We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but possibly a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Itrane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Itrane
Ranked #24 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but possibly a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here with a friend last week. We were only there one night and chose the riad based on TripAdvisor reviews.

The riad is in a great location, very close to the souk but the street it is in is very quiet. It is really nicely decorated and is very pretty.

The room was nice and well-looked-after, as was the riad in general. However, the hot water in the shower didn't last long and the shower ended up being cold.

The roof terrace was beautiful, we spent a morning sunbathing there before heading out of Marrakech to Essaouira.

Breakfast was pretty standard - bread, pancakes, orange juice etc. Nothing too spectacular, but nice and included in the price (as was the case with all the places we stayed).

Overall, I liked the place, mainly for the location and how well-maintained it is. However, having stayed at several other places during my trip, I am not sure the price, which was considerably higher than everywhere else we stayed, was entirely justified.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellysnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    66
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
157
564
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted with this Riad in Marrakech. Arriving at the end of March for two nights, after a week of trekking in the Sahara, we were pleased to find this Riad, quiet, clean and very welcoming. The staff were polite, efficient and helpful. the room was spacious and bright. Bathroom was well fitted and all amenities were in working order. The sun terrace was beautiful. I would recommend this to any traveller wishing to stay within the Medina.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose the Riad Itrane based on Tripadvisor reviews, and have been very happy with the result. The hotel is located down a narrow corridor off the souk near the main square. This means it has the great combination of being convenient to all the action, but far enough away not to be noisy. The rooms feel "authentic" but still have all amenities including very fast Wi-Fi (useful as we didn't arrange for an international data plan for our phones). A small confusion over how to swipe our American style credit card resulted in immediate attention by Patrice, the owner, even though he was away in France (and a very kind compensation for my trouble). The staff were all friendly and helpful; always smiling.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaysquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Myself and my friend had an enjoyable stay in this riad. The riad is very nice with beautiful decor. It is situated in a peaceful alley. Once you go out from this alley it gets very hectic. The location is very safe but overall I felt that all of Marrakesh is quite safe. The staff were very friendly and gave us tips on what to visit. Although breakfast starts at 8am, on three occasions we had to leave the hotel earlier and they still prepared us the breakfast which is also very rich, diverse and abundant. The terrace of the hotel is also lovely and offers nice views over the city, especially at sunset. The only downside is that we could easily hear noises coming from the adjacent room so one must keep very quiet but overall the stay was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idanwcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Schaffhausen, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

An awesome place and ideal retreat from the huzzle and buzzle of marrakech! The fine breakfast each morning and the very hospitable and helpful staffs especially Abdou and Hamid! THANK YOU GUYS FOR MAKING OUR STAY MORE COMFORTABLE AND CONVENIENT we can only highly recommend this very clean and lovely riad .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've had a very pleasant and comfortable stay in Riad Itrane, and we enjoyed it very very much! Great hospitality and a warm welcoming place. Just the right size. Food and service are excellent. It was wonderful to relax in the riad with a good book and moroccan tea in beautiful surroundings. We got great advices for alternative restaurants, which we really enjoyed. They arranged a trip to the Atlas-mountains for us, a great chauffeur with lots of knowledge! We enjoyed it very much. The nature and surroundings of Marrakech are very different from the city, and interesting to investigate.
The owners have a good eye for details, colours and harmony, the riad feels very authentic. The staff is nice and charming, we felt we were in the best hands all the time! We wish them all the best in the future!
Marrakech as a city has wonderful architecture (inside the walls) and the local craftsmen are superb in woodcarving, metal-work, leather and carpets. The food is very good, and the inhabitants are very friendly and helpsome. But you never know if they are begging for money after showing you the way around a corner. That's a pity.
The "big square" is a lively place, but the traffic is a mess. Be aware! The only place we could find a trash-bin was in the riad, the roads in the city feels a bit "dirty". Before you go shopping in the souks, it can be practical to visit the "state-operated" cooperative for arts and crafts: "Ensemble Artisanal" . They have fixed prices, often lower than what you can find in the souks after bargaining.

Room Tip: It was a very good feeling to wake up in a harmonic and beautiful authentic room. But the beds cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in February and found it be very very good accommodation. Marrakech itself is a bit confronting but you quickly get used to that. The position is excellent. Walking distance to everything BUT still very very quiet when you are inside the Riad. Really helpful people work here and there English is fairly good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#53 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#7 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Itrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Itrane

Property: Riad Itrane
Address: 113, Derb Jamaa | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Itrane 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at only 2 minutes( 0,300m) on foot from the famous Place Jemaa El Fna, taxis and at the entry of the souk and close to the main monuments, Medersa Ben youssef, Palace Bahia and Baldi, and at the entry of the souks, this authentic and magical Moroccan guest house combines the peace and quiet of a local side street and the bustling excitement of all types of interests in the heart of the picturesque medina and close to the centre of "Gueliz", the modern city. This splendid Riad is the oldest neighborhood, it was completely restored in 2008 with elegance and modernity by Moroccan craftsmen in the respect for tradition. " Riad Itrane" provides four courtyards, with threes, flowers, 2 fountains, and a superb counter-current swimming pool pool, many terraces with sun deck where you can enjoy a panoramic view of the Medina, the Atlas mountains and the koutoubia. Comfortable living rooms and a spacious dinning room equipped with fire places will offer you a combination of relaxation and delight. Within this unique setting, a particularly attentive team is at your disposal 24/24h to provide you the highest standard catering services which contribute to the excellent reputation of this guest house. French, English are fluently spoken here. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied, and our delicious lunches and dinners are on demand before 11h00 AM, and at a reasonable price. Special birthday dinner with a birthday cake made by the best pastry of Marrakech. " Riad Itrane" welcomes you in the heart of Marrakech to make your dreams come true within a peaceful and unforgettable setting..." " Itrane" means " star" in Berber language, this "star's guest house" will therefore make your life more radiant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Itrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Itrane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing