We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not luxury, but close to it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Ambre et Epices
Ranked #47 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed two nights in Marrakech on arrival and one on our way out after travelling round. Riad Ambre et Epices was a lovely welcome and a great way to round off the trip (with a suite on the last night). It's a fairly new riad, so was a bit difficult to locate, even with local taxi drivers! Our first room was very nice, the only minor quibble was that it opened directly onto the breakfast area, and you could feel slightly exposed! The bathroom facilities were a bit old, but that was part of the charm, and they functioned ok. The suite on the first floor had a huge bath and bed, and was as I said just a lovely way to finish off our stay. The rooms stayed nicely cool. Breakfast was lovely, a good selection o breads, pastries and jams, with yoghurts and great fresh orange juice.

The staff couldn't have helped more, especially sorting us out when we got lost (twice) in the Soukh. Take note of where you are, and of the location of the nearby mosque, as this is just about the only way back without assistance! We found some of the amateur guides slightly aggressive, but they went away eventually! Others were very helpful though.

Thoroughly recommended, though as this was our first visit (hopefully not last) we don't have a comparison.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank zakt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for Riad Ambre et Epices
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 701 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

A corner of perfection to recover from the chaos on the streets! We were so pleased to have such a lovely bolt-hole to return to, with excellent staff and open areas. Our room was fairly small, but it was perfect for us, and with all the other spaces to relax in it wasn't a problem. The plunge pool provided refreshment, and the endless mint tea was delicious!
A true gem, where the staff are incredibly helpful and the standards are high. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LozzaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We just returned from three nights at this glorious Riad. It is away from touristy area in R'Mila, a short walk to the Fondouks, where you can see master craftspeople at work. It is also close to the Sooks. Staff were always available to help us, even ordering us a birthday cake for our daughter. Service was amazing. It made our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We came to Marrakech for only two days and stayed at this charming Riad 15th & 16th Dec. We had the Orchid room on the top floor - very compact but fine for a short stay and the bed was extremely comfortable. We only had a small bar of soap provided so were glad we had packed shower gel etc. No glasses in the room for drinks but a fruit bowl was left on our first evening which was a nice touch. A lovely sun deck with beds just outside our door, a peaceful spot to chill out away from the city madness! The whole place is peaceful, tranquil and has been renovated very sympathetically. At this time of year the public areas can be quite cool due to the design but the dining room had a large patio type gas heater.

We had pre booked an evening meal before our arrival and were pleased we had done this as our flight was diverted to Agadir due to poor visibility in Marrakech. We consequently lost the entire first day being coached back and were very tired, the thought of navigating the dimly lit alleys and finding a restaurant did not appeal. However, the meal really wasn't up to much but they tried very hard. Breakfast was very nice with a mix of breads and sweet pastries etc and the fresh squeezed orange juice was fantastic.

The location could be quite daunting - finding your way through the labyrinth of unmarked alleys requires real memory skill (or a phone with Sat Nav). Also, the Riad has no sign - you just have to remember what the front door looks like! Thank goodness on arrival we were escorted from the taxi drop off point (following a phone call to the Riad from a very helpful taxi driver at the Airport). We had lost our pre-arranged pick up due to the diversion

We were fortunate not to be hassled to any degree whilst out and about and were mostly left alone. A polite 'no,thank you' was all that was required. In fact most people we encountered seemed most helpful and good natured. We even braved the street food in the lively atmosphere of the main square on our second night. It was very good, very cheap and no tummy problems afterwards!

The staff at this Riad were friendly and helpful and we look forward to returning in the near future and hopefully see a little more of Marrakech - it was impossible to see much in one day!!

Be aware the Riad only accepts cash

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiniBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Beautiful, pieceful and clean riad. Staff very friendly and helpful. Not too far from Djemma el fna. Breakfast nice, but could be a little bit more varied, maybe som fruit and youhurts etc

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ostkrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The riad is stunning with lots of little attention to detail and wonderful staff who bent over backwards to help us with any requests. We travelled as a group of 3 and had a large enough room to accommodate us. The bathroom was absolutely gorgeous! We were lucky to have had the roof terrace to ourself one afternoon and enjoyed the sun, breeze, mint tea with traditional sweets and some cool background music. Would definitely recommend this riad to travellers who want to be away from the mainstream package tours that hotels and resorts offer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissFromEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.5 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#27 of 1,160 in Marrakech
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#16 of 1,160 in Marrakech
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#50 of 1,160 in Marrakech
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad O
Riad O
#54 of 1,160 in Marrakech
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#28 of 1,160 in Marrakech
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Address: 89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $72 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the Dar El Bacha's old district and very close from the famous Souks, this former house, owned in the past by a big trader of spices, renovated in the respect of the art and moroccan traditions, will become your new address in Marrakesh. Riad Ambre et Epices is a place of interbreeding by its refinement inspired at the same time by the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic Marrakchi atmosphere. Turkish bath, massages, swimming pools / Jacuzzi, terraces and solariums will contribute to your well-being and your relaxation, before joining one of the 11 suites and rooms suggestively decorated by the most important steps of the spices route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing