We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't put my finger on it!!”
Review of Riad Schanez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Schanez
Ranked #847 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Very poor area of marrakech, lots of hassle from the children outside the riad, which drove us mad in the end. The staff were very helpfull and sweet.A good 20 minutes walk to the main square.Could'nt get a drink for love nor money in the kasbah area.had to get a taxi to the main shopping area, We felt we being ripped off the whole time..Would'nt go there again, I suppose you could call it an experience..We did have three lovely hot days which helped.Maybe 3 night would of been plenty....We paid between 2 and 5 dhs for a taxi to the shopping area, .You have to barter for everything...We found a bar with a nice roof terrace in the hotel nassim the chesterfield bar.We also went on the red bus tour, which was really good, the best thing we done....

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Riad Schanez
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2010

Lovely traditional style accomodation, good value and friendly staff. Is located in the Kasbah area of the city, which is very local and quite a poor residential area... Quite an eye opener and would probably suit more down to earth well travelled types... this was actually a part that made our trip feel more unique! Schanez is a very relaxed place to stay but with little facilities available inside the Riad. i.e the bar is not open and drinks are not readily available which was disappointing, we had to ask for complimentary tea, which to our annoyance we had to pay for at the end of our stay. So you have to venture out into the city for ammenities, which wasn't a major problem about 20min walk. Overall we were pretty happy with the deal we got here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

This was our first experience of staying in a Riad so maybe we should not have been too suprised as we did not anything to compare it with. During our visit the night temperature was sometimes dropping to 2 deg C and since our bedroom door opened directly onto an open air courtyard the room got very cold. We asked for a heater but none were available. We were also unfortunate in having some wet weather, this had the effect of not only making the room feel damp but also the bed. There were sufficient blankets but some nights it took at least an hour to begin to get comfortable. Maybe the absence of an under blanket contributed to this. the bottom sheet was directly onto the matress..
We had half board and had to eat our meals in the courtyard. There was very little cover from the weather and on two occasions when it was raining hard we had to eat our meals with the rain pouring down just inches away. Needless to say we sat there in our thickest fleeces, also any hot food cooled down almost immediately and was certainly cold before finishing the meal.
We have no doubt that in the summer months the shade and the coolness of the courtyard and the bedrooms would be a relief from the summer temperatures.
A bar was advertised but we saw no sign of it and certainly no drinks were offered, but in fairness we did not ask since usually we just wanted to get back to our room.
This was our fourth visit to Marrakech at this time of year so next time it will back to a conventional hotel.
In one report we read it stated that it was a 7 minute walk to the Medina but a more accurate figure would be 25 minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shandy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I recently booked a double room for my partner and myself for 7 days in the Riad Schanez Hotel in Marrakesh. I booked this hotel through travelrepublic.com and later had to cancel my booking as I was informed 10 days after the booking...... "THEY DO NOT ALLOW GAYS IN THIS HOTEL"....Then to make things worse travel republic wanted to charge me a cancellation fee for having to cancel the hotel,even though I was forced to cancel through no fault of my own except for being gay. I don't doubt that this is a nice hotel but if you are a gay couple i recommend you look else where.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
13  Thank JohnRobGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

good central hotel, easy to get around marakesh. i would recomend staying on a bed and breakfast basis as it allows you to eat out in the evening, saying that the food at the hotel is of a good standard.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bongoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Obdulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#276 of 502 in Marrakech
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Sidi Mimoune
Riad Sidi Mimoune
#244 of 1,160 in Marrakech
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Shaden
Riad Shaden
#178 of 1,160 in Marrakech
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riad Plein Sud
Riad Plein Sud
#134 of 1,160 in Marrakech
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Limoun Amara
Dar Limoun Amara
#542 of 1,160 in Marrakech
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#311 of 1,160 in Marrakech
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Schanez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Schanez

Address: Derb Chtouka 218 Derb Tadla, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #847 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $34 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Schanez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Schanez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Schanez Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing