We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Riad Chi Chi - the place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chi-Chi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Chi-Chi
Ranked #193 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riad Chi Chi - the place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Arriving at night in the middle of the souk was a disconcerting experience but any fears were immediately allayed on meeting Salah - manager and concierge of Riad Chi Chi - who led us through the rabbit warren of passageways to the calm oasis of the riad. The riad is simple, clean and elegant, comprising of 5 comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms, all stocked with gorgeous organic, handmade soap and shampoo. The riad is perfect - neatly tucked away amidst all the action of the souk, near some fantastic restaurants and the best place to retreat to when it all gets a bit much. You can have spa treatments at the riad, relax on the rooftop and even have cooking lessons with a trip to the market to buy the ingredients you need. Salah is really the star of the show - he couldn't be kinder and more patient. He'll make restaurant bookings, appointments at the hammam and book day trips for you. Crucially, he'll also make sure you are never lost - collecting you if you get stuck and making sure you get to where you're going (you can even borrow a mobile belonging to the road to call him if needed). We had a fantastic time at Riad Chi Chi and I couldn't recommend it more - I would happily return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    45
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
31
139
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Chi Chi is in the medina, so expect to navigate a maze of small allyways on foot to find it. It's easy to get lost so a porter is recommended. Our taxi did not drop us off where the website stated, so it was a longer and more difiicult walk in the dark through the busy little streets.
Once inside it's a peaceful haven. Beautiful calm white and grey tones, a little fountain, very clean rooms, and a rooftop that although not swish (doubles as a drying area for towels) it has a couple of sun loungers and a nice seating area.

In the summer months a pool would be great. We didn't expect it to be so warm early March and wished we had a pool. There was a small pool on the ground floor that was not filled during our stay, but isn't really in a place where we'd use it (ground floor eating area).

If you want to go to Bains De Marrakech book in advance. We were told we wouldn't to but when we tried to book a day aheard we were told we needed to book a week ahead. However the Hamman de la Rose was much less busy and really lovely.

The staff are very kind and felxible.
Saleh looks after most things, and he made our stay very relaxing. Always on hand to advise us, bring drinks or escort us through the streets, but never intrusive.

And Khadeeja's cooking was the best we had in a Marrakech. Fresh ingredients prepared on request, but best to tell them a day in advance. However they were more than happy to pop out and get us anything.

A fantastically run place that exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more prvacy and less noise, as they do not join the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Exceptionally clean with everything we needed. Staff were really helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate at the riad one night and would recommend it as the food was lovely and good value. Just the cool and quiet retreat we needed in this busy city.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandTommm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited Marrakech as a group of five 40-something female friends to celebrate a big birthday for one of our group. We chose Riad Chi Chi on the basis of the photos and the reviews and we were not disappointed. You could not be better placed to visit the souk as the Riad is situated virtually in the middle of it but this does not mean that it is noisy. It is very tranquil and you would not know that it is all going on outside the main door! The Riad is situated down an alley which was initially intimidating but it was very well lit at night and the locals were all very friendly. The service throughout our stay was excellent from the moment of arrival at the airport. The Riad arranged for us to be met by a driver who transferred us to porters who took our luggage and us straight to the Riad. Throughout our stay Saleh who runs the riad could not have been more helpful. He always offered to escort us if we needed to find our way, he booked restaurants for us and even waited up every night to make sure we got safely home. We had a fantastic meal at the Riad one night and breakfast was always good and served at whatever time we surfaced. The Riad was spotlessly clean and the rooms very comfortable. There seem to be thousands of riads in Marrakech but we would recommend this riad to anyone. We do not think you could get better service anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two suites Aubergine and Ivory. As suites they were not particularly large so we p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrakech5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Riad Chi Chi is run by the attentive, charming and very hard-working Saleh who was always there to help including walking us to taxi ranks and generally showing us around the Medina, providing advice and making bookings. As well as Saleh’s wonderful service – literally available to guests from early morning to late at night –the riad is a lovely space with indoor and outdoor terraces and lots of nooks to enjoy. It’s also spotless. We stayed in the Indigo room which was light and airy and very comfortable with good internet connection, and the location, smack-bang in the middle of the Medina, could not have been better. Finally, everything you read about haggling in Marrakech is true but how hard do you want to haggle when many of the people you deal with are earning around $10 a day. That said, you do need to be alert to the tricks used to part you from your money – and there are many – so read up before you go. But the people are warm and friendly and good-natured and I never felt anything but safe.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Riad Chi-Chi is a quiet comfortable riad in the heart of the Medina. The staff are very helpful, even lending us a phone to ring them up when we got lost.

Yes, you will get lost! The medina is a maze of streets and alleyways and it is very difficult to navigate. Actually Riad Chi-Chi is fairly easy to find if you find the Musee Marrekech, and navigate from there.

Our room at Chi-Chi was very comfortable, and had the best shower I have had for a while.

I would be happy to stay at riad Chi-Chi again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seadogdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here back in November for a weekend, absolutely beautiful!

Located in the center of the Medina just a 10 minute walk from Place Jmaal Efna, Museums and Palaces are but a short walking distance from there.

Room was very comfortable, staff were adorable and over welcoming, and the food... Yumm :D

I will be returning in 3 months with family for a week, can't wait.

Room Tip: Just ask Yvonne to recommend for you, she's forever helpful for any information. Thank you agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meical D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Ariha
Riad Ariha
#145 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#72 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#68 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Misria
Riad Misria
#122 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chi-Chi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chi-Chi

Property: Riad Chi-Chi
Address: Derb el Anboub 12 | El Baroudiyines, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chi-Chi 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Chi-Chi is a small, chic riad in a great location. It is ideally situated in a quiet cul-de-sac in the centre of the Medina, close to the Musée de Marrakech and the Medersa Ben Youssef, only 1 minute from the entrance to the Souks and a short stroll through the Souks to the Square, Place Jemaa el Fna. It has 4 double bedrooms and 1 suite (max. occupancy 11), each with an en-suite bathroom. Its cool, simple and elegant lines create a calm and relaxing atmosphere. There are plenty of intimate sitting areas - roof terrace, courtyard with soothing fountain and Islamic pool, b’hou (Moroccan sitting area) and salon. Fabulous views over the Atlas Mountains from the roof terrace. In the evenings the riad is bathed in candlelight adding to the romantic feeling of this gorgeous riad. The relaxed and welcoming atmosphere means that staying at Riad Chi-Chi is more like visiting friends than staying in a hotel. The riad offers a whole range of services, such as being served mint tea with pastries on arrival, mineral water in your room on arrival, free internet access, use of a mobile phone during your stay. On top of that, the riad will be happy to arrange trips, recommend and organise restaurant bookings as well as beauty/massage treatments in the riad leaving you to relax and enjoy your stay in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Chi-Chi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chi-Chi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing