We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Argan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Argan
Ranked #4 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This Riad is pure luxury and we cannot speak highly enough of our hosts, Francoise and Bernard, along with their excellent staff. We had some friends arrive unexpectedly to share dinner with us at the Riad and Francoise was amazingly understanding and welcoming. Dinner was quickly revised, with some extra shopping, to cater for the unplanned guests and nothing was too much trouble. The meal was our best in Morocco. We had been feeling a bit overwhelmed by our arrival in Marrakech but Francoise and Bernard were incredibly helpful in making sense of the chaos around us and we left with some great memories. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: They all look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swans11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
315
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

A fantastic place to stay, if you are going to Marrakesh then you will have a wonderful stay at the Riad Argan. The service was exceptional. We will be recommending. It really is as good as these reviews and the pictures on the website. If you have the opportunity, eat at the Riad, its amazing.

Room Tip: The ground floor room near to the front door (Perl) was a little noisey but we are light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Riad Argan on a long weekend trip to Marrakech in early April, 2012, and I can easily say it was the best place I've ever stayed at.

The wonderful hosts Bernard and Francoise, along with staff member Sala, were incredibly friendly and helpful, arranging our airport transfers and also helping us to book tours and giving us tips of haggling in the souks. When you arrive, you get to drink mint tea with the hosts while they explain the maps and attractions of Marrakech. The other staff members (the girls) made our room look immaculate each day that we went out.

And the rooms are amazing. As you can see in photos, you stay at a traditional riad with the central courtyard and water feature, and all the Moroccan decor that comes with it. Our room had a big luxury bed and fancy curtains and fittings, and the whole place (and staff) makes you feel like royalty.

The staff offered us mint tea each day (which we chose to have on the roof terrace under the stars) and Sala prepared an amazing Moroccan breakfast for us each morning, with juice, mint tea, fresh yogurt and different types of Moroccan breads, muffins and jams.

We also chose to pay the 20 Euro each for the dinner at the riad, and it was one of the best decisions we made on our holiday. After we expected it to consist of a main meal and perhaps a starter, Sala prepared an amazing FIVE course meal consisting entirely of traditional Moroccan cuisine which was better and cheaper than anything we could find in the restaurants in the city.

The location is also perfect, with the riad being nestled discretely in a side alley in the medina five minutes walk from the famous main square Djemaa el Fna.

In the end, staying at this place added so much to our Marrakech trip. Rather than just being a place that we rest our heads and get some sleep at the end of each day, it made us feel like our whole trip was part of a real Moroccan experience, and we felt pampered for every second of it.

If you're planning a trip to Marrakech and want the real Moroccan experience, you must stay at Riad Argan - and you MUST try the riad dinner one night.

Room Tip: They all looked the same, although you might want a room and the second floor as the others on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dion-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nofolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have never written a review on trip advisor but feel compelled to do so after our weekend at Riad Argan.
8 of us stayed for my 40th birthday and it was absolutely stunning.
I have travelled extensively but this is the best costumer service I have every encountered.
The Riad is a quite haven in the middle of a very vibrant and busy Marrakech.
It is spotless and the design of the rooms is beautiful .

All the staff are amazing and francoise and Bernard should be so proud of what they have achieved. Simply amazing birthday and everyone should stay at this Riad. We will be coming back x

Room Tip: Sultan in our opinion is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hidden little gem is one of the nicest and friendliest places I have ever stayed. It really is the 'diamond' in the plastic world.
The owners, Francoise and Bernard are so hospitable and the perfect hosts. They have a local family who work for them within the Riad and they take as much pride in the Riad as the owners.
Nothing was too much trouble.
What with ALL the above and the location. This is THE place to stay whilst you're in Marrakesh.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeensChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Wonderful riad! It was clean and the staff could not have been friendlier. Great bathrooms and great moroccan decor. The Riad sent a taxi for us at the airport and they were waiting when we arrived, and Francoise met us at the taxi to take us to the Riad which is in the Medina so a short walk of about 2 minutes. The Riad is in an excellent location, very near the main square, but in a quiet street that felt completely safe, but we could just leave the Riad and find ourselves in the hustle and bustle of the souks. The staff ...Habibah, Salaa, and two other members were so warm and welcoming, and helpful. When I needed a phone to receive a call, they were willing to lend me one of theirs for the night. The breakfast was delicious, and we always looked forward to getting back to the Riad to everyone's smiling faces. I asked Francoise to find us a guide for Marrakech and she found a wonderful guide that was very reasonable. Every evening we went to Jemaa el Fna since it was so near and ate at a rooftop restaurant overlooking the square . The only downside was that while the riad has wireless, my ipad could not pick it up, but francoise would let me use hers when she was there. However, we found an internet cafe no more than 30 feet from the riad door for less than a dollar an hour, so that solved the problem. Highly recommmend this Riad.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep late, a second floor room would be better as breakfast is served in the quad on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nirvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I loved this riad and the French lady who ownes it, as well as local sisters working there. It's just beautifully renovated, it's small and peaceful in a stressful city of Marrakesh. Rooms are small but artfully decorated. You really get a sense that you are in Morocco once in this Riad. I believe it only has five rooms, so it's very intimate and the service is excellent. They took us everywhere, showed us everything we asked, and even arranged transporation to and from the airport/train station. The breakfast was yummy too. The only thing I can think of as a small flaw is that some guests woke us up when they came late, since it used to be a house, and I guess the walls are thin. And there's not much privacy within your room since the bathoom doesn't have a real door but the saloon doors that only partially close the bathroom. But it is just a little thing for me in the sea of advantages. I would stay here again, definitely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#8 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Argan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Argan

Property: Riad Argan
Address: 33, derb Zenka Dika | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Argan 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Argan is situated in the heart of Marrakech one of Morocco's most important cultural centers, walking distance to the famous place Jemaa El Fna. Accommodation: Ground floor: 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms, dinning area, living area and dipping pool. Second floor: 3 bedrooms with 3 bathrooms Third floor: a beautiful spacious roof terrace which one can enjoy the evening breeze; Our cooker can prepare Moroccan dishes at your request. It's decoration and spirit will make you feel in harmony and a profound feeling of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Argan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Argan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing