We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Ambre et Epices
Ranked #49 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

A fantastic place to stay and within a very short time you almost feel like a local wandering through the alleys of the Medina. A terrific location and in easy walking distance of all the sights. Patrice gives you a short introduction when you arrive and the welcome is amazing. Nothing is too much trouble. No disturbance from building work going on next door and you only have to navigate the occasional donkey cart delivering! The two rooms we had were very comfortable and heating efficient if you visit in the winter when the nights can be cold. Different Moroccan breakfast each morning with delicious orange juice. Do book a dinner one evening at the Riad as the cooking is fantastic and a very high standard - nice wines also. Open fire in the sitting room as well which makes it cosy. We booked the Atlas Mountains day trip with Patrice when we arrived and Philippe, our guide, gave us a memorable day - excellent value with lots of local knowledge. This part of the Medina is where the locals live, work, shop and pray and they are all very friendly.

Room Tip: Racines Suite has sunken bath and integrated overhead shower Saveur D'Or room has walk in showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    123
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
384
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Well presented Riad tucked away in the Medina. Attentive and very helpful staff particularly the manager Patrice. Fantastic breakfasts on the terrace and an excellent day out to the Atlas Mountains booked by Patrice. Would highly recommend as is a calm and tranquil retreat after the hustle and bustle of the medina. Plenty of places to eat nearby and if in doubt ask Patrice or eat at the Riad. The Moroccan salad was excellent. The evenings are quite cool in Marrakech in December so a glass of wine by the fire does the trick. Kids slept in a separate room but I felt reasurred about their safety. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GPereira_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at this Riad. The room was lovely, the staff were lovely, Patrice was ready to help us at all times and didn't get annoyed when we kept asking to use his computer! (maestro cards do NOT work in Marrakech!). We got picked up from the airport, compliments of the Riad.
Overall had a fantastic time, it is a bit complicated to find the Riad the first time but Patrice provided with a map beforehand so we never got lost.
Even though I didn't see the other rooms, I would definitely recommend the Racine suite, the bathtub is the perfect ending to a hectic day!
Merci Patrice and staff for everything!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

we had a 3 night stay here. Its in a great location but ask them to meet you from your taxi - they can also arrange airport transfers for you as its hard to find the first time as it really is hidden. Once you have found your way there once its fine.

The rooms are very well equipped. We had dinner in one evening and the quality of the food was great. Breakfast is also very well catered.
I would recommend this riad. its in a good location, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they will look after your every need.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran_juk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't normally write many reviews but Patrice was just so helpful and the riad was so brilliant I wanted to write about it. I emailed Patrice to ask to book us an airport transfer after reading other reviews. He kindly did this so everything went perfectly. He also booked us a day in the mountains which was so lovely and my favourite part. The room was beautiful and I loved the candles at night. There are so many small touches that make it, my favourite being a different Moroccan breakfast everyday.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explorer3413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were met at the train station (despite the train being 2 hours late!) and were driven to a point in the medina where one of the staff of the Riad met us and we proceeded on foot from there. It was dark and I was worried that we would never find our way out!!! When we arrived at the riad - like many others said it was an oasis! After the customary Paperwork for the government - and the forms - we had some traditional mint tea, then Patrice showed us on a detailed map where we were, and how to move around the medina! This orientation was exactly what we needed.
We had booked dinner that night of arrival in the riad - that too was a good idea.

If I could say 2 things - one is about the lights - for someone who was travelling with a person who has eye issues - the lights in the riad were often not bright enough. In my room on the first floor - the shower was really neat - but one could barely see to read a book at night.
Secondly - we made the booking on line - and fully expected to be able to pay for the 2 rooms with credit cards - and were quite disapointed when the day before check out - we learned that we could not ...

Despite these items - I can also say that patrice went above and beyound the call of service when one in our group was feeling ill - and we asked for some plain boiled rice. Despite no chef being at the riad that evening, Patrice stayed and cooked some rice and kept asking if there was anything he could do - send for medicine - etc.

I would stay here again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms had better lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beautiful property, stylishly furnished with many Thai accessories. Excellent, friendly service from Patrice, the manager.As other reviewers have stated, you will not find this place on your own so book a reputable transfer from the airport. Sadly, when we visited in October, the weather wasn't good enough to take advantage of the small pool or roof-terrace. We took advantage of the in-house hammam and had a massage in our room which was good value compared with other places. The property is about 10 minutes walk from the Djemma el Fnaa and ideally placed for the souks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fidders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#38 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Helen
Riad Helen
#33 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#25 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
10.6 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#60 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Property: Riad Ambre et Epices
Address: 89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the Dar El Bacha's old district and very close from the famous Souks, this former house, owned in the past by a big trader of spices, renovated in the respect of the art and moroccan traditions, will become your new address in Marrakesh. Riad Ambre et Epices is a place of interbreeding by its refinement inspired at the same time by the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic Marrakchi atmosphere. Turkish bath, massages, swimming pools / Jacuzzi, terraces and solariums will contribute to your well-being and your relaxation, before joining one of the 11 suites and rooms suggestively decorated by the most important steps of the spices route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing