for someone to guide us through the maze on our return. On the day we left my husband's back went out and Ingrid offered to take me shopping as I only had a few hours. I decided to stay on site and have a wonderful, relaxing massage.

The Riad is chic and I loved the design done by the architect owner who also designed 100s of Riads in the area. We had an upstairs room and the bed was super comfortable, the space was big and full of light (something that is uncommon in most Riads, it was often quite dark so we had to take extra care when we were leaving to make sure we had everything). Off to the side there was a sitting room and outdoor area. The main communal seating area is red and white with beautiful cedar painted ceilings often only found in the homes of royalty.

We also enjoyed that the courtyard was open as all other Riads had roofs. And I especially loved Lulu, a sweet rescue cat who will sit on your lap if you love animals or stay well out of your way if you don't.

Breakfast was delicious and once again the service impeccable. I'd wished we'd organized dinner in advance as I imagine it would have been superb too!

You can obtain wireless Internet access if you sit in the courtyard and it's a great speed.

Thanks to the entire team for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask Ingrid to book one of the top restaurants for you.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Riad Berbere
Hotel Riad Berbere
#390 of 1,160 in Marrakech
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#29 of 1,160 in Marrakech
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Tizwa
Riad Tizwa
#164 of 502 in Marrakech
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Aman
Riad Dar Aman
#309 of 1,160 in Marrakech
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#18 of 1,160 in Marrakech
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ennafoura
Riad Ennafoura
#464 of 1,160 in Marrakech
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Berbere

Address: 23, derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nasser | quartier Kaat Ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $99 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Riad Berbere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful riad in the old medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Riad Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing