We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Riad Amiris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Amiris
Ranked #369 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

What a great place to stay right in the Medina, just a few minutes walk to the main square.
Very comfortable, clean with extremely helpful and friendly staff.
Although there is no parking at the Riad it is not an issue,
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    64
    14
    8
    11
See reviews for
35
154
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This review is about the management of the Riad and not the Riad itself since we didn't got a chance to spend a night there. In summary, on arrival we were sent to another Riad that was much cheaper than Riad Amiris. However we were still asked to pay the same amount (minus the transport to and from the airport) plus a 5% extra charge for paying with card (in the original deal it was mentioned 3%).

We are a couple with two children and we booked the Riad with a two month notice. We were planning to stay two days and we asked if could all fit in one room as they seemed big enough on the pictures. We got an immediate answer that it could be arranged and we never gave it another thought until a few days before the date when we exchanged a couple of emails to arrange the transportation from the Airport to the Riad.

Everything was going fine... until we actually got at the Riad around 1 p.m.. The guy carrying the luggage took us to the front door, he knocks at the door, no one answers, he makes a call and starts to take us back to the Jemaa el-fnaa square without any further explanation. There we meet Karina (which I believe to be the owner although she never admitted it) who told us that she could not get us two extra beds in the room and that for our convenience she had found us another Riad of some friends that was "the same".

When we finally managed to get there with the children and the luggage we didn't really found what was "on the pictures". Truth said, it was a very well kept place, clean and cosy and we indeed got the two rooms... that we never asked for because the kids are 5 and 8 and they end up sleeping with us anyway. The other amenities that lead us to choose the Riad Amiris, like internet, nice pateo, even an hair drier, were not there but we only found that out later. So given that it was only two days in Marrakech and it was such a friendly host in this other Riad we decided to stay nonetheless.

For our last evening we got an invitation from Karina to have dinner at the Riad Amiris and to settle our bill. It was the first time we actually set foot on the place and indeed it looked very nice (at least the pateo where we had dinner). We ended up paying 195€ for two nights not spent at Amiris plus 5% tax (when it should have been 3%). So, even if Karina took on the taxi costs (20€x2=40€) I believe that she still made quite a good deal in deceiving her costumers.

So my conclusion is: She got some clients that stayed longer and dumped us to a cheaper Riad because we were staying only two days. So, if you plan to stay for a short time be careful as you might end up somewhere else :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I am writing this review on behalf of my aunty as I booked 2 nights in this Riad for her 50th birthday.
Firstly Salima at the Riad was so helpful to me by email, she arranged to get my aunty picked up at the airport, she put fresh flowers in her bedroom and I also asked for chocolates and wine to be put in her bedroom which Salima sorted out no problem at all.
My aunty said the Riad was gorgeous, very clean, decorated beautifully and she loved it so much she ended up staying an extra night.
I plan to go back to this Riad myself with my husband this year.
Thank you Salima for all your help, my aunty had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We chose this riad based on the previous positive reviews and it certainly lived up to our expectations.

I've never stayed anywhere where the hosts made such a commitment to ensuring we were happy with every aspect of our trip. There are only six rooms in the hotel, the two that we saw were beautifully decorated.They gave us an option of which we'd like to have.

Our french wasn't great, but fortunately Salima was on hand to answer any of our questions. She recommended excellent restaurants and bars. She was also more than happy to confirm our quadbiking tour with the operators after I'd made an appointment in broken french the day before.

Should also mention the breakfasts were fantastic. We were served whenever we work up and we could eat in the courtyard or on the idillic terrace.

Staying at Rhiad Amiris felt more like at a relative's house rather than a hotel, such was their fantastic hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDN09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A wonderful small Riad located just a short shop lined walk to the main square and souks yet despite location once inside it's an oasis of peace and tranquility
A beautiful morrocan Riad with six indivdual decorated rooms
a warm charming greeting for excellent staff nothing is too much trouble
Breakfast is simple but enough to send you on your way shopping and site seeing
Well worth a stay you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed four nights in this riad, and I cannot fault it for anything. It's a beautiful building, with beautiful rooms. We stayed in two different ones, and yes, there was a bit of paint peeling off one of the bathroom walls (referring back to another review I read), but to be honest, I couldn't care less about peeling paint. The rooms were indeed serviced while we were staying (again referring to an earlier review), the showers were always hot, the breakfast in the courtyard was yummy and set us up for exploring Marrakesh! Also there are some birds nesting in the building which provide wonderful breakfast entertainment. The roof terrace is comfy and beautiful and the perfect place to relax after hiking in the Atlas.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Not all of them are English-speaking, but there are definitely staff there who do (again in reply to an earlier review). With everybody else, a bit of basic French and smiles sort out any language barrier. Staff were always at hand when we needed anything and always with a welcoming smile.
The only thing that didn't work out during our stay was the airport pickup, but this was a general problem on the day and I wouldn't want to fault the riad team for this.
This place is excellent value for money and I would book there again - also for its superb location right around the corner from the Djeema el Fna. (Which means that you might be woken up by the early morning call to prayer - personally this is beautiful in itself and a small price to pay).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monnipenny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lionel, Saleema and Racheed were excellent hosts and made us feel like royalty! Their commitment to your comfort is truly exceptional!!! We arrived as clients and quickly felt as we were family!!! Riad Amiris itself is in a great location...very close to all of the action! The room that we stayed was super elegant..it felt like a honeymoon suite. You also have access to the rooftop which had a nice sitting area to see old Marakech during breathtaking sunsets. Not only does this Riad serve a superb breakfast, but the portions are very, very generous. We can't wait to have the opportunity to comeback to see these amazing people and the beautiful Riad Amiris again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurAventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Riad Dollar Des Sables
#210 of 500 in Marrakech
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#108 of 500 in Marrakech
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#271 of 500 in Marrakech
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#130 of 500 in Marrakech
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Balkisse
Riad Balkisse
#313 of 1,153 in Marrakech
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#26 of 1,153 in Marrakech
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amiris

Property: Riad Amiris
Address: 47 Derb Sidi Boulfdail | Angle Rue Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amiris 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Amiris is located 200 meters from Jemaâ El Fna Square and a 4-minute drive from Koutoubia Mosque. This traditionally decorated riad offers a rooftop terrace, a hammam and a central patio. All of the rooms at Riad Amiris have air conditioning and a seating area. Each room includes a private bathroom with a shower. Typical, Moroccan dishes can be enjoyed for dinner, upon prior reservation. Free Wi-Fi internet connection access is available in the common areas. Marrakech Menara Airport is a 25-minute drive away and public parking is possible near the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Amiris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amiris Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing