We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel met expectations, dinner disappointing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Anyssates

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Anyssates
Ranked #158 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel met expectations, dinner disappointing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel was fresh, stylish and welcoming with a laid back and relaxing atmosphere. Location was good but it is tucked away so can be difficult to find and it is not widely known by locals.

We were disappointed with dinner which we found to be plain, unadventerous and therefore very overpriced. We have enjoyed similar priced meals in equivalent riads which were far superior in comparison. Hiwever, the breakfast was very good.

Overall this is a very good Riad but avoid eating in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jg11958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, it is great to see that you had a ggod time here with us, you will have to return to try our new cook's specialties though!

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    45
    20
    1
    5
See reviews for
56
120
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

went for a special pre-birthday trip with a girlfriend. Choose this riad because of the reviews but was disappointed. All rooms have windows towards the courtyard. Rooms are noisy if people are in the bar, late at night. I heard every word and had to sleep with ear plugs the entire stay. Not relaxing at all. Be aware if you are a light sleeper! And everyone smokes so I smelled it in my room. NO Non-smoking areas at all available. Room had little spider bugs in it. I killed at least 5 per day. I did not find the service overall friendly nor accommodating to requests and had to ask several times for breakfast, which seemed to take a long time to get. Once I had asked for breakfast and the couple who came after me got served first. It is a bit boring too with just juice, coffee/tea and jam and bread. For a weeks stay it was too much of the same. We did not find Nicolas informative nor helpful with information about tours etc. We found all informations ourselves. Location is great tho, easy access to everywhere. We walked it all with no problems. Also, told several times even at bookings that this was a special week and not one thing was done, said, nor prepared for us. I expect when someone is celebrating a special day, that something extra special is prepared, flowers in room, special drink or something extra will be provided but we received NOTHING. Not even a greetings as to the sorts. One week was too long in this riad. For a few days, ok but not a week. It did not feel like home nor were we treated as such. Would I book again here, NO.

Room Tip: Book the Terrace room on the roof, for the quietest room as long as no one is up there late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hvhighexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for your input regarding your stay in the riad.
It is a shame that you did not know that a riad is traditionnaly structured around a patio, with the windows facing inwards rather than on the busy streets of the medina and also because the medina is made mostly of buildings stuck together. I feel bad that it spoiled your nights.

This open air architecture also is the reason why there are no non-smoking areas in the riad, since the smoke goes up in the sky and dissipates, but please accept my apologies if someone smoke under your windows and we did not notice.

I also feel sorry that you were not happy with our breakfast, and so we changed it since then: with the homemade yogurt and jam, moroccan or english tea or coffe and the bread there is also everyday different kinds of cakes and pancakes, homemade too, as well as a fresh fruits salad. We chose not to have some of the traditional moroccan breakfast parts since it does not go well with most of our guests though.

On another note I distinctly remember discussing excursions and day trips with you, I was waiting for an answer or maybe more question from you but I should have checked back with you nonetheless, you have my excuses for this misunderstanding.

I just can’t stress enough how sorry I am that we were not able to make you enjoy the riad but otherwise feel relieved that our location at least was convenient for enjoying Marrakech.

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lomdon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were staying here and there was a problem with our friend's accommodation. The manager of Anyssates, Nicolas, could not have been more helpful. Phoned their Hotel repeatedly, sent his staff to navigate us and when there was no help, came personally to assist. When we found our Friend's hotel was unacceptable, he called around and found accommodation for them (Anyssates was full or we would have all stayed there).

Anyssates itself is lovely. Clean, nice and well laid out and feels very authentic. Would recommend it, and at the price is good value too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review, helping you enjoying the riad and Marrakech was my pleasure and I would do it again anytime, hopefully soon!

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this riad and in particular found Nicholas very kind and helpful although there are more authentic and charming riads available. For the price it was a great choice and had a lot of good points, but was not exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
Dear guest,

A great many thanks for your kind review of your stay with us, it is great to see that you had a good time in the riad and apreciated the value of our services. I hope that we will get to welcome you again.

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We got picked up by a driver from the Riad at the airport and everything kept going smoothly from there. Nicholas and the team made us very welcome and nothing was to much bother. Myself and my partner stayed 4 nights and found the position in the Medina very handy as its a peaceful area near the Medina wall making getting around town very easy. Our room was spotless and well appointed, cleaned every day the breakfast is very good and sets you up for the day. The roof terrace is very nice and has plenty privacy for those wanting to lie in the sun. Also handy that they sell wine and have a small bar as not many Riads do. Would go back and recommend others enjoy the hospitality and peace. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
Dear guest,

I am so glad to see you enjoyed your time in the riad and in Marrakech altogether, thank you for sharing this with everyone. The team and I feel very encouraged by comments such as yours. I hope that we will have the privilege to see you come back sometime soon.

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Riad Anyssates for a week. It is located in the middle of the hustle of the medina but when you walk in, it feels like you have entered a quiet oasis! Paradise! We stayed in 2 of their rooms. The first was on the terrace. Beautiful! When we walked out of the room we were surrounded by panoramic views of the city, It was extremely quiet and CLEAN! We then moved to the room by the pool which was also beautiful and quiet! The staff at the riad are some of the nicest, personable staff I have ever met at a hotel. When we arrived, Nicholas took the time to sit down with us and go over the map, recommending places to see and what paths to take. He also took the time to make a reservation at a very nice restaurant for us for Valentine's Day. The little touches that he added to the hotel made it one of the best places we have ever stayed in, He speaks English fluently and knows the area backwards. He was always helpful and available if we needed him. Patrick was equally helpful and always there to answer questions. We ate breakfast every morning on the roof top looking over the city. Everyday there was something different in the breakfast along with fresh yoghurt, fruit, and baguette with an assortment of jams and fresh orange juice. We ate at the hotel 2 nights and the food was amazing! We had 3 course meals by the pool that were delicious! Best tagines that we had in Marrakech! We also had the hammam at the hotel that I HIGHLY recommend followed by an hour massage that was wonderful! They booked us a day in the mountains and desert with mule rides up to the villages which was phenomenal and I would recommend to anyone wanting a day out. There are little touches that set this Riad apart- the friendly personable staff, the cleanliness, the robes in the room, the unique decorations, really set apart this Riad. We had a few glasses of wine by the pool and they always brought hors d'oeuvres which was a nice touch. If we didn't finish the bottle, they would gladly keep it for us for the next day. The Riad is located in the medina about a 15 minute walk to the square. There are taxis close by, although we never used them. It is located in a very safe area and the locals around are very friendly. I will be coming back to Riad Anyssates and can not recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the suites, especially the one on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrietm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale49, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks a lot for your very kind words, patrick and I are really moved by it. Knowing that you had a pleasant stay and reading is basically what fuelles us! I look forward to seing you again at the Riad.

On behalf of the whole team, thanks again for appreciating your stay and thanks to all our guests who showed their enthusiasm before and will later on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Why do people go on holiday to stay with their own kind and eat the same food they eat every day. Stay at home and use fake tan.
What was so wonderful about this place was the you were in the most stunning hotel which was a peaceful haven, yet, step outside the main doors and you were living with the locals which was fantastic.
the hotel itself was simply lovely, candles, lanterns and beautifully decorated rooms throughout. Really good taste and thought has clearly gone into this place. The spa at the back was an added bonus where amazing massage, facials and scrubs were done to real quality.
We went in Feb and the sun shone down on the roof area, which by the way was superb!
the staff - could not fault and Nicolas the Manager was simply wonderful. Would I come back - Yes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leilahudson2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie D, Gérant at Riad Anyssates, responded to this review, April 9, 2015
Dear Leila,

Many thanks for your friendly review, we are very happy to see how much you liked the riad and our beautiful Marrakech, having you here with us was a real pleasure too for my team and I. I hope to see you come back soon!

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#70 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#97 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#113 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#147 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caravanserai
Caravanserai
#185 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Karma
Riad Dar Karma
#151 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Anyssates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anyssates

Property: Riad Anyssates
Address: 144 Derb El Bomba | Arset Ihiri, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#181 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Anyssates 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling, trueness, shift, these are what you shall enjoy at Riad Anyssates.As well as our “Table dhôtes” and our fill hammam services.The riad is between the exciting section Bab Doukala and the Riad El Arouss and the city remparts.The riad is ideally located between the souks, the famous *place Djema El Fna and the new city Guéliz with the taxis and guarded parking.The riad provides you with toplevel comfort, with a charming, warm and family atmosphere.With large volume and huge 380 m2 superficies, the riad provides each host with intimacy and friend meeting facilities up to 20 with exclusive reservation.To day the riad offers 4 rooms and extended terrace and space devoted to hammam and care services.The bar Lounge is open to 2 galleries, one in front the swimming pool, the other opening on the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Anyssates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Anyssates Marrakech
Riad Anyssates Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing