We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Jacky, Sarah, Hilary & Nick -" A haven of tranquility in a very vibrant city"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Itrane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Itrane
Ranked #27 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole Dorset
1 review
“Jacky, Sarah, Hilary & Nick -" A haven of tranquility in a very vibrant city"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at this amazing Riad, we were welcomed by Patrice & Charlotte who made us feel very welcome, our accommodation was immaculate and every room was unique with access to a lovely terrace. When we returned from a days sightseeing Charlotte would make us some Moroccan tea and sit and have a chat with us, they also offer a lovely evening meal at a very reasonable price. We could not fault this Riad and would recommend it to friends and family. It is very close to the Souks and the square and the Riad is a haven of tranquility in a very vibrant city.

Room Tip: This Riad has 10 rooms and they are all extremely clean and each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    65
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
132
531
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 day break in Marrakech,with my husband and daughter, staying at Riad Itrane. The Riad had been recommended to us so I knew it was going to be good, but I can honestly say it exceeded our expectations. As soon as you walked through the door there was a feeling of calm and tranquility amid'st all of the hustle and bustle of the Jemaa El-Fna square which was just around the corner.From the minute we arrived Abdul and Ahmed couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them, so too were Charlotte and Patrice,the owners,we can't thank them enough for making our stay such an enjoyable one.The rooms very typically Moroccan were spotless.. Our room had private access to the rooftop terrace,which was lovely especially at night time. Breakfast was a delight, with plenty to eat. Lovely pancakes and freshly squeezed orange juice and plenty of English breakfast tea. I read lots of reviews prior to our trip, and I am glad to say every one was right. Riad Itrane is a little gem.

Room Tip: our room on the first floor, had access to the roof top terrace. My daughter's was just as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Riad Itrane for 3 nights from the 10th to 13th of April. It is situated just off the Jemaa El Fna and so you are couple of minutes walk from the bustling souks and the the square. It was amazing to leave the beating of drums, the snake charmers, dancers, teeth, poultry,fish and spice sellers to step inside this tranquil oasis. There is a small pool and an orange tree in the centre of the Riad. There are lots of nooks and crannies with books, Moroccan carpets and tiled fountains. Breakfast was a continental breakfast with pancakes and the coffee was lovely. Everything was clean with plenty of hot water. The roof terrace was lovely to sit on and listen to the call to prayer. The staff were helpful and welcoming. Anyone can stay in a large hotel but if you are looking to stay in a traditional Riad I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Riad Itrane ("Garden of the Stars") is on a quiet alley off one of the liveliest streets leading out of the famous Jemaa El-Fna, so it is only a few steps from that essential focus of Marrakech. The riad has spread back through what were three traditional Moroccan houses, so it is a delightful little maze of three arcaded courtyards, one of them with a pool. We chose one of the suites added on the roof, with view outside our door over the town and to the High Atlas range.

The breakfasts were good; during our week-long visit to the country we grew fond of the traditional riad breakfasts of crepes and honey. The staff, especially Mohammad, were very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a great Riad, minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the Souk and the main square, but down a little alley meaning it was very quiet unless on the roof. It is difficult to imagine a better location.

The rooms were fine - we had a nice one with en-suite on the top floor. No lift, but that was no problem, the staff were eager to help carry luggage if required (but not pushy). I personally found the bed a little hard for myself, but the wife found it very comfortable.

Common areas were nice too, Breakfast/dinner could be had in the dining room (I guess) or outside (which we always chose).

We ate there the first night - it was an entirely acceptable meal (with reasonably priced wine), but to my view the food in Marrakesh as a whole was nothing to write home about.
It was a safe place to eat on our first night, but I probably wouldn't eat in again. The food may be considered a bit overpriced compared to what is available off the streets, but I suspect it was not overpriced compared to other hotel meals.

Riad Itrane is not a 5 * hotel, but much more intimate and enjoyable.Tipping was done at the end of the stay, all tips being put into a pot for distribution amongst the staff - this I liked.

Of course, there is a lot of hassle on the streets, but that is Marrakesh - but if you can't cope with that, you shouldn't be thinking of going to the city in the first place. But if you do go there, you should not be disappointed with this Riad.

I have no hesitation recommending this Riad to friends, family, and to Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AddictedToTheLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This raid is perfectly situated only minutes from the square. The owners and staff were delightful and very accommodating. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the views from the terraces, over the Medina with the snow covered Atlas in the background were the best!

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was the first place we stayed in Marrakech and its in a great easy to get to location. The people were friendly when we first arrived and the room was clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the sunset. This place could improve on its service though, we arrived around 5pm and there was no food available at the riad even though they have a working kitchen. Okay I understand but then I wanted to call and make a reservation for a restaurant they acted like they were bending over backwards for me to use their land line.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
Riad Les Nuits de Marrakech
#16 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#30 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#17 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#87 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#23 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Property: Riad Itrane
Address: 113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemaa El Fna, taxis and at the entry of the souk and close to the main monuments, Medersa Ben youssef, Palace Bahia and Baldi, and at the entry of the souks, this authentic and magical Moroccan guest house combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the bustling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and close to the centre of "Gueliz", the modern city. This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. " Riad Itrane" provides four courtyards, with threes, flowers, 2 fountains, and a superb counter-current swimming pool pool, many terraces with sun deck where you can enjoy a panoramic view of the Medina, the Atlas mountains and the koutoubia. Comfortable living rooms and a spacious dinning room equipped with fire places will offer you a combination of relaxation and delight. Within this unique setting, a particularly attentive team is at your disposal 24/24h to provide you the highest standard catering services which contribute to the excellent reputation of this guest house. French, English are fluently spoken here. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied, and our delicious lunches and dinners are on demand before 11h00 AM, and at a reasonable price. Special birthday dinner with a birthday cake made by the best pastry of Marrakech. " Riad Itrane" welcomes you in the heart of Marrakech to make your dreams come true within a peaceful and unforgettable setting..." " Itrane" means " star" in Berber language, this "star's guest house" will therefore make your life more radiant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing