We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly, secluded, idyllic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Suliman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Suliman
Ranked #44 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, secluded, idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Suliman for a week in June. We loved how the Riad was in the Jewish quarter, with some quieter and more original riads than north of the main square. The Riad itself was beautiful - secluded, well-maintained and hugely relaxing. The food was also fantastic. Dagmara, Mohammed and the team were always willing to help, give advice and say hello. We had two wonderful meals there - with a free bottle of wine, which was included in our package. We also had a complimentary hammam, which was excellent - a great experience to add to our trip! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Riad Suliman to friends and family and would definitely stay there again on a return trip to Marrakech!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ATW1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    67
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
172
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Me and my partner stayed at Riad Suliman for 7 nights as part of a secret escapes package. We were so happy with the riad and everything it had to offer, the room was really beautiful and had a very comfy bed (also blocked out bright sunlight and the sound of the call to prayer which although lovely to hear may have been slightly annoying at 4:45am!), the courtyard and roof terrace were equally lovely. Breakfast was varied on each morning of our stay which is nice and the staff very friendly and polite. We enjoyed dinner at the riad on our first night, it was 25 euros each for soup, olives, homemade bread, a lamb tagine and dessert, the food was really good, the wine at the riad is also very nice and a lot better priced than at local bars and restaurants. Having an honesty bar at the riad was a brilliant addition to their services as well, many other travellers we met didn't have the luxury of a bar at all. Dagmara was incredibly helpful suggesting places to visit and where to go for great food (Kasbah cafe around the corner which Dagmara recommended was excellent). We really liked the location of the riad, it's very close to the square and souks but also nicely out of the way of the main buzz of the centre. Me and my partner took advantage of the hammam and massage facilities which were really good and also booked a trip to the atlas mountains through the riad which was a great day. We couldn't of wanted anything more from our stay, it was excellent. There were also very nice little touches like candles and rose petals which makes it feel like a honeymoon. Brilliant riad, we would definitely recommend and return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Together with my husband and 7 years old son we spent one night there. You can feel the real atmosphere of Morocco and the Arab Culture. The rooms, bathrooms are decorated in the traditional way. The roof terrace is a wonderful place to relax. I could spend hours there
Suliman staff are very dedicated to the job and very polite . You can really feel the Moroccan hospitality and a very good customer care . Dinner at the riad was the most tasty food we had in Morocco. Dagmara is very helpful and if you need help, have questions about the habits, country, you can ask her directly. She is also very knowledgeable about the country and history. She recommended us other interesting places in Morocco to visit.
If I will be the next time in Marrakesh, I'm sure I'll stay in Suliman.
Dagmara and the team
keep up the warm regards!, Zaneta, Marcin,Jakub

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanettta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, a great sunroof with excellent views all around, terrific breakfasts, cool and air conditioned rooms. Far enough from the main square to avoid too much hustle and bustle but close enough for an easy walk, post office and local market round the corner. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We decided to visit Morocco for our first year wedding anniversary, my Husband found this Raid which was very cosy in the run down Jewish area.

The Raid was very charming, nothing was too much for you to ask, everyone was really helpful and kind hearted. We got so much help around the area.

Our anniversary night was really special had a roof top meal and it was so lovely..

Only thing I will critic was the breakfast there wasn’t much of it, it seems like we were given the barest minimum but I guess that’s probably how people ate in Morocco.

The owner organised all out trips and taxis which was really helpful, we were charged for some beers and we brought it to their attention and it was removed off the bill.

I am not a fan of cats but the Raid was very accommodating with removing Suleiman every time I was around which was really helpful and kind.

Thank you so much to the team it was a very lovely time in your Raid.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YummyJummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

On my last visit to Marakesh I stayed all inclusive in a hotel which was like many I have stayed in before. However the same can not be said of Riad Suliman, I had read reviews of the Riad on tripadvisor before booking but it still surpassed my expectations! The bedrooms are gorgeous, and ours had the added luxury of a large stone sunken bath. The layout and décor is such that you feel as though you are staying in a very exotic location. The roof terrace not only provides a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of Jaamelfna square but also provides brilliant evening entertainment if you look over the wall and watch the antics of the pedestrians and various vehicles on the road below!! The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive at all times and Dagmara will arrange excursions with a driver which is well worth it as you get the personal touch and the drivers are very knowledgeable about local history and customs etc. Suliman the resident cat adds a very homely feel to the whole experience. An excellent place to stay to experience the real Morocco.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The rooms are cosy and the service is excellent! A very good breakfast is served at any time you want. This establishment is superior to other Marrakech-based Riads I stayed in.
The service and the female owner are very friendly and relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.6 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#72 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#59 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#43 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Suliman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Suliman

Property: Riad Suliman
Address: 40 - 41, rue El Bahia | Quartier Mellah-Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Suliman 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little Riad in the heart of Marrakech with hammam facilities and delicious al fresco diningRiad Suliman is a lovely little homely riad in the heart of Marrakech's old Medina. With just eight bedrooms ranged around an opulently decorated courtyard, the Riad Suliman puts a firm emphasis on hospitable and personalised service. Guests have the use of an attractive little swimming pool in the middle of the courtyard and a fantastic roof terrace where it's possible to recline on sunbeds and enjoy stunning views of the spires of the old town and the Atlas Mountains beyond. Guests at Riad Suliman have the option of getting massage and hammam treatments at the hotel, relaxing in the beautiful Berber style lounges and enjoying some fantastic Moroccan home cooking on the roof terrace. They also benefit from being just a five minute walk from some of the city's top attractions including the Saadian tombs, the Bahia Palace and the magnificent Jemaa el Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Suliman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Suliman Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing