We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to experience Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ambre et Epices to your Saves list
Riad Ambre et Epices
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place to experience Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have just returned from my trip and, confirm, this riad is a very good place to stay, be fascinated and tempted to come back.
Patrice and Abdul have made my stay wonderful. I had quite a few fears, as this was my first trip to Marakech.
Booking was direct with the riad, in order to get the room I was interested in, Tresor de Chine. Very pleased with the choice! Clean, comfortable and artistic.
We had transfer from the airport, a good idea, as mentioned by others, because it would be very difficult to find the place without a guide.
Once explained and explored, it was easy to walk through Medina, and had no problems in finding the way, day or night.
Breakfast was a fantastic experience; it was served on a terrace, on the roof, in shade or taking advantage of morning sun.
We had a traditional dinner in the riad, in front of an open fire. I was pleased to discover there was a selection of local wine, on offer at reasonable prices.
Patrice is very friendly and dedicated to make everybody's stay a wonderful experience. It was great and hope to return, one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    109
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
358
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay at in Marrakech.
Patrice answered emails promptly whenever we had questions.
We arranged a taxi with the riad to pick us up from the airport on our arrival. The riad had a member of staff meet us at the taxi rank to show us the way through the alleys to the riad.
Check in went smoothly, we were greeted with fresh mint tea and biscuits. Patrice talked us through the map on how to locate the riad on our own, which we found easy once we did it ourselves.  
It was a short walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa and the souks.
We felt safe in the area when walking at any time. The riad was very quiet inside, you only heard the morning prayers so bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
We were in the Racine room which was very nice. It had a comfortable UK king size bed. Plus a seating area with two chairs and table.
The bathroom was spacious with a shower over the bath, there was always hot water.
The communal areas were very nice, an internal courtyard with a water fountain where meals were served. There was also a roof terrace that you could go up to and have breakfast if the weather was good.
Breakfast was pastries, breads, marmalade, fried egg, yoghurt, coffee, teas etc.
Patrice offered dinner in the riad for our first night. The food was delicious. They also arranged for some musicians to sing and play typical music during the meal which added to a great atmosphere for all the guests.
All staff were very friendly and efficient. They spoke Arabic, French and English so it was easy to communicate.
We booked a hamman through the riad as they have a spa room where you can do this which was a nice facility to have. The hamman was able to do the two of us (male and female) at the same time so you could experience it together - it was great!
If we visit Marrakech again we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Riad was just so perfect, secluded and peaceful with soft modern chill out Jazz playing throughout the waking hours, which added to the ambience. We had the small double on the top, which was just right as we were up and about everyday so the larger rooms would have been wasted. Fatima cooks wonderfully, the food is out of this world. The decor is tastefully married up, nothing is too much service and the lady that cleans the rooms is never really seen, but she tidies up in a way that is really appreciated, Patrice & Abdu an amusing Double Act! If you want a true experince that is personal.. visit this Riad... missing my sunshine breakfast :(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smallfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Patrice, the owner, sent a delightful young man by the name of Abdu to meet us from our taxi and guide us down several little alley ways to this lovely riad. It really is a little haven of peace and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Patrice who is so very helpful and friendly made us very welcome and we found our room to be spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our breakfasts served on the roof terrace were excellent and we had a very good evening meal prepared by Fatima. I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Riad is simply great! The owner Patrice is a very kind guy, very patient to tell you all the best tips where to eat in Marrakech! The Hotel is beautiful, the staff very friendly and it is super clean everywhere. A beautiful romantic oasis in the middle of the Medina. We will come back! Daniela&Shane

Room Tip: All rooms are great! We had a tour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Io e te K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went away to this riad for my 1year anniversary. At 1st I wasnt sure of the alley ways that lead to this beautiful gem at the end of the road. Definitely an oasis!!

Worried that at night it won't be safe but to my disappointment it was the safest walk down a alley way I have ever taken (alley ways are roads to residential areas so please don't be alarmed, the locals are very nice and helpful).

Away from the hustle and bustle and busy roads this is the perfect place to relax and chill out.

Breakfast was always great. The staff were definitely the extra cherry on top o everything positive about the riad. Patrice was brilliant always helpful af at your service.

The main square only 15mins walk or 5mins by taxi. Be sure to stay at this riad the best experience iv ever had.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayMiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I bought this holiday for my partner for Christmas and the hotel was one of the best parts. It was an excellent place to stay - tucked away, calm and the ultimate retreat from the crowded streets. Food was also superb, both breakfast and dinner! And the wine was not a bad price either!


Many thanks once again for a great time including all the small touches!

p.s. look out for the sunsets on the roof terrace - it was breathtaking with a mosque either side and mountains in the background!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#67 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#42 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#28 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#35 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#8 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Property: Riad Ambre et Epices
Address: 89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the Dar El Bacha's old district and very close from the famous Souks, this former house, owned in the past by a big trader of spices, renovated in the respect of the art and moroccan traditions, will become your new address in Marrakesh. Riad Ambre et Epices is a place of interbreeding by its refinement inspired at the same time by the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic Marrakchi atmosphere. Turkish bath, massages, swimming pools / Jacuzzi, terraces and solariums will contribute to your well-being and your relaxation, before joining one of the 11 suites and rooms suggestively decorated by the most important steps of the spices route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing