We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A quiet place with fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ambre et Epices

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Ambre et Epices
Ranked #50 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A quiet place with fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

There are many Riads in Marrakech, and they aren't all that dissimilar. What sets this one apart is the location, tucked far back in the quiet residential streets of the medina, and the food. Our meal here was amongst the best we had in the country, and certainly in Marrakech. If you stay here, brush up on your French, as English is a challenge. But you should dust off your French anyways if going to Morocco.

Room Tip: Do not close the large wooden doors to your room when leaving for the night, as this is a sign you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    109
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
358
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent a magical week in Marrakech walking every day in the Medina getting a feel for the place and people. Both were above and beyond expectations as was the riad. Patrice and his staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful, the breakfasts were varied and tasty and the riad was SO pretty. I was particularly taken with the tadelakt walls, the elaborate decoration and the location in among the back streets near the Dar el Bacha palace. The riad is very handy for the souks, the square and the jardins Majorelle. Patrice was on hand to give us advice about the best daytrips, where to get more money (you will always want to spend more than you thought) and the price you should expect to pay for things. We have no hesitation about giving Ambre et Epices top marks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent five days in Marrakesh and in the Riad Ambre & Epices and we were absolutely delighted to have found this beautiful place and absolute oasis of peace in the middle of the medina. Coming back from a fascination but also noisy and chaotic day in Marrakesh, opening the massive wooden door and stepping into the cool and calm inyard with its little pool, the lounge chairs, quiet music and beautiful decoration was really like entering a different world. And after having had a traditional peppermint tea with some cookies, a chat with the super nice owner of the Riad and just some quiet moments we were refreshed and ready for the next adventure. The Riad is extremely beautiful - a traditional Moroccan house, nicely decorated and with everything you need for a relaxing and nice vacation - and the breakfast is just amazing. Everyday we had a little variation of sweets, fruit salad, bread - and what could be a better way to start your day than sitting on the roof top terrace in the shade and having a freshly squeezed orange juice while going over the possible plans for the day? All this beauty was absolutely perfected by the warm and extremely welcoming service we could enjoy during our stay. We always got good advice for nice places to eat, a perfect goal for a day trip or just had a little chat about the day. Finally I can only say: Travelers going to Marrakesh should absolutely not miss this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apoelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This Riad is a gem - home away from home. From the minute we walked in to the moment we left we loved it here. The manager Patrice is really helpful and friendly and the rest of the staff is very welcoming. I even hurt my foot while I was swimming and Patrice immediately provided a bandaid. Patrice was able to arrange a massage for me on very short notice as well. Once given a map the Riad is easy to navigate and is about a 15 minute walk from Djemma el Fna and the souks. The rooms are elegantly decorated and the property is peaceful and relaxing. The pool is a great way to fight off the heat and the terrace was really nice as well. All in all we had a great stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the riad over the August bank holiday weekend. A friend also joined us for one night on the Saturday.
The whole place is a magical little oasis right in the heart of the medina. The square and the souks are an easy stroll away and everything you could possibly need is provided by Patrice the very friendly and kind owner. All the staff are excellent and extremely friendly.
Don't hesistate in stopping here! The pool and setting is just beautiful and was a great relief from the extreme temperatures of August.
Patrice was happy for us to enjoy the riad on our whole last day even though our train didnt leave until 9pm. The room was great, clean and very beautiful. The suite where our friend stayed was magnificent!!! Breakfast served on the terrace was amazing!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest one and it was just great. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crowley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The riad is an oasis of peace and elegance in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The rooms (very clean) are tastefully decorated in the traditional Moroccan style. Patrice, the owner, greeted us, making us feel right at home. On the evening of our arrival, Patrice arranged for us a delicious dinner on the terrace of the riad. Fatima is a fantastic cook who prepares traditional Moroccan dishes that are delicious. It 's great dinner on the terrace! What about breakfast? The breakfast is rich and varied every day.
The solarium / terrace has sun beds and the pool is the ideal place for a refreshing bath and drinking a drink.
Patrice has organized a wonderful hike to the waterfalls ouzoud as well as transfers to and from the airport. Patrice personally takes care of every detail, and the staff is always available.
So if you want to spend an unforgettable holiday, we recommend the Riad Ambre et Epices!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and was looked after by the lovely Patrice. The riad was well presented modern oasis to stay after venturing out. The property itself is well located within the walled city (Medina) and everything is in walking distance. Patrice and his team look after all your needs and he even catches you when your falling!! ;) The WIFI is great to use throughout your stay, the breakfast on the roof terrace is a great start to the day and a nice place to relax at the end. We were collected and returned to the airport which takes so much stress out of the travel and again, Patrice arranged this plus a dinner reservation at Restaurant Au Comptoir du Pacha.The food is highly recommended here. You walk past this on the way back to the riad. This will test your navigational skills. If there is one thing I would suggest, but probably because it was 43 degrees, is a small fridge to put your water in, in the room. I never drank so much water in my life!! but im sure if I asked Patrice to use his it would be no problem!! Thanks for the great stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in the suite racines. Great room, but if you have stiff knees, this bathroom is not for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#61 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#39 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#26 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#35 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#8 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Property: Riad Ambre et Epices
Address: 89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the Dar El Bacha's old district and very close from the famous Souks, this former house, owned in the past by a big trader of spices, renovated in the respect of the art and moroccan traditions, will become your new address in Marrakesh. Riad Ambre et Epices is a place of interbreeding by its refinement inspired at the same time by the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic Marrakchi atmosphere. Turkish bath, massages, swimming pools / Jacuzzi, terraces and solariums will contribute to your well-being and your relaxation, before joining one of the 11 suites and rooms suggestively decorated by the most important steps of the spices route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing