We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“All Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Argan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Argan
Ranked #11 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Riad Argan deserves the superlatives heaped upon it by others: great location, safe, clean, and a warm, friendly and helpful staff. My wife and I loved everything about it. You will not likely regret Francoise's advice on things to see and do –all were worthwhile and all within a reasonable walk even for this elderly guy. Refreshments on the rooftop were welcome and oh yes, and do consider dinner at the Argan.
What made our stay at the Argan all the more worthwhile was the not entirely anticipated adventure of staying in the medina. One surprise, for example, was that what appears on a map as a road leading from the Argan to Jemaa El-Fna is in reality a cobblestone walkway, varying from perhaps 8 to 12 feet wide. Pedestrian traffic mixes with bicycles and motorbikes --which sometimes move with lightning speed. With all sorts of things for sale spilling out of the innumerable shops along the way, the walkway may narrow to no more than 5-6 feet. Pedestrians sort of watch out for the wheeled vehicles and drivers sort of watch out for pedestrians; same thing for the souks and the Fna. If there are rules for pedestrian and all other traffic, they seem to be at best informal. It’s crazy, but somehow it works. Go, enjoy the Argan where Francois will get you oriented to the medina, and you’ll have an experience you won’t forget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perryjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
94
322
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Second Xmas at Riad Argan for us....and we have promised not to wait a whole other year before returning!
If you are thinking about visiting Marrakech, this is the place to stay...steps away from the best lunch cafe, and minutes from the best roof top bar and the best Italian Moroccan restaurant of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyinglizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

In Marrakesh on business and decided to skip the typical business hub hotels. Wanted to experience the atmosphere of this bustling city. Great decision. From the time we arrived to the moment we left Francoise and Bernard made us feel as if we were the only guests they were concerned about and did everything to make our stay a wonderful experience. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My friend and l stayed four nights at the Riad Argan. From the moment we were met by Francoise who was so helpful it made us feel completely at ease. We didn't realise how much we would enjoy our stay. Salah and Kadesha particularly were brilliant as were all the staff. Kadesha took us to a market to buy food for a meal that we would help to prepare and she showed us how make a beautiful meal. The rooms were calming, clean and tidy. Breakfast was good quality and generous continental style. Francoise helped us with our tour need and Yusef the driver was very helpful in our trip into the Atlas Mountains. The whole stay was made much greater by the staff being such good fun.
A stunning and lovely time - a giggle per minute all round.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My daughters arranged this surprise trip to Marrakesh as a birthday gift and we had a wonderfull time. Riad Argan was just perfect, they could not have been more helpful and provided a wonderful oasis of calm from the madness that is Marrakesh. The riad is located right in the heart of the Medina and was the perfect location for exploring the souks and other places of interest.
Our hosts at Riad Argan arranged for us to be collected from the airport and also provided an excellent evening meal on our first night. The staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive and gave us helpful advice about how to navigate the labyrinth of alleys and narrow streets of the Medina. We had a crash course in local customs and etiquette (including bartering) which was invaluable.
My highlight of the trip was visiting the Hammam, arranged at a very good rate by Francois. After a busy day exploring the city, this was the perfect way to chill out, especially as the Hammam was almost next-door to the Riad!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaDunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Marrakesh is nuts. That's why we love it. But for some it can be too much. With Riad Argan we had a calm oasis, away from the wonderful madness of the souqs and the Djema El-Fna.
Instantly, upon stepping inside, you are greeted with genuine smiles and a willingness to help make your stay the best it can be.
Service above and beyond the call of duty, wherever needed.
Francoise, the charming owner, organised a cooking course with a third party for us at a drop's notice, leaving us with time to stroll the medina streets and soak up the sights.
Half way through our Marrakesh stay we disappeared to the desert for a few days. Unfortunately Riad Argan was fully booked for our return but Francoise arranged for our luggage to be delivered to our new Riad, and it was there in our room floor upon returning from the Sahara.
The little extra bits of service are endless. So helpful, but certainly not intrusive.
Francoise, thank you SO MUCH!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent 7 hugely enjoyable days at Riad Argan. The Riad has been built with remarkable style and panache. The reception area wth it's pool and seating area in Berber style. One is really transported into the world of the Marrakechi Medina. The rooms comfortable with large beds; comfortable seating area. Beautiful rooftop area for dining or simply reading and sunbathing with views to the Atlas Mountains. .
The best part however is the personal welcoming style of owner-operators Bernard and Francoise Bigaud and their staff of 3 charming Marrakechi young ladies for whom no request appears impossible. Guests are met at the airport. Tours arranged. Sight seeing or shopping advice given and problems solved. A generous breakfast is included. Evening meals by arrangement.

Room Tip: We stayed in Perle -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnytraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#1 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Argan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Argan

Property: Riad Argan
Address: 33, derb Zenka Dika | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Argan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Argan is situated in the heart of Marrakech one of Morocco's most important cultural centers, walking distance to the famous place Jemaa El Fna. Accommodation: Ground floor: 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms, dinning area, living area and dipping pool. Second floor: 3 bedrooms with 3 bathrooms Third floor: a beautiful spacious roof terrace which one can enjoy the evening breeze; Our cooker can prepare Moroccan dishes at your request. It's decoration and spirit will make you feel in harmony and a profound feeling of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Argan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Argan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing