We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent value luxury 5 minutes from the Souks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Ambre et Epices
Ranked #47 of 1,162 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value luxury 5 minutes from the Souks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We recently stayed 4 nights in this Riad. As others have written, it is a good idea to arrange to be met just around the corner by the staff, who will help with bags, as the Riad is hidden in a maze of alleys, which is very much a part of its charm. We stayed in the grand suite in the newer part of the Riad, which was a great room, with very good bathroom and a bath the size of a four man sarcophagus behind the four poster bed in the main room. As stated by other reviewers, it could do with a small wardrobe and drawers, although we understand that this is being rectified this summer. Also, to those complaining about the noise, this is a Riad in the heart of the Medina, where people work and pray at all hours - if you want total quiet, go to a soulless air conditioned box in the hotels in the new town.

We booked a day trip in a private 4x4 in the Atlas Mountains through Patrice, the owner. Whilst this was more expensive than some tours you can get, our driver was a knowledgeable berber from the region and kept us away from the tourist traps and this was certainly worth the extra money.

If you want luxury 5 minutes from the Souks, this is the place for you. Very good quality linen and towels, spotlessly clean, great breakfasts on the roof terrace, wonderfully helpful and cheerful staff led by Patrice. I would not hesitate to return here next time we come to Marrakech as what you get for your money is exceptional.

Room Tip: The grand suite is not that much more expensive than the smaller rooms and worth every penny more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    126
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
73
388
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Excellent friendly service throughout our 4 night stay. We arrived at night and as it was our first visit to Marrakech we were nervous about what to expect and being able to find our way in the dark. However there was no need to worry as Patrice had organised us an airport pick up that drove us close to the Riad and Abdul was waiting to escort us the remainder of the way by foot. I recommend this service as it is a difficult place to find with no street signs! The next morning after a good nights sleep we were treated to a superb fresh breakfast (different every day) on the roof terrace with views across the city to the mountains. Everything that Patrice and Hatim recommended to us (restauraunts, cafes and trips) was top class and made our trip even better. Thank you to Patrice, Hatim, Abdul and the rest of the team for a superb holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old part of the Riad on the first floor and had a lovely room, I think it was the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingles5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

In a city that gives you sensory overload, this Riad offers a peaceful escape. Patrice and his staff do a wonderful job of pampering their guests and making sure their vacation is something to remember. The breakfasts were excellent, with most of the offerings made right on the premises by the great cook. Fresh orange juice, pastries, homemade yogurt, fresh coffee and mint tea are a great way to start the day off right. Ibrahim serves these delights with a brimming smile that is genuine and heartwarming. We needed a couple of items for our son that we could not find so Hatim at the front desk managed to get them for us. He is another whose sense of humor and positive attitude is very much appreciated. Patrice booked us a day trip to Ait Benhaddou, which is a Kasbah at the " Gates of the Desert". What a great trip, made possible by our excellent guide and driver Youssef whose English and knowledge of the countryside were excellent and appreciated. Of course after a long day touring a hamam right in the Riad was both soothing and relaxing. You could go outside of the Riad for this experience, but the convenience of having it done on site was fantastic. We had 2 dinners at the Riad and both were authentic and flavorful. The rooms were inviting and comfortable. The soft beds were welcome at the end of at the end of very full days. The nearby Henna Cafe had good lunches and henna tattoos. We would definately stay here during our future trips to Marrakech.
A huge thank you to you and all of your staff Patrice.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the suite because we were staying for a full week. Staying this long also gave u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MJLAlberta_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, quiet bedroom, excellent discreet service, food very nice (we had breakfast only.) However
the recommended local restaurants were fantastic cuisine.
If you want to experience the old & new Marrakesh this location is perfect.
Take the tour bus, visit the Jardin Marjorelle or lunch at Hotel La Mamounia. Best of all the locals were a right friendly bunch.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at this riad for three days as it was our first visit to Marrakech we wanted to stay right in centre of old town close to all attractions and also wanted a traditional hotel. This Riad ticked all the conditions. This is a lovely clean Riad with friendly and helpful staff especially Hatim and Abdullah with their Manager Patrice.

This Riad is 15mins walk to Jama El Fana from there 5-15 mins walk to all the attractions- Majorelle Gardens are 20mins walk in opposite direction from the Riad.

We booked the whole package including transfers through BA and had no problems at all.

Our friends who stayed in modern hotel outside Madina were really repenting their decision after looking at our pics of the Riad.

I would highly recommend this Riad to any anyone who wants traditional hotel full of character.

I will go back in Nov. to explore more of Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a great hotel. The staff are excellent and very helpful as soon as we arrived someone was there to help us with our luggage, on arrival we had tea in the courtyard and given a map and a briefing about the area, followed by a tour of the hotel. Breakfast was perfect, well presented and always served with a simile. Couldn't fault this place - it's a must visit and in the perfect location to explore the city.

We stayed in Marrakech for 4 nights, and on one of the days we decided to visit the new town, where you'll find McDonald, Zara, KFC ect.. but after 2hours was bored and went back to the old city. When booking this holiday we couldn't decided weather or not to stay in the new or old city, after this visit we would definitely recommend the old city much more to see and do, and an amazing experience to be in the heart of the city.

Thank you to Ibrahim for consistently
providing excellent customer service.




  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Break777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in the new annexe of the riad for 4 nights and were well looked after by Ibrahim. The Riad is a cool peaceful oasis in the centre of the busy medina. The place was very clean and all the staff were very friendly. We booked a day trip to the Atlas mountains on the advice of Patrice and this was the highlight of our holiday. Patrice also arranged our airport transfer and Ibrahim escorted us to the pick up point and waited with us until the car arrived.On our first night Patrice booked us an excellent local restaurant and Ibrahim walked us round to it as we were unsure of the way.They couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#4 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Helen
Riad Helen
#35 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#38 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#22 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#34 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#3 of 1,162 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Property: Riad Ambre et Epices
Address: 89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,162 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the Dar El Bacha's old district and very close from the famous Souks, this former house, owned in the past by a big trader of spices, renovated in the respect of the art and moroccan traditions, will become your new address in Marrakesh. Riad Ambre et Epices is a place of interbreeding by its refinement inspired at the same time by the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic Marrakchi atmosphere. Turkish bath, massages, swimming pools / Jacuzzi, terraces and solariums will contribute to your well-being and your relaxation, before joining one of the 11 suites and rooms suggestively decorated by the most important steps of the spices route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing