We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exeptional Riad in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Itrane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Itrane
Ranked #27 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
“Exeptional Riad in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

In may we stayed a few days in Marrakesh.
We wanted to stay in the centre of the old town but with some comfort.
So we chose Riad Itrane.
Location of this Riad is perfect.
Only a few minutes from Djema El Fnaa.
Behind a sober wall lies a luxurious Riad with very comfortable rooms (we had the suite) and a peaceful environment.
The rooms are decorated with local flavors and beautiful art.
There is a small pool and numerous little places to sit and enjoy peace and a cup of tea.
There is a extraordinary terrace on the roof with an view on the entire city, covering tree different houses. Perfect if yoy want to escape the city and enjoy some peace and sun.
But what makes this Riad stand out?
That is without any doubt the real hospitality the French owners offer.
They make you feel like old friends.
Staff is very friendly and always ready to assist in any way they could.
This was probably one of the best Riads we ever stayed in beautiful Morocco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    65
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
143
545
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful Riad and would recommend it to anyone. The location is perfect only a 5 minute walk from the main square Jemaa el Fna and the craziness of the souks, yet the Riad itself is down a quiet alleyway. The pool and roof top terrace are lovely and the rooms perfectly comfortable. The breakfast provided each day was good, plenty of it and it varied each day. To be honest the staff made the stay for us, nothing was too much trouble. We were able to leave some luggage at the Riad while trekking in the Atlas mountains, and they prepared a traditional Morrocan dinner when we returned so we didn't have to go out. They made great recommendations for local places to eat that were incredibly cheap and great quality. The manager even personally drove to the airport after we'd checked out to deliver my diamond necklace I'd left in the safe of our room. Great service, always with a smile! Thanks Abdul, Muhammed and Abdel x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KendalMintcake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olvera, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and were generally very happy. It has a great location in a quiet and narrow street used by pedestrians mainly with a few cyclists and the odd reckless motor cyclist - those who have been to Marrakesh will know what I am talking about. Staff were very helpful, particularly with our requests for a couple of early breakfasts. The day we left we were served breakfast at 5:30 am! Breakfasts were good, but we didn't try the dinner so can't comment on that. Our only complaints are that the bed was uncomfortable, and the bathroom not as clean as it might have been, especially as the water drained much slower than supplied from the taps in both the basin and the shower. We needed the air conditioning, which was fine. The presence of heaters suggests that it can get cold in winter. Still, I think we would recommend the Riad Itrane to others who are looking for a central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinPain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just spent a long weekend at Riad Itrane, have to say it exceeded all expectations, in a great location, the Riad is lovely and clean, our room was quiet and had access to the roof verandas which had sun beds and chairs (nice to go back to after a long day walking round Marrakech), the staff were always helpful and cheerful with the hosts being especially so, always available and very pleasant company, we enjoyed a meal at the Riad (they only serve to guests), the food was excellent as was the special treatment we received.
If it's your first trip to Riad Itrane I would suggest taking advantage of the taxi service from the airport as it's not easy to find if you are not familiar with Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and could not have been more happy with our choice of accommodation. The riad is lovely, immaculately clean and in a perfect location minutes from the main square. Our room was lovely and so quiet and peaceful. We ate in the riad one night and the food was great as was the company provided by our hosts, Patrice and Charlotte. All of the staff seemed really happy there and there was always a smile and a pleasant "Bonjour" from all of them. The breakfasts were good with as much food as you wanted and lovely fruit juice and lots of coffee. Before travelling we emailed the riad to ask about transfers to and from the airport and these were provided at a reasonable cost - we would advise people to use this service as finding the riad on your own may be tricky for the first time. The taxi driver was waiting for us when we came through from the arrivals hall and when we got to the square a man with a cart lead us to the riad and transported our luggage.
In summary, we would highly recommend this riad for anyone visiting Marrakech for the first time like us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdaviesMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Really a good place to relax and rest in a cared atmosphere after a full day in the Medina!!
Very convenient near all the main spots! And walkable to all the nice restaurants in the medina!
It's a very nice Riad, with a good decoration and very welcoming staff. I really recommend.
They are specially helpful, both the staff and the owners- (more than they are suppose to!!) and they always find a solution for any request (eating or drinking even after-hours, finding an extra-room for one more night even being fully booked!!). It's really remarkable how easy they make things!! And all with a smile!
-The patio is charming and quiet. Breakfast is good: it was our first few days in Morocco and with its traditional food... good.
-The rooms are really nice - plus we had a small hall-reading room with views to the patio... I loved it! Clean bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina20121978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a great stay here in April for 5 nights.
Were well looked after and this Riad is truly a calm oasis within the frenetic hustle and bustle of Marakesh!
Location......... Superb. 5 minutes walk from the central Jemaa El Fna square where it all happens both day and night! Also great location for walking around the souks, the school of koranic art as well as the simple sport of "wandering". I am truly good at that!

Staff.......... All helpful and polite. Both the lads (Ahmed and Abdul) were very friendly and courteous as were the girls who do the cooking and cleaning etc
Patrice and Charlotte very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Charlotte for the lend of a hat which saved my bald pate and sunburnt forehead.

Riad building......... well thought out accommodation, welcome pool ( I only sat my blistered feet in it!) great roof terrace and lovely public areas with little lounges etc

Food............ we ate here once and it was lovely. Breakfasts more than enough, simple fair but we specially enjoyed the poratha like pancakes and fresh orange juice.
Alcohol is not served openly in Marrakesh so it is welcoming that this Riad offers beer and wine.

Eating out....... Avoid the tourist restaurants around the square, food is average tourist fair.
Take your life in your hands and eat at one of the stalls at night in the main square, avoid stall 100 but go for stall 30. Best guide is to look for a food stall with plenty of local Moroccans sitting down. Avoid the ones with only tourists eating.
A very good but incredibly simple and basic restaurant catering for locals as well as tourists who know of the place is "Oskars" on rue de marine just down from the post office building off main square. Simple menu but great food at a good price! Look carefully, it can be easily walked by and missed!

What more can I say? The other reviews have said it all and this Riad lives up to all comments.

Great place, great stay!

Thank you to you all who made us so welcome.

Room Tip: Choose a suite rather than a room if you are staying more than 2 nights.Rooms are small but cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake-Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#29 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#11 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
#13 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#22 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#24 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Property: Riad Itrane
Address: 113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemaa El Fna, taxis and at the entry of the souk and close to the main monuments, Medersa Ben youssef, Palace Bahia and Baldi, and at the entry of the souks, this authentic and magical Moroccan guest house combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the bustling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and close to the centre of "Gueliz", the modern city. This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. " Riad Itrane" provides four courtyards, with threes, flowers, 2 fountains, and a superb counter-current swimming pool pool, many terraces with sun deck where you can enjoy a panoramic view of the Medina, the Atlas mountains and the koutoubia. Comfortable living rooms and a spacious dinning room equipped with fire places will offer you a combination of relaxation and delight. Within this unique setting, a particularly attentive team is at your disposal 24/24h to provide you the highest standard catering services which contribute to the excellent reputation of this guest house. French, English are fluently spoken here. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied, and our delicious lunches and dinners are on demand before 11h00 AM, and at a reasonable price. Special birthday dinner with a birthday cake made by the best pastry of Marrakech. " Riad Itrane" welcomes you in the heart of Marrakech to make your dreams come true within a peaceful and unforgettable setting..." " Itrane" means " star" in Berber language, this "star's guest house" will therefore make your life more radiant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing