We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fawakay Villas
Nearby Hotels
$294
$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$410
$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$624
$567
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
174
5
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
5
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuedaughter's weddingkippersatlas mountainsbeautiful rose gardenswonderful weddingskype callsfamilies stayingplunge poolself cateringperfect hostsfamily breaktable tennispool partyalready planning our next triptravel cotpoolside bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 182 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My friend and I had a flying 2 night visit to Fawakay Villas and enjoyed every minute of it. It's so easy to get there from the UK and we were transported from a damp and grey Stansted to another exotic world in a matter of hours.
We were warmly greeted on arrival by Dawn and Francis (and Doris the donkey!) and enjoyed a drink and olives by the open fire near the bar area, which was the perfect start to our adventure. We then rounded off the evening with a delicious 3 course meal in our dining room again in front of a roaring fire.
Our rooms were perfect with lots of space and a nice shower plus a comfy sitting room area with a telly and open fire. A big thank you Francis for making sure we could watch our favourite tv programme in the evening!
The next day after a hearty breakfast served by the ever smiling staff, Dawn arranged a car into town and recommended where to go in the Marrakech souks, where to eat and how much to pay for taxis which was a great help as it's easy to be over charged. We had a lot of fun soaking up the atmosphere and enjoyed a superb lunch at the rooftop restaurant of Cafe Arabe, thank you Dawn!
In summary it's a lovely place to stay, we were warmly welcomed and looked after by all and I would definitely like to go again for a longer visit. We were lucky with the weather but it would be nice to go when it's a little warmer in the evenings and we could make use of all the outside facilities, as there are lots of hidden seating areas and beautiful gardens and the pool looked very inviting... next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawakay, Manager at Fawakay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

It might have been a flying visit but we all enjoyed having you here especially Doris - sorry she was so interested in you on your first night at the bar. I hope she didn't distract you too much from enjoying your vodka and tonic! Please come back and see us for a longer stay next time. Those souks (and the vodka and tonics) will be waiting for you......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have just returned from villas fawakay and had a wonderful four days. We had read all the glowing reviews on TA before we booked and are most surprised to read a review headed "A Dissapointment". Our experience and seemingly of the other guests we spoke to during our stay) was one of relaxed charm and discreet and very efficient service. Boushra the chef is a wonderful cook (We loved her chicken pastilla!) and our lunches by the pool and dinners by the open fires were fab. There is so much space in the villas and gardens and the newly heated pool is a great asset for these cooler months. Needless to say Doris the resident donkey, Couscous and the other animals greatly amused us all too.
Many thanks Francis and Dawn - you were both great hosts and great company and we are already looking at dates for a return trip. Dawn, we will most definitely take you up on your kind offer of a shopping trip next time and book on some extra bags!! See you in 2014 inshallah.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We loved having you here and so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. The pool, Doris and Couscous will all be waiting for you when you return. And Dawn will definitely put on her tour guide hat and take you around the souks. You better bring two extra bags at least.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

It's true that Villa Fawakay has stunning grounds and beautiful villas, but we got the sense that it had seen better days. The atmosphere in the compound was tense - staff seemed overworked and unhappy. One of the owners flat out told me that she didn't like having to look after people (she didn't need to tell me this, it was pretty obvious). Difficult when you are staying in the middle of a deserted field miles from Marrakech and reliant on the owners for everything. I got the sense that perhaps something was wrong with the owners and we were being neglected due to other circumstances. But it still made for an uncomfortable trip, especially when nothing here is cheap (dinner for one costs £30 and there is nowhere else to eat). We made the best out of it by spending our days at another hotel (they closed the pool for several days with no warning and no refund!!). Perhaps we just came at a bad time, but when I complained at the end of our trip they didn't seem surprised or terribly concerned. A real disspointment...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saltdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which we take very seriously. Obviously we are extremely disappointed to read such a negative review as we take great pride in offering all our guests a wonderful all-round experience when they stay at Fawakay.
However we would like to make the following points in response:
- The pool was not closed. It simply has a cover put on it each night which is removed each morning in order to keep the temperature at 27 degrees. If you don't do this, you end up losing lots of heat overnight.
- A three course dinner costs 250 dhm which at the current exchange rate of 13 dhm to the £ works out just under £20 per person.
- We have never before received feedback about the staff appearing to be unhappy. Many of the staff have been with us for years. I can only apologise if this is the impression you had.

We would also like to point out a few things which you didn't pick up on in your review:
- You made no mention of the fact that you had booked a three-bedroom villa (you were a family of five) but when you decided on arrival that you would prefer the two-bedroom villa, we let you stay in the three-bedroom one at the two-bed price.
- All of the group enjoyed a complimentary dinner on the first night because of your unhappiness with the villa situation.
- We went out of our way to help you with your arrangements. This included making dinner reservations on two nights, drawing maps of how to find the restaurants, offering to source an I-pad screen replacement (your's had been broken on the flight over) and even driving to the nearest shop (a bit of a distance) at 2130 to buy more Pringles. You complained on our return that they were the wrong flavour.

I can only stress again how disappointed we were to read your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Thanks to all for looking after our party. Lovely rooms, a super lunch and plenty of G & Ts and cold beer. Francis sorted out all our taxis into Marrakech and for the airport run on the Sunday evening. A lovely bar and pool area to while away the time and relax

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommymidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We enjoyed having you here and chatting over the G&Ts and cold beers! Look forward to you visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were a group of mates who stayed here for a few nights at the end of our 2 week trip aroun Morocco.This was a fabulous place to end on! Great owners who live on site and are more than happy to help out and have a chat. Fantastic hospitality. The place itself is just stunning especially the gardens which are a beautiful mixture of flowers and edible plants. We spent most of our time lounging by the pool and enjoying the place over a glass of wine or two however another bonus of this place is that it is only 10 minutes to the medina of Marrakech if your up for a treasure ( or trash) hunt. Oh and let's not go forgetting the animals who are very much part of the family : Doris the donkey, Couscous the dog and all the peacocks wandering around just give this place a special feeling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themindfultraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

it was a pleasure to have you all here, thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback. Doris was bereft after you had gone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews